The Good Shepherd

The Good Shepherd (2006)

Edward Wilson believed in America, and he would sacrifice everything he loved to protect it.

  • Genre: Drama, Thriller, History
  • Release Date: 2006-12-11
  • User Rating: 6.3/10 from 1108 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 47min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Universal Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Robert De Niro
star 6.3/10
From 1,108 Ratings


Edward Wilson, the only witness to his father's suicide and member of the Skull and Bones Society while a student at Yale, is a morally upright young man who values honor and discretion, qualities that help him to be recruited for a career in the newly founded OSS. His dedication to his work does not come without a price though, leading him to sacrifice his ideals and eventually his family.

The Good Shepherd Trailer

Is The Good Shepherd on Netflix?

Is The Good Shepherd on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie The Good Shepherd is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Good Shepherd becomes available on Netflix!

  • Matt Damon

    as Edward Bell Wilson
  • Angelina Jolie

    as Margaret Ann Russell
  • Alec Baldwin

    as Sam Murach
  • Tammy Blanchard

    as Laura
  • Billy Crudup

    as Arch Cummings
  • Robert De Niro

    as Bill Sullivan
  • Keir Dullea

    as Senator John Russell, Sr.
  • Michael Gambon

    as Dr. Fredericks
  • Martina Gedeck

    as Hanna Schiller
  • William Hurt

    as Philip Allen
  • Timothy Hutton

    as Thomas Wilson
  • Mark Ivanir

    as Valentin Mironov #2
  • Gabriel Macht

    as John Russell, Jr.
  • Lee Pace

    as Richard Hayes
  • Joe Pesci

    as Joseph Palmi
  • Eddie Redmayne

    as Edward Wilson Jr.
  • John Sessions

    as Valentin Mironov #1/Yuri Modin
  • John Turturro

    as Raymond Brocco
  • Yelena Shmulenson

    as Dollar Woman
  • Jack Martin

    as Dollar Little Boy
  • Anne-Marie Cusson

    as Philip Allen's Secretary
  • Robert Bermudez Cordell

    as Bay of Pigs Voiceover (voice)
  • David Crommett

    as Spanish Translator
  • Michael Arden

    as Pinafore Actor
  • Justin Bohon

    as Pinafore Actor
  • Justin Daniel

    as Pinafore Actor
  • Michael Flanigan

    as Pinafore Actor
  • John Hill

    as Pinafore Actor
  • Will Reynolds

    as Pinafore Actor
  • Michael Seelbach

    as Pinafore Actor
  • Ryan Michael Shaw

    as Pinafore Actor
  • Stephen Powell

    as HMS Pinafore Singer
  • Henry Gummer

    as Bonesman / Boatswain
  • Gregory Marcel

    as Dancing Skeleton
  • Austin Williams

    as Young Edward Wilson
  • Sophie Sutton

    as Connie Wilson
  • Lars Gerhard

    as Mr. Haupt
  • Tessa Kim

    as Mr. Haupt's Translator
  • Peter Kybart

    as Dr. Manheim
  • Rob Barnes

    as Man at Jazz Club
  • Lee Bryant

    as Mrs. John Russell, Sr.
  • Laila Robins

    as Toddy Allen
  • Redman Maxfield

    as Older Bonesman 1940
  • John C. Whitehead

    as Reverend Collins
  • Jeff Skowron

    as Deer Island Crooner 1940
  • Oleg Stefan

    as Ulysses / Stas Siyanko
  • Meredith Deacon

    as John Russell, Jr.'s Girlfriend
  • Josh Casaubon

    as Army Man 1940
  • Christopher Evan Welch

    as Photography Technical Officer
  • Tuc Watkins

    as Sound Technical Officer
  • Leonard Logsdail

    as Tailor
  • Eric Lindh

    as Tailor Shop Guard
  • Trace Taylor

    as Cryptographer
  • Amanda Barron

    as Cryptographer
  • James Faulkner

    as Lord Cooper
  • Robert Ian Mackenzie

    as Cambridge Club Butler
  • Dieter Riesle

    as Herr Franck
  • Sándor Técsy

    as Sasha, Ulysses' Aide
  • Tommy Nelson

    as Edward Wilson Jr. - Age 6-7
  • Greg Plitt

    as Guard with Sullivan
  • Marcos Cohen

    as Dr. Ibanez
  • Jeff Applegate

    as Michael Johnson
  • Jon Monett

    as CIA Insect Man
  • Sandee Conrad

    as Edward's Secretary
  • Jonathan Dokuchitz

    as Husband Dinner Guest
  • Susan Haskell

    as Wife Dinner Guest
  • Sjoerd Dejong

    as Santa Claus
  • Neal Huff

    as Teletype Operations Officer
  • Jason Butler Harner

    as Teletype Communications Officer
  • Amy Wright

    as Safe House Operations Officer
  • Matthew Humphreys

    as Cherry Orchard Actor
  • Karron Graves

    as Cherry Orchard Actress
  • Robert C. Kirk

    as Laura's Taxi Driver
  • Reathel Bean

    as 'Dame' Bonesman
  • Jerry Coyle

    as 'Dame' Bonesman
  • Wally Dunn

    as 'Dame' Bonesman
  • Roger Rathburn

    as 'Dame' Bonesman
  • Michael Melvoin

    as Piano Player
  • Glenn Kalison

    as Telephone Operations Officer
  • John Knox

    as Technical Service Officer
  • Benjamin Eakeley

    as Bonesman 1960
  • Gino Cafarelli

    as Palmi's Bodyguard
  • Tommy DeVito

    as Palmi's Bodyguard
  • Stefanie Nava

    as Tina Palmi
  • Isabella Cimato

    as Palmi's Granddaughter
  • Jimmy Marchese

    as Palmi's Grandson
  • Robert Prescott

    as Bonesman MC 1961
  • Bill McHugh

    as Reverend Christiansen
  • Ann Hampton Callaway

    as 1961 Deer Island Singer
  • Christopher Druckman

    as FBI Agent
  • Liya Kebede

    as Miriam
  • John Henry

    as Philip Allen's Driver
  • Josh Pence

    as Bonesman
  • Dave Payton

    as College Student (uncredited)
  • Vladislav Kozlov

    as Executioner (uncredited)
Directing Robert De Niro Director
Production Robert De Niro Producer
Production James G. Robinson Producer
Production Jane Rosenthal Producer
Writing Eric Roth Writer
Camera Robert Richardson Director of Photography
Editing Tariq Anwar Editor
Art Jeannine Oppewall Production Design
Art Russell Bobbitt Property Master
Art Gretchen Rau Set Decoration
Art Leslie E. Rollins Set Decoration
Sound Kathy Nelson Music Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Ann Roth Costume Designer
Sound Arvo Pärt Additional Soundtrack
Crew John Cenatiempo Stunt Coordinator
Crew John Cenatiempo Stunts
Directing H.H. Cooper First Assistant Director
Crew Jill Brown Stunts
Crew G. A. Aguilar Stunt Coordinator
Crew Aaron Vexler Stunt Double
Directing Francisco Ortiz Second Assistant Director
Production Chris Brigham Executive Producer
Production Francis Ford Coppola Executive Producer
Production Andy Fraser Production Executive
Production Howard Kaplan Executive Producer
Production Guy McElwaine Executive Producer
Production Lorena Reyes Producer
Production David Robinson Executive Producer
Production Sig De Miguel Casting
Production Cathy Sandrich Gelfond Casting
Production Amanda Mackey Casting
Art Robert Guerra Art Direction
Art Alyssa Winter Set Decoration
Sound Marcelo Zarvos Original Music Composer
Sound Bruce Fowler Original Music Composer