Instinct (1999)

Nothing is more savage than civilization.

  • Genre: Drama, Thriller
  • Release Date: 1999-06-04
  • User Rating: 6.4/10 from 537 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 4min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Spyglass Entertainment
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Jon Turteltaub
star 6.4/10
From 537 Ratings


In a prison for the criminally insane, deranged anthropologist Ethan Powell is set to be examined by a bright young psychiatrist, Theo Caulder. Driven by ambition and a hunger for the truth, Caulder will eventually risk everything—even put his very life on the line—in a harrowing attempt to understand the bizarre actions of this madman.

Instinct Trailer

Is Instinct on Netflix?

Is Instinct on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie Instinct is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when Instinct becomes available on Netflix!

  • Anthony Hopkins

    as Dr. Ethan Powell
  • Cuba Gooding Jr.

    as Dr. Theo Caulder
  • Donald Sutherland

    as Ben Hillard
  • Maura Tierney

    as Lynn Powell
  • George Dzundza

    as Dr. John Murray
  • John Ashton

    as Guard Dacks
  • John Aylward

    as Warden Keefer
  • Doug Spinuzza

    as Nicko
  • Thomas Q. Morris

    as Pete
  • Vivienne Sendaydiego

    as Catherine
  • Paul Bates

    as Bluto
  • Rex Linn

    as Gurad Alan
  • Rod McLachlan

    as Guard Anderson
  • Tracey Ellis

    as Annie
  • Kim Ingram

    as Lester Rodman
  • Paul Collins

    as Tom Hanley
  • Marc Macaulay

    as Foley
  • Jim Grimshaw

    as Boaz
  • Louanne Stephens

    as Marjorie Powell
  • Ajgie Kirkland

    as Captain Kagona
  • Chike Kani Omo

    as David
  • Ivonne Coll

    as Dr. Marzuez
  • Pat McNamara

    as Dr. Josephson
  • Roger Floyd

    as Gilbert
  • Kurt Smildsin

    as Guard #1
  • Jim R. Coleman

    as Guard #2
  • Gary Bristow

    as Federal Marshall
  • Tyrone C. Wiggins

    as Soldier (uncredited)
  • David Deever

    as Man in Car
  • Tim Goodwin

    as Helmet Man
  • Kevin-Michael Moore

    as Prisoners
  • Alex Kalognomos

    as Prisoners
  • Jimmy Dipisa

    as Prisoners
  • Manwell Hendrix

    as Prisoners
  • Kevin McNally

    as Prisoners
  • Joe Tacke

    as Prisoners
  • Bertram Wallace

    as Prisoners
  • John Travis

    as Bartender Mike
  • Dave Anthony

    as Gorilla Performers
  • John Munro Cameron

    as Gorilla Performers
  • Jay Caputo

    as Gorilla Performers
  • Garon Michael

    as Gorilla Performers
  • David St. Pierre

    as Gorilla Performers
  • Verne Troyer

    as Gorilla Performers
  • Tory Kittles

    as Prisoner
  • Rico Paisley

    as Uniform Cop
  • M.J. D'Bella

    as Nurse
  • Misty Rosas

    as Gorilla Performers
Sound Danny Elfman Original Music Composer
Camera Wally Pfister Camera Operator
Camera Philippe Rousselot Director of Photography
Editing Richard Francis-Bruce Editor
Sound Bob Badami Music Editor
Production Wolfgang Petersen Executive Producer
Crew Jay Caputo Stunts
Visual Effects Keith Marbory Special Effects Supervisor
Directing Jon Turteltaub Director
Sound Lisa Jaime Music Editor
Production Michael Taylor Producer
Camera Anastas N. Michos Camera Operator
Production Gail Katz Executive Producer
Art Larry Dias Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Jill M. Ohanneson Costume Design
Directing William M. Elvin First Assistant Director
Crew Alex Green Stunt Double
Writing Gerald Di Pego Screenplay
Costume & Make-Up Alix Friedberg Key Costumer
Production Barbara Boyle Producer
Crew Tierre Turner Stunt Double
Art Mark Garner Set Designer
Sound Terry Porter Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Dean A. Zupancic Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Art Garreth Stover Production Design
Art Chris Cornwell Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Daniel Curet Hairstylist
Crew Larry Holt Stunts
Crew Nick Brandon Stunts
Sound Nerses Gezalyan Sound Mixer
Directing Thomas Johnston Script Supervisor
Production Renee Rousselot Casting
Crew Michael Newman Stunts
Art Marcie Friedman Art Department Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up John M. Elliott Jr. Makeup Department Head
Art Cosmas A. Demetriou Set Designer
Costume & Make-Up John Blake Makeup Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up John Casey Costume Supervisor
Sound Jon Title Sound Designer
Sound Wylie Stateman Supervising Sound Editor
Crew Jodi Lyn Brockton Stunts
Crew James L. Roberts Special Effects Coordinator
Crew James M. Churchman Stunts
Sound Lauren Stephens Dialogue Editor
Crew Jeff Burks In Memory Of
Art Christopher Scheetz Construction Foreman
Art Kirk Corwin Property Master
Sound Scott Sanders Sound Effects Editor
Sound Jennifer Mann ADR Editor
Crew Jim Vickers Stunt Coordinator
Crew Donald Dowd Video Assist Operator
Directing Scott Graves Script Supervisor
Art Dan Pemberton Construction Coordinator
Crew William Scharpf Stunts
Crew John Moio Stunts
Production Kris Olson Production Coordinator
Crew Tom Akos Stunts
Camera Robin Melhuish First Assistant Camera
Sound Peter J. Devlin Sound
Camera Ted Morris Camera Operator
Crew Chick Bernhard Stunts
Crew Matt Johnston Stunts
Crew Christie Sanders Stunts
Crew Jimmy Waitman Utility Stunts
Crew Erik Solky Utility Stunts
Crew Michael Gaines Stunts
Crew Derrick L. McMillon Stunts
Crew Barry Brazell Stunts
Crew Billy Bates Stunts
Crew Keifus Mathews Stunts
Crew Todd Rogers Terry Stunts
Crew Bill Orsini Stunts
Crew Shawn Fornari Stunts
Crew John Zimmerman Stunts
Crew Luis J. Silva Stunts
Crew Michele Waitman Stunts
Crew David Horner Utility Stunts
Crew Lisa Walcott Bucaro Stunts
Crew Jennifer Baca Stunts