The Power of One

The Power of One (1992)

An exhilarating epic of a triumph of the heart.

  • Genre: Drama
  • Release Date: 1992-03-27
  • User Rating: 7.4/10 from 125 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 7min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Warner Bros. Pictures
  • Production Country: France, United States of America
  • Director: John G. Avildsen
star 7.4/10
From 125 Ratings


PK, an English orphan terrorized for his family's political beliefs in Africa, turns to his only friend, a kindly world-wise prisoner, Geel Piet. Geel teaches him how to box with the motto “fight with your fists and lead with your heart”. As he grows to manhood, PK uses these words to take on the system and the injustices he sees around him - and finds that one person really can make a difference.

The Power of One Trailer

Is The Power of One on Netflix?

Is The Power of One on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie The Power of One is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Power of One becomes available on Netflix!

  • Morgan Freeman

    as Geel Piet
  • Stephen Dorff

    as P.K. Age 18
  • Simon Fenton

    as P.K. Age 12
  • Guy Witcher

    as P.K. Age 7
  • Armin Mueller-Stahl

    as Doc
  • Alois Moyo

    as Gideon Duma
  • Marius Weyers

    as Prof. Daniel Marais
  • Ian Roberts

    as Hoppie Gruenewald
  • Fay Masterson

    as Maria
  • Winston Ntshona

    as Mlungisi
  • Dominic Walker

    as Morrie Gilbert
  • Robbie Bulloch

    as Jaapie Botha
  • Daniel Craig

    as Sgt. Botha
  • Clive Russell

    as Sgt. Bormann
  • Faith Edwards

    as Miriam Sisulu
  • Brian O'Shaughnessy

    as Col. Bretyn
  • Michael Brunner

    as Commandant Van Zy
  • Gert van Niekerk

    as Lt. Smit
  • Tracy Brooks Swope

    as Mother
  • John Gielgud

    as St. John
  • Nigel Ivy

    as P.K. Newborn
  • Nomadlozi Kubheka

    as Nanny
  • Agatha Hurle

    as Midwife
  • Brendan Deary

    as P.K. Infant
  • Winston Mangwarara

    as Tonderai Infant
  • Tonderai Masenda

    as Tonderai
  • Cecil Zilla Mamanzi

    as Ranch Foreman
  • John Turner

    as Afrikaner Minister
  • Gordon Arnell

    as Minister at Mother's Funeral
  • Jeremiah Mnisi

    as Dabula Manzi
  • Paul Tingay

    as Grandfather
  • Hywell Williams

    as Captain
  • Ed Beeten

    as Prison Commissioner
  • Robert Thomas Reed

    as School Fight Opponent
  • Roy Francis

    as Referee
  • Clare Cobbold

    as Maria's Friend #1
  • Natalie Morse

    as Maria's Friend #2
  • John Osborne

    as Guard, School Gate
  • Simon Shumba

    as Man without Pass
  • Stan Leih

    as Van Cop #1
  • Rod Campbell

    as Van Cop #2
  • Adam Fogerty

    as Andress Malan
  • Tony Denham

    as Boxing Partner
  • Eric Nobbs

    as City Cop #1
  • Edward Jordan

    as City Cop #2
  • Raymond Barreto

    as Indian Referee
  • Liz Ngwenya

    as Nganga Ancient Woman
  • Andrew Whaley

    as Ticket Taker
  • Dominic Makuwachuma

    as Joshua
  • Lungani Sibanda

    as Student
  • Akim Mwale

    as Student
  • Pesedena Dinah

    as Student
  • Rosemary Chikobwe Sibanda

    as Student
  • Martha Gibson Mtika

    as Student
  • Joel Phiri

    as Student
  • Peggy Moyo

    as Student
  • David Khabo

    as Student
  • David Guzawa

    as Student
  • Robin Annison

    as Anita
  • Christien Anholt

    as Date at Dinner
  • Nigel Pegram

    as Man Guest #1
  • Jon Cartwright

    as Jacob
  • Pieter Janse van Vuuren

    as Minister at Maria's Funeral
  • Marcia Coleman

    as Woman Guest
  • Banele Dala Moyo

    as Boy Who Reads
  • Garth Inns

    as Headmaster (uncredited)
  • Tyrone Jeffers

    as Student (uncredited)
Editing Trevor Jolly Editor
Production Steven Reuther Executive Producer
Art Karen Brookes Set Decoration
Writing Robert Mark Kamen Screenplay
Crew Dean Semler Cinematography
Art Leslie Tomkins Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Tom Rand Costume Design
Writing Bryce Courtenay Novel
Crew Doreen A. Dixon Post Production Supervisor
Production Caro Jones Casting
Costume & Make-Up Colin Jamison Hairstylist
Editing John G. Avildsen Editor
Production Arnon Milchan Producer
Production Roy Button Line Producer
Art Martin Hitchcock Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Peter Frampton Makeup Artist
Art Roger Hall Production Design
Directing John G. Avildsen Director
Production Greg Coote Executive Producer
Costume & Make-Up Amanda Knight Makeup Artist
Production Kevin De La Noy Production Supervisor
Production Graham Burke Executive Producer
Art Kevin Phipps Art Direction
Production Doug Seelig Producer
Costume & Make-Up Lisa Tomblin Hairstylist
Production Richard J. Gelfand Executive In Charge Of Production
Production Rory Kilalea Production Supervisor
Sound Hans Zimmer Original Music Composer