Hotel Rwanda

Hotel Rwanda (2004)

When the world closed its eyes, he opened his arms.

  • Genre: Drama, History, War
  • Release Date: 2004-12-22
  • User Rating: 7.7/10 from 2730 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 1min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Lionsgate
  • Production Country: Italy, South Africa, United Kingdom, United States of America
  • Director: Terry George
star 7.7/10
From 2,730 Ratings


Inspired by true events, this film takes place in Rwanda in the 1990s when more than a million Tutsis were killed in a genocide that went mostly unnoticed by the rest of the world. Hotel owner Paul Rusesabagina houses over a thousand refuges in his hotel in attempt to save their lives.

Hotel Rwanda Trailer

Is Hotel Rwanda on Netflix?

Is Hotel Rwanda on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie Hotel Rwanda is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when Hotel Rwanda becomes available on Netflix!

  • Don Cheadle

    as Paul Rusesabagina
  • Sophie Okonedo

    as Tatiana Rusesabagina
  • Nick Nolte

    as Colonel Oliver
  • Fana Mokoena

    as General Bizimungu
  • Joaquin Phoenix

    as Jack Daglish
  • Jean Reno

    as Sabena Airlines President, Mr. Tillens
  • Desmond Dube

    as Dube
  • Ofentse Modiselle

    as Roger Rusesabagina
  • Mathabo Pieterson

    as Diane Rusesabagina
  • Hakeem Kae-Kazim

    as George Rutaganda
  • Tony Kgoroge

    as Gregoire
  • Lebo Mashile

    as Odette
  • Antonio David Lyons

    as Thomas Mirama
  • Leleti Khumalo

    as Fedens
  • Neil McCarthy

    as Jean Jacques
  • Mabutho 'Kid' Sithole

    as Head Chef
  • Jeremiah Ndlovu

    as Old Guard
  • Mosa Kaiser

    as Elys Rusesabagina
  • David O'Hara

    as David
  • Lennox Mathabathe

    as Peter
  • Mothusi Magano

    as Benedict
  • Simo Mogwaza

    as Hutu Captain
  • Cara Seymour

    as Pat Archer
  • Roberto Citran

    as Priest
  • Mduduzi Mabaso

    as Hutu Lieutenant
  • Harriet Lenabe

    as Alice the Waitress
  • Xolani Mali

    as Policeman
  • Rosie Motene

    as Receptionist
Directing Terry George Director
Writing Keir Pearson Author
Writing Terry George Author
Sound Rupert Gregson-Williams Original Music Composer
Camera Robert Fraisse Director of Photography
Editing Naomi Geraghty Editor
Production A. Kitman Ho Producer
Sound Martin Russell Original Music Composer
Production Moonyeenn Lee Casting
Production Richard Pagano Casting
Art Johnny Breedt Production Design
Art Tony Burrough Production Design
Sound Andrea Guerra Original Music Composer
Writing Keir Pearson Screenplay
Writing Terry George Screenplay
Production Terry George Producer
Production Sally French Line Producer
Production Roberto Cicutto Executive Producer
Production Sarah Trevis Casting
Art Emma MacDevitt Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Ruy Filipe Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Tania Brooke Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Suzanne Stokes-Munton Hair Department Head
Crew Alistair Hopkins Post Production Supervisor
Crew Graham Press Stunt Coordinator
Production Vanessa Baker Casting
Production Brendan Donnison Casting
Production Belinda Kruger Casting Associate
Directing Lisa Vick Script Supervisor
Editing Nicci Van Niekerk Assistant Editor
Editing Kenny Becker Color Timer
Camera Blid Alsbirk Still Photographer
Camera Vincent G. Cox Camera Operator
Production Paula Jalfon Unit Production Manager
Costume & Make-Up Suzanne Belcher Makeup Department Head
Production Duncan Reid Executive Producer
Production Hal Sadoff Executive Producer
Production Martin Katz Executive Producer
Production Sam Bhembe Executive Producer
Production Francesco Melzi d'Eril Executive Producer
Production Keir Pearson Co-Executive Producer
Production Nicolas Meyer Co-Executive Producer
Production Izidore Codron Co-Executive Producer
Production Bridget Pickering Co-Producer
Production Luigi Musini Co-Producer
Production A. Kitman Ho Unit Production Manager
Directing Lionel Steketee First Assistant Director
Directing Alex Oakley Second Assistant Director
Directing A. Kitman Ho Second Unit Director
Sound Tom Johnson Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Doug Cooper Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound John Midgley Production Sound Mixer
Camera Kevin Jewison "A" Camera Operator
Camera Deon Vermeulen "B" Camera Operator
Camera Deon Vermeulen Steadicam Operator
Production Alistair Thompson Production Accountant
Production Elaine Burt Production Coordinator
Lighting Bruce Thomas Chief Lighting Technician
Camera Charl Phyfer Key Grip
Sound Andy Kennedy Sound Effects Editor
Sound Nigel Stone Dialogue Editor
Sound Nick Lowe ADR Editor
Sound Conor Mackey ADR Editor
Sound Mike Wood Foley Editor
Sound Andie Derrick Foley Artist
Sound Peter Burgis Foley Artist
Sound Paul Carr Foley Mixer
Sound Mark Paterson Foley Mixer
Sound June Prinz Boom Operator
Sound David Sutton Boom Operator
Sound Michael Connell Music Editor
Visual Effects Gavin Meadon Special Effects Supervisor
Crew David Mahlangu Special Effects Coordinator
Production Jane Trower First Assistant Accountant
Sound Guy Fletcher Sound Mixer