The Frighteners

The Frighteners (1996)

No Rest for the Wicked.

  • Genre: Horror, Comedy
  • Release Date: 1996-07-18
  • User Rating: 6.8/10 from 1448 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 50min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: WingNut Films
  • Production Country: New Zealand, United States of America
  • Director: Peter Jackson
star 6.9/10
From 1,448 Ratings


Once an architect, Frank Bannister now passes himself off as an exorcist of evil spirits. To bolster his facade, he claims his "special" gift is the result of a car accident that killed his wife. But what he does not count on is more people dying in the small town where he lives. As he tries to piece together the supernatural mystery of these killings, he falls in love with the wife of one of the victims and deals with a crazy FBI agent.

The Frighteners Trailer

Is The Frighteners on Netflix?

Is The Frighteners on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie The Frighteners is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Frighteners becomes available on Netflix!

  • Michael J. Fox

    as Frank Bannister
  • Trini Alvarado

    as Lucy Lynskey
  • Peter Dobson

    as Ray Lynskey
  • John Astin

    as The Judge
  • Jeffrey Combs

    as Milton Dammers
  • Dee Wallace

    as Patricia Bradley
  • Jake Busey

    as Johnny Bartlett
  • Chi McBride

    as Cyrus
  • Jim Fyfe

    as Stuart
  • Troy Evans

    as Sheriff Perry
  • Julianna McCarthy

    as Old Lady Bradley
  • R. Lee Ermey

    as Hiles
  • Elizabeth Hawthorne

    as Magda Rees-Jones
  • Angela Bloomfield

    as Debra Bannister
  • Desmond Kelly

    as Harry Sinclair
  • Jonathan Blick

    as Steve Bayliss
  • Todd Rippon

    as Deputy
  • John Sumner

    as Deputy
  • Michael Robinson

    as Deputy
  • Jim McLarty

    as Deputy
  • Anthony Ray Parker

    as Deputy
  • Paul Yates

    as Deputy
  • Melanie Lynskey

    as Deputy
  • John Leigh

    as Bryce Campbell
  • Nicola Cliff

    as Young Patricia
  • Ken Blackburn

    as Dr. Kamins
  • Stuart Devenie

    as Museum Curator
  • Genevieve Westcott

    as TV Presenter
  • K.C. Kelly

    as Doctor
  • Leslie Wing

    as Mrs. Waterhouse
  • Leslie Klein

    as Maid
  • Frank Edwards

    as Resuscitating Man
  • Alan O'Leary

    as The Waiter
  • Danny Lineham

    as Barry
  • Charlie McClellan

    as Reporter
  • William Pomeroy

    as Jacob Platz
  • George Port

    as Orderly
  • Billy Jackson

    as Baby in Bouncer
  • Sophie Watkins

    as Nursery Baby
  • Taea Hartwell

    as Nursery Baby
  • Max Grover

    as Nursery Baby
  • George Grover

    as Nursery Baby
  • Tony Hopkins

    as Hospital Patient
  • Lewis Martin

    as Hospital Patient
  • Clay Nelson

    as Passerby
  • Matthew Chamberlain

    as Passerby
  • Vivienne Kaplan

    as Nun
  • Liz Mullane

    as Nun
  • Matt Aitken

    as Cowboy Ghost (uncredited)
  • Grae Burton

    as Guest (uncredited)
  • Michael Elsworth

    as Undertaker (uncredited)
  • Nic Farra

    as Ray's Friend (uncredited)
  • Peter Jackson

    as Man with Piercings (uncredited)
  • Fran Walsh

    as Passerby (uncredited)
Editing Jamie Selkirk Editor
Writing Peter Jackson Screenplay
Sound Danny Elfman Original Music Composer
Camera Alun Bollinger Director of Photography
Directing Peter Jackson Director
Writing Fran Walsh Screenplay
Camera John Blick Director of Photography
Production Peter Jackson Producer
Production Jamie Selkirk Producer
Costume & Make-Up Gail Wilson Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Cheryl Newton Wigmaker
Costume & Make-Up Jane Holland Assistant Costume Designer
Costume & Make-Up Jane O'Kane Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Bron Roylance Makeup Artist
Production Vivienne Kaplan Casting
Costume & Make-Up Barbara Darragh Costume Design
Crew Steve Ingram Special Effects Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Marjory Hamlin Makeup Department Head
Art Dan Hennah Art Direction
Production Victoria Burrows Casting
Art Chris Hennah Art Department Coordinator
Crew John Sheils CG Supervisor
Visual Effects Matt Holmes Visual Effects Coordinator
Crew Matt Aitken CG Supervisor
Directing Merrin Ruck Script Supervisor
Visual Effects Wes Takahashi Visual Effects Supervisor
Sound Steve Bartek Orchestrator
Sound Ellen Segal Music Editor
Art Grant Major Production Design
Production Liz Mullane Casting Associate
Camera Pierre Vinet Still Photographer
Production Robert Zemeckis Executive Producer
Sound Brent Burge Sound Effects Editor
Sound Tim Prebble Sound Effects Editor
Crew Vance Hartwell Makeup Effects
Sound Steve Boeddeker Sound Effects Editor
Sound Scott Guitteau Assistant Sound Designer
Sound Mike Hopkins Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Charleen Richards-Steeves ADR Mixer
Lighting Ants Farrell Electrician
Lighting Simon Higgins Best Boy Electric
Editing Eric De Beus Assistant Editor
Production Bridget Bourke Production Manager
Directing Michele Priest Second Assistant Director
Crew Charles Croughwell Stunt Double
Lighting Aaron Cowan Electrician
Sound Kim Shaw-Williams Boom Operator
Visual Effects Steve Ingram Special Effects Supervisor
Camera Rick Allender Steadicam Operator
Camera Richard Bluck Camera Operator
Camera Andy Reid Dolly Grip
Lighting Hansel Verkerk Electrician
Art Nina Saxon Title Designer
Production Fran Walsh Associate Producer
Sound Richard Hymns ADR Supervisor
Sound Hammond Peek Sound Recordist
Lighting Mark Newnham Electrician
Sound Phil Benson Supervising Sound Editor
Sound David Boulton ADR Mixer
Sound Beth Tredray Foley Artist
Crew Bruce brown Stunt Coordinator
Camera Harry Harrison Key Grip
Editing Josie McClutchie Assistant Editor
Production Karyn Childs Production Coordinator
Sound Michael Hedges Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Crew Steve Doherty Stunts
Lighting Brett Jarman Gaffer
Art Ed Mulholand Construction Manager
Directing Carey Carter First Assistant Director
Art Norman Willerton Construction Foreman
Camera Ian McCarroll Assistant Camera
Crew Jurgen Heimann Makeup Effects
Crew Troy Stephens Scenic Artist
Sound Randy Thom Sound Designer
Sound Chris Ward Foley Editor
Crew Rick Porras Post Production Supervisor
Crew Mark Prowse Stunts
Crew Joanne Strong Stunts
Editing Jo Priest Assistant Editor
Editing Hamiora Williams Assistant Editor
Production Jacqui Wood Production Coordinator
Sound Ross A. Chambers Dialogue Editor
Sound Gethin Creagh Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Corrin Ellingford Boom Operator
Crew Aaron Lupton Stunts
Sound Chris Burt ADR Mixer
Sound Craig Tomlinson Sound Effects Editor
Lighting Ian Nicholls Electrician
Editing Emma Haughton First Assistant Editor
Costume & Make-Up Rick Baker Makeup Artist