Escape from Alcatraz

Escape from Alcatraz (1979)

No one has ever escaped from Alcatraz… and no one ever will!

  • Genre: Drama, Thriller
  • Release Date: 1979-06-22
  • User Rating: 7.5/10 from 2612 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 53min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Paramount
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Don Siegel
star 7.5/10
From 2,612 Ratings


San Francisco Bay, January 18, 1960. Frank Lee Morris is transferred to Alcatraz, a maximum security prison located on a rocky island. Although no one has ever managed to escape from there, Frank and other inmates begin to carefully prepare an escape plan.

Escape from Alcatraz Trailer

Is Escape from Alcatraz on Netflix?

Is Escape from Alcatraz on Netflix? Yes! The movie Escape from Alcatraz is now on Netflix in the countries listed below.

Watch on Netflix
  • Clint Eastwood

    as Frank Morris
  • Patrick McGoohan

    as Warden
  • Roberts Blossom

    as Doc
  • Jack Thibeau

    as Clarence Anglin
  • Fred Ward

    as John Anglin
  • Paul Benjamin

    as English
  • Larry Hankin

    as Charley Butts
  • Bruce M. Fischer

    as Wolf
  • Frank Ronzio

    as Litmus
  • Fred Stuthman

    as Johnson
  • David Cryer

    as Wagner
  • Hank Brandt

    as Associate Warden
  • Ray K. Goman

    as Cellblock Captain
  • Blair Burrows

    as Fight Guard
  • Madison Arnold

    as Zimmerman
  • Garry Goodrow

    as Weston
  • Ron Vernan

    as Stone
  • Ed Vasgersian

    as Cranston
  • Matthew Locricchio

    as Exam Guard #1
  • Bob Balhatchet

    as Medical Technical Assistant
  • Stephen Bradley

    as Exam Guard #2
  • Regina Baff

    as Lucy
  • Joe Miksak

    as Police Sgt.
  • Candace Bowen

    as English's Daughter
  • Don Michaelian

    as Beck
  • Dan Leegant

    as Guard
  • John Garabedian

    as Guard
  • Jason Ronard

    as Bobs
  • Ross Reynolds

    as Helicopter Pilot
  • Al Dunlap

    as Visitors' Guard
  • Denis Berkfeldt

    as Guard
  • Jim Haynie

    as Guard
  • Tony Dario

    as Guard
  • Fritz Manes

    as Guard
  • Dana Derfus

    as Guard
  • Don Cummins

    as Guard
  • Gordon Handforth

    as Guard
  • John Scanlon

    as Guard
  • Don Watters

    as Guard
  • Joe Knowland

    as Guard
  • James Collier

    as Guard
  • R. J. Ganzert

    as Guard
  • Robert Hirschfeld

    as Guard
  • Lloyd Nelson

    as Guard
  • George Orrison

    as Guard
  • Gary Warren

    as Guard
  • Joseph Whipp

    as Guard
  • Terry Wills

    as Guard
  • Dale Alvarez

    as Inmate
  • Sheldon Feldner

    as Inmate
  • Danny Glover

    as Inmate
  • Carl Lumbly

    as Inmate
  • Patrick Valentino

    as Inmate
  • Gilbert Thomas Jr.

    as Inmate
  • Eugene Jackson

    as Inmate
Editing Joel Cox Assistant Editor
Sound Bub Asman Sound Effects Editor
Camera Bruce Surtees Director of Photography
Editing Ferris Webster Editor
Production Marion Dougherty Casting
Sound Jerry Fielding Original Music Composer
Sound June Edgerton Music Editor
Production Wallis Nicita Casting
Directing Don Siegel Director
Production Don Siegel Producer
Production Robert Daley Executive Producer
Production Fritz Manes Associate Producer
Writing Richard Tuggle Screenplay
Writing J. Campbell Bruce Book
Art Allen E. Smith Production Design
Art Edward J. McDonald Set Decoration
Camera Charles Saldaña Key Grip
Directing Lloyd Nelson Script Supervisor
Crew H. William Miller Transportation Co-Captain
Costume & Make-Up Glenn Wright Costume Supervisor
Editing Tim Board Assistant Editor
Costume & Make-Up Joe McKinney Makeup Artist
Sound John T. Reitz Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Alan Robert Murray Sound Effects Editor
Sound Bert Hallberg Sound Mixer
Camera Rick Neff Camera Operator
Crew Chuck Gaspar Special Effects
Camera Bob Bergdahl Camera Operator
Art Gene Lauritzen Construction Coordinator
Production Jack Terry Unit Production Manager
Directing Luigi Alfano Assistant Director
Lighting Chuck Holmes Gaffer
Crew John Reade Transportation Coordinator
Crew Ray Mullen Transportation Co-Captain
Camera Ron Grover Still Photographer
Crew Gary Kalkin Unit Publicist
Sound Gilbert Thomas Jr. Songs
Art Larry Bird Property Master