Brubaker (1980)

One man against a cruel system.

  • Genre: Crime, Drama
  • Release Date: 1980-06-20
  • User Rating: 7.0/10 from 449 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 5min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: 20th Century Fox
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Stuart Rosenberg
star 7/10
From 449 Ratings


The new warden of a small prison farm in Arkansas tries to clean it up of corruption after initially posing as an inmate.

Brubaker Trailer

Is Brubaker on Netflix?

Is Brubaker on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie Brubaker is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when Brubaker becomes available on Netflix!

  • Robert Redford

    as Henry Brubaker
  • Yaphet Kotto

    as Richard 'Dickie' Coombes
  • Jane Alexander

    as Lillian Gray
  • Murray Hamilton

    as John Deach
  • David Keith

    as Larry Lee Bullen
  • Morgan Freeman

    as Walter
  • Matt Clark

    as Roy Purcell
  • Tim McIntire

    as Huey Rauch
  • Richard Ward

    as Abraham Cook
  • Jon Van Ness

    as Zaranska
  • M. Emmet Walsh

    as C.P. Woodward
  • Albert Salmi

    as Rory Poke
  • Linda Haynes

    as Carol
  • Everett McGill

    as Eddie Caldwell
  • Val Avery

    as Wendel
  • Ron Frazier

    as Burl Willets (as Ronald C. Frazier)
  • David Harris

    as Duane Spivey (as David D. Harris)
  • Joe Spinell

    as Floyd Birdwell
  • James Keane

    as Pinky
  • Konrad Sheehan

    as Glenn Elwood
  • Roy Poole

    as Dr. Gregory
  • Nathan George

    as Leon Edwards - Prison Board
  • Don Blakely

    as Jerome Boyd
  • Lee Richardson

    as Warden Renfro
  • John McMartin

    as Senator Charles Hite
  • Alex Brown

    as Fenway Park (as Alex A. Brown)
  • John Chappell

    as Captain Cleaves
  • Brent Jennings

    as Mr. Clarence (as Brent N. Jennings)
  • Harry Groener

    as Dr. Campbell
  • William Newman

    as Dunfield - Prison Board (as William M. Newman)
  • Noble Willingham

    as Dr. Fenster
  • Wilford Brimley

    as Rogers - Prison Board
  • Jane Cecil

    as Bea Williams - Prison Board
  • Ebbe Roe Smith

    as Pavitch
  • Young Hwa Han

    as Leonard Ng
  • Vic Polizos

    as Billy Baylock
  • Jack O'Leary

    as Floor Walker
  • James Dukas

    as Oafish Rankman
  • J.C. Quinn

    as Barber
  • Jerry Mayer

    as Barber
  • Kent Broadhurst

    as Whitley
  • Hazen Gifford

    as Partridge
  • Bill McNulty

    as Richards
  • Rob Garrison

    as Pretty Boy
  • Ritch Brinkley

    as Gate Guard
  • Gary A. Jones

    as Investigative Reporter (uncredited)
  • Nicolas Cage

    as Prisoner (uncredited)
Writing W.D. Richter Screenplay
Production Ron Silverman Producer
Directing Stuart Rosenberg Director
Camera Enrique Bravo Camera Operator
Writing W.D. Richter Story
Writing Arthur A. Ross Story
Editing Robert Brown Editor
Production Ted Mann Executive Producer
Camera Bruno Nuytten Director of Photography
Sound Lalo Schifrin Original Music Composer
Production Gordon A. Webb Associate Producer
Art J. Michael Riva Art Direction
Production Terry Liebling Casting
Production Gordon A. Webb Unit Production Manager
Directing Jon C. Andersen Assistant Director
Directing D. Scott Easton Second Assistant Director
Art John Franco Jr. Set Decoration
Art John Zemansky Property Master
Art Hendrik Wynands Construction Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Tom Bronson Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Bernie Pollack Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Aida Swinson Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Gary Liddiard Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Marina Pedraza Hairstylist
Camera Vincent Saizis Additional Photography
Lighting Joe Pender Gaffer
Camera Doug Willis Key Grip
Camera Steve Wever Still Photographer
Production Chip Fowler Production Coordinator
Crew Mickey Gilbert Stunt Coordinator
Sound Charles M. Wilborn Sound Mixer
Crew Aram Betkijian Transportation Coordinator
Directing Robert Rooy Additional Second Assistant Director
Production Garrison True Extras Casting
Production Mary Gaffney Extras Casting
Editing Willie Navarro Assistant Editor
Sound William Hartman Sound Effects Editor
Sound Richard Sperber Sound Effects Editor
Sound David M. Ice Sound Effects Editor
Sound Godfrey Marks Dialogue Editor
Sound Theodore Soderberg Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Paul Wells Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Douglas O. Williams Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Jack Hayes Orchestrator