The Strangers

The Strangers (2008)

Lock the door. Pretend you're safe.

  • Genre: Horror, Mystery, Thriller
  • Release Date: 2008-05-29
  • User Rating: 6.1/10 from 2116 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 26min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Intrepid Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Bryan Bertino
star 6.1/10
From 2,116 Ratings


After returning from a wedding reception, a couple staying in an isolated vacation house receive a knock on the door in the mid-hours of the night. What ensues is a violent invasion by three strangers, their faces hidden behind masks. The couple find themselves in a violent struggle, in which they go beyond what either of them thought capable in order to survive.

The Strangers Trailer

Is The Strangers on Netflix?

Is The Strangers on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie The Strangers is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Strangers becomes available on Netflix!

  • Liv Tyler

    as Kristen McKay
  • Scott Speedman

    as James Hoyt
  • Gemma Ward

    as Dollface
  • Kip Weeks

    as Man in the Mask
  • Laura Margolis

    as Pin-Up Girl
  • Glenn Howerton

    as Mike
  • Alex Fisher

    as Mormon Boy #1
  • Peter Clayton-Luce

    as Mormon Boy #2
  • Nick Barghini

    as Joe - Lumberjack (uncredited)
  • Shawn McClellan

    as Shawn the Bartender (uncredited)
  • Jordan Orr

    as Jordan - 911 Caller (voice) (uncredited)
Editing Kevin Greutert Editor
Production Judy Richter Production Consultant
Costume & Make-Up Wendy Bell Makeup Department Head
Camera Peter Sova Director of Photography
Production David Rapaport Casting
Sound Scott A. Hecker Supervising Sound Editor
Production Doug Davison Producer
Production Roy Lee Producer
Sound Lee Scott Music Editor
Production Joseph Drake Executive Producer
Production Nathan Kahane Producer
Production Kelli Konop Executive Producer
Production Lindsey Hayes Kroeger Casting
Production Caitlin McKenna ADR Voice Casting
Costume & Make-Up Susan Kaufmann Costume Design
Production Marc D. Evans Executive Producer
Production Trevor Macy Executive Producer
Production Andrew Rona Executive In Charge Of Production
Writing Bryan Bertino Screenplay
Directing Bryan Bertino Director
Sound Brad Brock Foley Mixer
Production Jane Nerlinger Evans Executive In Charge Of Production
Production Susan J. Bonno-Buckner First Assistant Accountant
Sound Chris M. Jacobson Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Camera Brian Sullivan Camera Operator
Camera Brian Sullivan Steadicam Operator
Production Sonny Mallhi Executive Producer
Production Alex Heineman Production Executive
Costume & Make-Up Stephen K. Randolph Costume Supervisor
Art Linwood Taylor Art Direction
Production Tracy Kilpatrick Casting
Sound Gary A. Hecker Foley Supervisor
Sound Michael Brake Music Editor
Costume & Make-Up Vincent Schicchi Key Makeup Artist
Art Geoffrey S. Grimsman Set Designer
Crew Cal Johnson Stunt Coordinator
Crew Cal Johnson Stunt Double
Sound Marti D. Humphrey Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Visual Effects Mark Freund Visual Effects Supervisor
Crew Oak Porcelli Stand In
Sound Brad Semenoff Sound Re-Recording Assistant
Art John D. Kretschmer Production Design
Costume & Make-Up Karen Keyes Key Set Costumer
Sound Sheri Ozeki Music Editor
Art Jeffrey Schlatter Construction Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Leigh Ann Yandle Assistant Makeup Artist
Sound Rick Hromadka Sound Effects Editor
Crew William Purcell Special Effects Coordinator
Lighting Terry O'Deen Rigging Gaffer
Crew Lee Siler Transportation Coordinator
Crew David Beavis Special Effects Technician
Sound Maarten Hofmeijer Music Editor
Sound Jeff Rosen ADR Supervisor
Editing Everette Webber Digital Intermediate Editor
Visual Effects Phillip Hoffman Visual Effects Coordinator
Editing Tony Bacigalupi Assistant Editor
Lighting Jeff Sterner Electrician
Costume & Make-Up Coni Andress Hair Department Head
Sound Cliff Latimer Sound Editor
Lighting Brian Gunter Gaffer
Sound Timothy Cargioli Boom Operator
Camera Glenn Watson Still Photographer
Costume & Make-Up Jennifer Santiago Key Hair Stylist
Crew Michael A. Connolly Thanks
Sound Season Kent Music Supervisor
Directing Thom Rainey Script Supervisor
Crew Jason Leib Post Production Supervisor
Sound Andrew Silver Music Editor
Costume & Make-Up Janet Melody Tailor
Crew John B. Clarey III Carpenter
Camera Lee Donaldson Grip
Sound Jeffree Bloomer Production Sound Mixer
Lighting Mark N. Overton Electrician
Sound Philip Rogers ADR Recordist
Lighting Harrison Palmer Electrician
Crew Tracey Schaefer Unit Publicist
Crew Elizabeth Rowin Thanks
Art Doug Kelejian Set Dresser
Production Kho Wong Executive Producer's Assistant
Production Thomas J. Busch Unit Production Manager
Production Thomas J. Busch Co-Producer
Art Gillian Albinski Property Master
Editing Mark Sachen Colorist
Production Pamela Alessandrelli Assistant Production Coordinator
Production Pam Holdridge Production Coordinator
Crew Donald Binder Driver
Production Steve Rhea Location Manager
Camera Hugh Braselton "B" Camera Operator
Camera Hugh Braselton Second Assistant Camera
Art Missy Berent Ricker Set Decoration
Camera W.C. 'Chunky' Huse Key Grip
Sound Allan Wilson Conductor
Art Daniel Auber Storyboard Artist
Directing Linda Brachman First Assistant Director
Crew Joshua L. Ellsworth Propmaker
Art Chris Holcombe Leadman
Sound Derek Pippert Foley Editor
Visual Effects Jon Stern Visual Effects Producer
Lighting Rick Crank Lighting Technician
Camera Geoff Herbert Dolly Grip
Camera David Morenz First Assistant Camera
Lighting Steve A. Stephenson Rigging Grip
Crew Steve A. Stephenson Carpenter
Editing Kim Roseborough Assistant Editor
Sound Dwight Mikkelsen Orchestrator
Crew Stephanie Macomber Scenic Artist
Camera Gary Johnson Second Assistant Camera
Sound Roy Seeger First Assistant Sound Editor
Visual Effects Maureen Healy Digital Compositor
Art Craig Gilmore Storyboard Artist
Directing Rudy Persico Second Assistant Director
Editing April McMorris Digital Intermediate Producer
Visual Effects Patrick Keenan Digital Compositor
Art Kelly Rubottom Assistant Property Master
Directing Tim Fitzgerald Second Second Assistant Director
Visual Effects Jim O'Hagan Digital Compositor
Visual Effects Ozzie Carmona Digital Compositor
Sound Tom Hajdu Original Music Composer
Sound Tom Hajdu Music Producer
Sound Andy Milburn Original Music Composer
Sound Andy Milburn Music Producer
Lighting Catherine Cravens Electrician
Crew Tony Jenzano Video Assist Operator
Camera Mike Torino Camera Loader
Sound tomandandy Music
Crew Michael J. Hudson Special Effects Technician
Production Betsy Custer Production Executive
Crew Ashleigh Falls Set Production Assistant
Production Kimberly Bishop Assistant Location Manager
Production Robert Labrecque Production Accountant
Visual Effects Michael Degtjarewsky Digital Compositor
Sound Albert Hedgepeth Boom Operator
Sound Albert Hedgepeth Utility Sound
Crew Zack Howard Post Production Assistant
Costume & Make-Up Otto Lindsey On Set Dresser
Camera Jason Bellitto Additional Camera
Camera Daniel R. Haizlip Best Boy Grip
Crew Christie Chaplin Driver
Art Helen Fooks Storyboard Artist
Crew Craig Newkirk Animal Wrangler
Production Tom Nicoll Production Supervisor
Art Jerry Adderton Set Dresser
Art Dim McRemnant Graphic Designer
Visual Effects Bill Holloway Digital Compositor
Lighting Doug Robinson Electrician
Costume & Make-Up Catherine A. Abreo Set Costumer
Crew Akkara Srauy Post Production Assistant
Crew Alan Hilburn Jr. Driver
Crew Skip Long Driver
Crew Scott Siler Transportation Captain
Production Jen Brett Production Assistant
Production Jennifer D. Corley Production Assistant
Production Randy Gardner Production Assistant
Production Renee Kitterman Second Assistant Accountant
Crew Jennifer Lemmond Stand In
Crew Genevieve McDevitt Production Office Assistant
Production Genevieve McDevitt Production Secretary
Production Terry Mettger Payroll Accountant
Crew Rima Saleeby Stand In