The Odessa File

The Odessa File (1974)

Hamburg, Germany. 1963. Peter Miller is going inside the dreaded Odessa. More than a few people hope he doesn't get out... ever.

  • Genre: Thriller
  • Release Date: 1974-10-17
  • User Rating: 6.6/10 from 172 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 10min
  • Language: Deutsch
  • Production Company: John Woolf Productions
  • Production Country: Germany, United Kingdom
  • Director: Ronald Neame
star 6.6/10
From 172 Ratings


Following the suicide of an elderly Jewish man, investigative journalist Peter Miller sets out to hunt down an SS Captain and former concentration camp commander. In doing so he discovers that, despite allegations of war crimes, the former commander has become a man of importance in industry in post-war Germany, protected from prosecution by a powerful organisation of former SS members called Odessa.

The Odessa File Trailer

Is The Odessa File on Netflix?

Is The Odessa File on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie The Odessa File is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Odessa File becomes available on Netflix!

  • Jon Voight

    as Peter Miller
  • Maximilian Schell

    as Eduard Roschmann
  • Maria Schell

    as Frau Miller
  • Mary Tamm

    as Sigi
  • Derek Jacobi

    as Klaus Wenzer
  • Peter Jeffrey

    as David Porath
  • Klaus Löwitsch

    as Gustav Mackensen
  • Kurt Meisel

    as Alfred Oster
  • Hannes Messemer

    as General Glücks
  • Garfield Morgan

    as Israeli General
  • Shmuel Rodensky

    as Simon Wiesenthal
  • Ernst Schröder

    as Werner Deilmann
  • Günter Strack

    as Kunik
  • Noel Willman

    as Franz Bayer
  • Martin Brandt

    as Marx
  • Hans Caninenberg

    as Dr. Ferdinand Schultz
  • Heinz Ehrenfreund

    as Shapira
  • Alexander Golling

    as Colonel
  • Towje Kleiner

    as Salomon Tauber
  • Günter Meisner

    as General Greifer
  • Gunnar Möller

    as Karl Braun
  • Elisabeth Neumann-Viertel

    as Frau Wenzer
  • Christine Wodetzky

    as Gisela
  • Werner Bruhns

    as Hoffmann
  • Til Kiwe

    as Medal Shop Proprietor
  • Georg Marischka

    as Prosecution Attorney
  • Dietmar Mues

    as Wehrmacht Captain
  • Hans Wyprächtiger

    as Landlord
  • Cyril Shaps

    as Tauber's Voice (voice)
  • Alexander Allerson

    as Dr. Ratinger (uncredited)
  • Walter Feuchtenberg

    as Butler (uncredited)
  • Herbert Fux

    as Makeup Man (uncredited)
  • Michael Gahr

    as Officer (uncredited)
  • Nadia Henkowa

    as Israeli Secretary (uncredited)
  • Wolfgang Lukschy

    as Sturmbannführer Kranz (uncredited)
  • Miriam Mahler

    as Esther Tauber (uncredited)
  • Volker Prechtel

    as Günther Kolb (uncredited)
  • Henning Schlüter

    as Ludwig Erhard (uncredited)
  • Oskar Werner

    as Wehrmacht Officer (uncredited)
  • Jean-Pierre Zola

    as Landlord (uncredited)
Directing Ronald Neame Director
Directing Wieland Liebske Assistant Director
Costume & Make-Up Monika Bauert Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Susi Krause Hairstylist
Crew Richard Richtsfeld Special Effects
Writing George Markstein Screenplay
Camera Oswald Morris Director of Photography
Production Jenia Reissar Casting
Production John Woolf Producer
Directing Colin M. Brewer First Assistant Director
Crew Osman Ragheb Dialect Coach
Production Leonhard Gmür Location Manager
Production Pia Arnold Production Supervisor
Art Werner Achmann Construction Coordinator
Editing Ralph Kemplen Editor
Costume & Make-Up Raimund Stangl Makeup Artist
Production Dietmar Siegert Location Manager
Production Renate Neuchl Casting
Sound Derek Ball Sound Recordist
Sound Gordon K. McCallum Sound Recordist
Camera Atze Glanert Second Unit Director of Photography
Writing Frederick Forsyth Novel
Costume & Make-Up Ille Sievers Wardrobe Supervisor
Writing John Rosenberg Script Editor
Production John R. Sloan Co-Producer
Writing Kenneth Ross Screenplay
Directing Elaine Schreyeck Continuity
Production Dieter Meyer Location Manager
Camera Jimmy Turrell Camera Operator
Sound Leslie Hodgson Sound Editor
Editing Marcel Durham Assistant Editor
Sound Andrew Lloyd Webber Original Music Composer
Sound Anthony Bowles Conductor
Production Rolf Zehetbauer Production Designer
Crew Vic Armstrong Stunt Double