The Acid House

The Acid House (1998)

  • Genre: Comedy, Drama
  • Release Date: 1998-12-31
  • User Rating: 6.2/10 from 116 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 47min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Picture Palace North
  • Production Country: United Kingdom
  • Director: Paul McGuigan
star 6.2/10
From 116 Ratings


A surreal triptych adapted by "Trainspotting" author Irvine Welsh from his acclaimed collection of short stories. Combining a vicious sense of humor with hard-talking drama, the film reaches into the hearts and minds of the chemical generation, casting a dark and unholy light into the hidden corners of the human psyche.

The Acid House Trailer

Is The Acid House on Netflix?

Is The Acid House on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie The Acid House is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Acid House becomes available on Netflix!

  • Ewen Bremner

    as Coco Brice
  • Kevin McKidd

    as Johnny
  • Stephen McCole

    as Boab
  • Jemma Redgrave

    as Jenny
  • Martin Clunes

    as Rory
  • Maurice Roëves

    as God
  • Arlene Cockburn

    as Kirsty
  • Michelle Gomez

    as Catriona
  • Gary McCormack

    as Larry
  • Jenny McCrindle

    as Evelyn
  • Garry Sweeney

    as Kev
  • Simon Weir

    as Tambo
  • Niall Greig Fulton

    as Alan
  • Malcolm Shields

    as Workmate
  • Tam Dean Burn

    as Alec
  • Irvine Welsh

    as Parkie
  • Barbara Rafferty

    as Doctor
  • Ronnie McCann

    as Andy
  • Cas Harkins

    as Skanko
  • Alison Peebles

    as Johnny's Mother
  • Alex Howden

    as Boab Snr
  • Annie Louise Ross

    as Doreen
  • Billy McElhaney

    as Felix, the Paramedic
  • Iain Andrew

    as Grant
  • Dennis O'Connor

    as PC Cochrane
  • John Gardner

    as Sgt Morrison
  • Katie Echlin

    as Wendy
  • Doug Eadie

    as Coco's Father
  • Andrea McKenna

    as Coco's Mother
  • Joanne Riley

    as New Girl
  • Ricky Callan

    as Tam the Driver
  • Stephen Docherty

    as Nurse Boyd
  • Jane Stabler

    as Emma
  • Pat Stanton

    as Barman
  • Stewart Preston

    as Rafferty
Editing Andrew Hulme Editor
Writing Irvine Welsh Screenplay
Writing Irvine Welsh Novel
Production Alex Usborne Producer
Directing Paul McGuigan Director
Sound Dan Mudford Original Music Composer
Camera Alasdair Walker Director of Photography
Production David Muir Producer
Art Richard Bridgland Production Design
Art Mike Gunn Production Design
Art Rohan Banyard Art Direction
Art Jean Kerr Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Lynn Aitken Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Pam Tait Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Nikki Brannan Assistant Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Sarah Fidelo Makeup Designer
Costume & Make-Up Susan Howard Special Effects Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Marilyn MacDonald Makeup Designer
Costume & Make-Up Marie Rodgers Assistant Makeup Artist
Production Sara Barr Production Manager
Directing Neil Calder First Assistant Director
Directing Alison Goring Second Assistant Director
Directing Ian Madden First Assistant Director
Directing Karen McConnell Second Assistant Director
Directing Kathleen Wishart Second Assistant Director
Art Jamie Baxter Construction Manager
Art Chris Cull Property Master
Crew Kelvin Guy Scenic Artist
Art Cliona Harkin Assistant Art Director
Art Niki Longmuir Assistant Art Director
Art Rob McCallum Storyboard Artist
Art Tony Sheridan Property Master
Sound Allan Brereton Sound Recordist
Sound Tony Cook Boom Operator
Sound Brian Howell Sound Recordist
Sound Andrew Hulme Sound Designer
Sound Alan MacNicol Boom Operator
Sound Gerard Roche Assistant Sound Editor
Sound Becky Thomson Boom Operator
Visual Effects Simon Giles Visual Effects Supervisor
Crew Michael Scott-Law Stunt Coordinator
Camera Simon Bray Steadicam Operator
Camera Jamie Coulter Key Grip
Camera Neil Davidson Clapper Loader
Lighting Stuart Farmer Gaffer
Camera Alick Fraser Clapper Loader
Camera Derek Guyer Clapper Loader
Lighting Frank McConologue Lighting Technician
Camera Alan McSheehy Focus Puller
Camera Terry Pate Key Grip
Camera Al Rae Steadicam Operator
Camera Howard Smith Steadicam Operator
Lighting Mick Toher Lighting Technician
Costume & Make-Up Ruth Kirton Assistant Costume Designer
Editing Mike Fraser Negative Cutter
Editing Gavin McCarron Negative Cutter
Production Fiona Winning Location Manager
Directing Dorothy Connolley Script Supervisor
Directing Janis Watt Script Supervisor
Production Laura Cochrane Production Coordinator
Crew Donald MacKinnon Floor Runner
Crew Katie McCorkindale Floor Runner
Production Nic Muirson Production Coordinator