Sommersby (1993)

She knew his face. His touch. His voice. She knew everything about him ... But the truth.

  • Genre: Drama, Thriller, Mystery, Romance
  • Release Date: 1993-02-05
  • User Rating: 6.3/10 from 356 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 49min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Canal+
  • Production Country: France, United States of America
  • Director: Jon Amiel
star 6.3/10
From 356 Ratings


Set in the South just after the US Civil War, Laurel Sommersby is just managing to work the farm without her husband, believed killed in battle. By all accounts, Jack Sommersby was not a pleasant man, thus when he suddenly returns, Laurel has mixed emotions. It appears that Jack has changed a great deal, leading some people to believe that this is not actually Jack but an imposter. Laurel herself is unsure, but willing to take the man into her home, and perhaps later into her heart.

Sommersby Trailer

Is Sommersby on Netflix?

Is Sommersby on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie Sommersby is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when Sommersby becomes available on Netflix!

  • Jodie Foster

    as Laurel Sommersby
  • Richard Gere

    as John Robert Sommersby / Horace Townsend
  • Bill Pullman

    as Orin Meecham
  • James Earl Jones

    as Judge Barry Conrad Issacs
  • Lanny Flaherty

    as Buck
  • William Windom

    as Reverend Powell
  • Wendell Wellman

    as Travis
  • Brett Kelley

    as Little Rob
  • Clarice Taylor

    as Esther
  • Frankie Faison

    as Joseph
  • R. Lee Ermey

    as Dick Mead
  • Richard Hamilton

    as Doc Evans
  • Karen Kirschenbauer

    as Mrs. Evans
  • Carter McNeese

    as Storekeeper Wilson
  • Dean Whitworth

    as Tom Clemmons
  • Stephanie Weaver

    as Mrs. Bundy
  • Muse Watson

    as Drifter #1
  • Paul Austin

    as KKK #1 / Folsom
  • Frank Hoyt Taylor

    as KKK #2
  • Doug Sloan

    as Marshall #2
  • Ray McKinnon

    as Lawyer Webb
  • Maury Chaykin

    as Lawyer Dawson
  • Richard Lineback

    as Timothy Fry
Art Bruno Rubeo Production Design
Production Steven Reuther Producer
Sound Danny Elfman Original Music Composer
Production Arnon Milchan Producer
Writing Sarah Kernochan Screenplay
Editing Peter Boyle Editor
Directing Jon Amiel Director
Production Cydney Bernard Production Manager
Writing Nicholas Meyer Author
Art Michael Seirton Set Decoration
Production Richard Gere Executive Producer
Production Maggie Wilde Executive Producer
Camera Philippe Rousselot Director of Photography
Writing Anthony Shaffer Author
Production Suzanne Smith Crowley Casting
Costume & Make-Up Lisa Lovaas Costume Supervisor
Production Billy Hopkins Casting
Costume & Make-Up Marilyn Vance Costume Design
Directing Eva Z. Cabrera Script Supervisor
Art P. Michael Johnston Art Direction
Production Mary McLaglen Unit Production Manager
Directing Josh McLaglen First Assistant Director
Directing Douglas A. Raine Second Assistant Director
Camera Anastas N. Michos Camera Operator
Camera Anastas N. Michos Steadicam Operator
Camera Ted Morris First Assistant Camera
Sound Chris Newman Sound Mixer
Sound Dennis Maitland II Boom Operator
Crew Carol Dantuono Post Production Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Elaine Short Key Hair Stylist
Camera C. Alan Rawlins Sr. Key Grip
Camera Dwight Joseph Lavers Dolly Grip
Crew Greg Hull Special Effects Coordinator
Camera John Clifford Still Photographer
Crew Paul Beahm Stunt Coordinator
Crew Jill Stokesberry Stunts
Crew Bob Minor Stunts
Crew Merritt Yohnka Stunts
Editing Jonathan Lucas Assistant Editor
Editing Carole A. Kenneally Assistant Editor
Editing Patricia A. Galvin Assistant Editor
Directing Xochi Blymyer Second Second Assistant Director
Production Scott Elias Location Manager
Costume & Make-Up Cha Blevins Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Mitchell Ray Kenney Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Barry Kellogg Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Dana Campbell Costumer
Art Kathleen Walker Assistant Art Director
Art Dennis Bradford Assistant Art Director
Art Steve Saklad Assistant Art Director
Art Paul Sonski Assistant Art Director
Art Paul Arthur Hartman Leadman
Art Marco Rubeo Set Designer
Art Ron Downing Property Master
Costume & Make-Up Peter Robb-King Key Makeup Artist
Production Nicole Furia Production Accountant
Production Chris Furia Post Production Accountant
Lighting Jack English Chief Lighting Technician
Lighting James Babineaux Assistant Chief Lighting Technician
Lighting George M. Chappell Electrician
Lighting Scott Graves Electrician
Camera J. Wayne Parker Best Boy Grip
Camera Michael Alexonis Grip
Sound Jay Wilkinson Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Lauren Palmer Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Simon Coke Sound Editor
Sound Teri E. Dorman Sound Editor
Sound Scott A. Hecker Sound Editor
Sound Dave Kulczycki Sound Editor
Sound John A. Larsen Sound Editor
Sound Rodger Pardee Sound Editor
Sound Karen G. Wilson Sound Editor
Sound Jerelyn J. Harding ADR Editor
Sound Jessica Gallavan ADR Editor
Sound Linda Symcox Assistant Sound Editor
Sound Blake R. Cornett Assistant Sound Editor
Sound Ellen Segal Music Editor
Sound Bob Badami Music Editor
Crew Doug Sloan Animal Wrangler
Art Richard Blankenship Construction Coordinator
Crew Jerry Jackson Transportation Coordinator
Crew Stanley Brossette Unit Publicist
Crew Julie Adams Dialect Coach
Sound Michael Minkler Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Chris Carpenter Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Bob Beemer Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Dan O'Connell Foley Artist
Sound Hilda Hodges Foley Artist
Sound James Ashwill Foley Mixer
Sound Nerses Gezalyan Foley Recordist
Sound Charleen Richards-Steeves ADR Mixer
Sound Shawn Murphy Scoring Mixer
Editing Donah Bassett Negative Cutter
Crew Gregory J. Barnett Stunts