Eight Men Out

Eight Men Out (1988)

When the cheering stopped, there were... Eight Men Out.

  • Genre: Drama, History
  • Release Date: 1988-09-02
  • User Rating: 6.9/10 from 200 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 59min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Orion Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: John Sayles
star 7/10
From 200 Ratings


A dramatization of the Black Sox scandal when the underpaid Chicago White Sox accepted bribes to deliberately lose the 1919 World Series.

Eight Men Out Trailer

Is Eight Men Out on Netflix?

Is Eight Men Out on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie Eight Men Out is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when Eight Men Out becomes available on Netflix!

  • John Cusack

    as George 'Buck' Weaver
  • Clifton James

    as Charles 'Commie' Comiskey
  • Michael Lerner

    as Arnold Rothstein
  • Christopher Lloyd

    as 'Sleepy' Bill Burns
  • John Mahoney

    as William 'Kid' Gleason
  • Charlie Sheen

    as Oscar 'Hap' Felsch
  • David Strathairn

    as Eddie Cicotte
  • D.B. Sweeney

    as 'Shoeless' Joe Jackson
  • Don Harvey

    as Charles 'Swede' Risberg
  • Michael Rooker

    as Arnold 'Chick' Gandil
  • Perry Lang

    as Fred McMullin
  • James Read

    as Claude 'Lefty' Williams
  • Jace Alexander

    as Dickie Kerr
  • Gordon Clapp

    as Ray Schalk
  • Richard Edson

    as Billy Maharg
  • Bill Irwin

    as Eddie Collins
  • Michael Mantell

    as Abe Attell
  • Kevin Tighe

    as Joseph 'Sport' Sullivan
  • Studs Terkel

    as Hugh Fullerton
  • John Anderson

    as Judge Kenesaw Mountain Landis
  • John Sayles

    as Ring Lardner
  • Clyde Bassett

    as Ban Johnson
  • Barbara Garrick

    as Helen Weaver
  • Wendy Makkena

    as Kate Jackson
  • Maggie Renzi

    as Rose Cicotte
  • Nancy Travis

    as Lyra Williams
  • Bill Raymond

    as Ben Short
  • Stephen Mendillo

    as Monk
  • James Desmond

    as Smitty (as Jim Desmond)
  • Eliot Asinof

    as John Heydler
  • John D. Craig

    as Rothstein's lawyer
  • Michael Laskin

    as Alfred Austrian
  • Randle Mell

    as Michael Ahearn
  • Robert Motz

    as District Attorney
  • Tay Strathairn

    as Bucky
  • Jesse Vincent

    as Scooter
  • Jack George

    as Fan
  • Tom Surber

    as Fan
  • Tom Ledcke

    as Fan
  • David Carpenter

    as Fan
  • Bert Hatch

    as Fan
  • Jerry Brent

    as Writer
  • Bruce Schumacher

    as Writer
  • Robert Walsh

    as Writer
  • Matthew Harrington

    as Writer
  • Richard Lynch

    as Writer
  • Gary Williams

    as Writer
  • Michael L. Harris

    as Writer (as Michael Harris)
  • Ken Berry

    as Heckler
  • David Rice

    as Enemy fan
  • Tom Marshall

    as Browns umpire
  • Jack Merrill

    as Grabiner (as Merrill Holtzman)
  • Josh Thompson

    as Winslow
  • Julie Whitney

    as Woman in Bar
  • Dana Roi

    as Woman in Bar
  • Philip Murphy

    as Jimmy
  • J. Dennis Newman

    as Reds Player
  • Charles Siebert

    as Ivey Wingo (as Charles Siebert II)
  • Jim Martindale

    as Cincinnati Umpire
  • Bill Jennings

    as Chicago Umpire
  • David Hinman

    as Announcer
  • Danton Stone

    as Hired Killer
  • Patrick Grant

    as Irish Tenor
  • Tim Laughter

    as Betting Man
  • Brad Armacost

    as Attendant
  • Jim Stark

    as Reporter
  • Brad Griffith

    as Reporter
  • Steve Salge

    as Reporter
  • Dick Cusack

    as Judge Friend
  • Eaton Randles

    as Clerk
  • Max Chiddester

    as Tom Nash
  • Rich Komenich

    as Jury Foreman
  • Patrick Brown

    as New Jersey Fan
  • John Griesemer

    as New Jersey Fan
  • Charles Yankoglu

    as New Jersey Fan
  • Michael B. Preston

    as Ellix (as Michael Preston)
Camera Robert Richardson Director of Photography
Sound Mason Daring Original Music Composer
Production Sarah Pillsbury Producer
Production Peggy Rajski Production Manager
Production Peggy Rajski Co-Producer
Production Barbara Boyle Executive Producer
Production Jerry Offsay Executive Producer
Writing John Sayles Screenplay
Directing John Sayles Director
Sound David Brownlow Sound Mixer
Costume & Make-Up Cynthia Flynt Costume Design
Production Midge Sanford Producer
Writing Eliot Asinof Book
Editing John Tintori Editor
Art Dan Bishop Art Direction
Art Lynn Wolverton-Parker Set Decoration
Art Nora Chavooshian Production Design
Directing Gary Marcus First Assistant Director
Directing Gina Randazzo Second Assistant Director
Lighting Ray Peschke Gaffer