The Crying Game

The Crying Game (1992)

Play At Your Own Risk.

  • Genre: Crime, Drama, Thriller
  • Release Date: 1992-09-02
  • User Rating: 6.8/10 from 635 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 52min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Channel Four Films
  • Production Country: Japan, United Kingdom, Ireland
  • Director: Neil Jordan
star 6.9/10
From 635 Ratings


Irish Republican Army member Fergus forms an unexpected bond with Jody, a kidnapped British soldier in his custody, despite the warnings of fellow IRA members Jude and Maguire. Jody makes Fergus promise he'll visit his girlfriend, Dil, in London, and when Fergus flees to the city, he seeks her out. Hounded by his former IRA colleagues, he finds himself increasingly drawn to the enigmatic, and surprising, Dil.

The Crying Game Trailer

Is The Crying Game on Netflix?

Is The Crying Game on Netflix? Yes! The movie The Crying Game is now on Netflix in the countries listed below.

  • Stephen Rea

    as Fergus
  • Miranda Richardson

    as Jude
  • Jaye Davidson

    as Dil
  • Forest Whitaker

    as Jody
  • Adrian Dunbar

    as Maguire
  • Breffni McKenna

    as Tinker
  • Joe Savino

    as Eddie
  • Birdy Sweeney

    as Tommy
  • Andrée Bernard

    as Jane
  • Jim Broadbent

    as Col
  • Ralph Brown

    as Dave
  • Tony Slattery

    as Deveroux
  • Jack Carr

    as Franknum
  • Josephine White

    as Bar Performer 1
  • Shar Campbell

    as Bar Performer 2
  • Bryan Coleman

    as Judge
  • Ray De-Haan

    as Security Man 1
  • David Crionelly

    as Security Man 2
  • Charles Mandracchia

    as Bouncer (uncredited)
Sound Anne Dudley Original Music Composer
Sound Anne Dudley Orchestrator
Art Jim Clay Production Design
Production Susie Figgis Casting
Production Stephen Woolley Producer
Directing Redmond Morris First Assistant Director
Costume & Make-Up Sandy Powell Costume Design
Writing Neil Jordan Screenplay
Directing Neil Jordan Director
Art Martin Childs Set Decoration
Sound Eddy Joseph Supervising Sound Editor
Editing Kant Pan Editor
Art Paul Ghirardani Assistant Art Director
Crew Amanda Posey Post Production Supervisor
Production Nik Powell Executive Producer
Camera Ian Wilson Director of Photography
Camera Ian Wilson Camera Operator
Camera Brendan Galvin Clapper Loader
Production Rainer Grupe Associate Producer
Art Chris Seagers Art Direction
Crew Helen Caldwell Stunt Double
Production Elizabeth Karlsen Co-Producer
Crew Clive Curtis Stunt Coordinator
Crew Valentino Musetti Stunt Driver
Costume & Make-Up Clare Spragge Wardrobe Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Morag Ross Makeup Department Head
Crew Abbi Collins Stunt Double
Sound Rick Dunford Dialogue Editor
Production Paul Cowan Associate Producer
Crew Ray De-Haan Stunts
Production Terry Blyther Location Manager
Sound Robin O'Donoghue Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Costume & Make-Up Daniel Parker Prosthetic Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Geraldine Jones Hair Department Head
Production Phil Symes Publicist
Crew Wayne Michaels Stunt Driver
Crew John McKenna Armorer
Directing Jonathan Karlsen Third Assistant Director
Costume & Make-Up Paul Minter Wardrobe Supervisor
Camera Tom Hilton Still Photographer
Lighting Norman Smith Gaffer
Visual Effects Peter Hutchinson Special Effects Supervisor
Sound Colin Nicolson Sound Recordist
Crew Del Baker Stunt Driver
Production Fran Triefus Production Coordinator
Sound Tony Cook Boom Operator
Crew Elaine Ford Stunt Double
Directing Melvin Lind Second Assistant Director
Camera Ken Byrne Focus Puller
Sound Leonard Green Assistant Sound Editor
Editing Clive Noakes Color Timer
Art Dave Allen Construction Manager
Art Micky Bacon Property Master
Lighting Vince Clarke Rigging Gaffer
Editing Martyn Robinson Assistant Editor
Crew Samantha Plaisted Floor Runner