The Wizard

The Wizard (1989)

It's more than a's the chance of a lifetime.

  • Genre: Adventure, Comedy, Drama, Family
  • Release Date: 1989-12-15
  • User Rating: 6.0/10 from 301 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 40min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Universal Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Todd Holland
star 6/10
From 301 Ratings


A boy and his brother run away from home and hitch cross-country, with help from a girl they meet, to compete in the ultimate video-game championship.

The Wizard Trailer

Is The Wizard on Netflix?

Is The Wizard on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie The Wizard is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Wizard becomes available on Netflix!

  • Luke Edwards

    as Jimmy
  • Vince Trankina

    as Tate
  • Wendy Phillips

    as Christine
  • Dea McAllister

    as Counselor
  • Sam McMurray

    as Bateman
  • Beau Bridges

    as Sam
  • Fred Savage

    as Corey
  • Christian Slater

    as Nick
  • Will Seltzer

    as Putnam
  • Roy Conrad

    as Bus Clerk
  • Jenny Lewis

    as Haley
  • Roderick Dexter

    as Trucker #1 / Wrecking Yard Man
  • Ray Bickel

    as Trucker #2
  • Chuck Skinner

    as Grease Monkey
  • W.K. Cowan

    as Salesman #1
  • William C. Thompson

    as Salesman #2
  • Sonny Dukes

    as Biker
  • T. Dan Hopkins

    as Old Navajo
  • Jason Oliver Lipsett

    as Tough Teen #1
  • Rowden Metzger

    as Tough Teen #2
  • Preston Lee

    as Tough Teen #3
  • Beth Grant

    as Diner Manager
  • Gregor Hesse

    as Younger Boy
  • Jackey Vinson

    as Lucas
  • Tom Kerley

    as Pinball Teen
  • Frank McRae

    as Spanky
  • Gene Skillen

    as Stickman
  • Blair Anthony

    as Hotel Security
  • Thomas Stanczyk

    as Rick the Video Counselor
  • Jacqueline Lear

    as Bubblegum Girl
  • Valana C. Hatter

    as Diner Waitress
  • Terri Lynn Neish

    as Poolside Waitress
  • Lee Arenberg

    as Armageddon Registrar
  • Steven Grives

    as Armageddon Announcer
  • Marisa DeSimone

    as Mora Grissom
  • Zed Frizzelle

    as Lucas' Buddy
  • Jim Pirri

    as Studio Tour Guide
  • David D'Ovidio

    as Armageddon Official
  • Neo Edmund

    as Max (uncredited)
  • Candace Hill

    as Gamer (uncredited)
  • Tobey Maguire

    as Lucas' Goon at Video Armageddon (uncredited)
Directing Todd Holland Director
Writing David Chisholm Writer
Production David Chisholm Producer
Production Ken Topolsky Producer
Production Lindsley Parsons Jr. Executive Producer
Production Daniel Schneider Associate Producer
Sound J. Peter Robinson Original Music Composer
Camera Robert D. Yeoman Director of Photography
Editing Tom Finan Editor
Production Mali Finn Casting
Production Sally Lear Additional Casting
Art Michael L. Mayer Production Design
Art Robert Sissman Art Direction
Art Claire Jenora Bowin Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Scilla Andreen Costume Design
Sound Michael Dittrick Music Editor
Sound Robert Glass Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Costume & Make-Up Emanuel Millar Key Hair Stylist
Directing Jerry Ketcham First Assistant Director
Directing David D'Ovidio Second Assistant Director
Production Daniel Schneider Unit Production Manager
Directing James M. Halty Second Unit Director
Sound Don Digirolamo Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Directing Mindy Dacus Script Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Lynne K. Eagan Key Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Cecilia Robinson Additional Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Cecilia Robinson Makeup Artist
Crew David Roessell Post Production Supervisor
Visual Effects Josh Hakian Special Effects Supervisor
Crew Eddie Surkin Special Effects Coordinator
Production Janet Cunningham Extras Casting
Production Megan McConnell Casting Assistant
Editing Debra Chiate Additional Editor
Editing Ofe Yi First Assistant Editor
Editing F. Scott Taylor Assistant Editor
Costume & Make-Up Melissa Merwin Key Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Wendy Range Set Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Cheri Reed Wardrobe Assistant
Costume & Make-Up Dionne Oliver Wardrobe Assistant
Crew Joel Renfro Transportation Coordinator
Crew Craig Hill Transportation Captain
Art Nat Bocking Assistant Property Master
Art Chris Carriveau Art Department Assistant
Art Jonathan R. Hodges Property Master
Art Roger Kelton Construction Coordinator
Art Ritchie Kremer Leadman
Art Wade Mayer Construction Foreman
Art Quinn Monahan Set Dresser
Art Ted Baumgart Set Designer
Art Keith Slover Art Department Assistant
Art Bernie Horn-Bostel Swing
Art Robert Strohmaier Set Designer
Art Ken Van Gelder Swing
Art Bernard Vyzga Set Designer
Crew Richard F. Anderson Carpenter
Art Kathleen B. Cooper Painter
Art Stephen Tibbo Swing
Art Robert Strohmaier Draughtsman
Sound Katherine Becker Sound Assistant
Sound Fred Cipriano Sound Effects Editor
Sound Lawrence L. Commans Boom Operator
Sound John Haeny Sound Effects Editor
Sound Robin Harlan Foley Artist
Sound J. Paul Huntsman Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Douglas Greenfield Dolby Consultant
Sound Samuel F. Kaufman Sound Recordist
Sound Andrea Lakin Sound Recordist
Sound Pat McCormick Dialogue Editor
Sound Bruce P. Michaels ADR Editor
Sound Sarah Monat Foley Artist
Sound Steve Pederson Foley Mixer
Sound Mortesa Rezvani Sound Mixer
Sound Matthew Sawelson Dialogue Editor
Sound Paul A. Sharpe Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Brad Sherman Dialogue Editor
Sound Joel Valentine Sound Effects Editor
Sound Bob Weitz Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Art Celia Mercer Graphic Designer
Crew Sandy Berumen Stunts
Crew Clay Boss Stunts
Camera John Boccaccio First Assistant Camera
Crew Janet Brady Stunts
Crew Jophery C. Brown Stunts
Crew Gilbert B. Combs Stunts
Crew James M. Halty Stunt Coordinator
Crew Jim Connors Stunts
Crew Steve Cremin Stunts
Crew Kerrie Cullen Stunts
Crew Jeffrey J. Dashnaw Stunts
Crew Steve M. Davison Stunts
Crew Andree Gibbs Stunts
Crew Billy Hank Hooker Stunts
Crew Tommy J. Huff Stunts
Crew Joyce Kurtz Stunts
Crew Daryle Ann Lindley Stunts
Crew Virginia Loridans Stunts
Crew John C. Meier Stunts
Crew Paula Moody Stunts
Crew Larry Nicholas Stunts
Crew Steve Picerni Stunts
Crew Bobby Porter Stunts
Crew George A. Sack Jr. Stunts
Crew Mitch Stein Stunts
Camera Frank Byers Camera Operator
Lighting Michael Evans Electrician
Lighting Michael Gall Electrician
Camera Craig Hosking Aerial Director of Photography
Lighting Wes Houle Electrician
Camera Bob Leitelt Dolly Grip
Lighting Dennis J. Lootens Best Boy Electric
Camera Willie Mann Best Boy Grip
Lighting Chris Morley Gaffer
Camera Ryan Nellis Still Photographer
Camera Vince Onken Grip
Camera Richard Osborn Jr. Assistant Camera
Camera Les Percy Key Grip
Camera Charles Schner Second Assistant Camera
Camera Charles Smith Grip
Camera Chuck Wentworth Aerial Director of Photography
Production Harry Middleton Location Manager
Editing John Nicolard Color Timer
Crew Tony Angellotti Unit Publicist
Crew Brandon Barrad Stand In
Crew Stacey Rogne Stand In
Crew Matthew Hallett Stand In
Production Sue Bea Montgomery Production Assistant
Crew Dayv Brooks Technical Advisor
Crew Kim Burke Animal Wrangler
Crew David Combs Studio Teacher
Production John Glaeser Assistant Production Coordinator
Production Robin Greer Production Assistant
Crew Lou Anne Harrison Craft Service
Production Beth Hickman Production Coordinator
Crew Christine Kirby Craft Service
Production Suzanne Lutz Production Assistant
Production Maria Mastras Production Assistant
Crew William Novak Technical Advisor
Crew Barry M. Parker Clearances Consultant
Production Michele Pierce Production Assistant
Crew Antonio Ramirez Assistant Chef
Crew Peter Rathje Set Medic
Crew Luis Rodriguez Chef
Art Rance Barela Production Illustrator
Production Adam Spilkoman Production Assistant
Crew Andy Spilkoman Set Production Assistant
Crew Lori-Etta Taub Production Controller
Production Harold Topolsky Production Assistant