The Fountainhead

The Fountainhead (1949)

No Man Takes What's Mine!

  • Genre: Drama, Romance
  • Release Date: 1949-06-25
  • User Rating: 6.9/10 from 133 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 52min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Warner Bros. Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: King Vidor
star 6.9/10
From 133 Ratings


An uncompromising, visionary architect struggles to maintain his integrity and individualism despite personal, professional and economic pressures to conform to popular standards.

The Fountainhead Trailer

Is The Fountainhead on Netflix?

Is The Fountainhead on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie The Fountainhead is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Fountainhead becomes available on Netflix!

  • Gary Cooper

    as Howard Roark
  • Patricia Neal

    as Dominique Francon
  • Raymond Massey

    as Gail Wynand
  • Kent Smith

    as Peter Keating
  • Robert Douglas

    as Elsworth Toohey
  • Henry Hull

    as Henry Cameron
  • Ray Collins

    as Roger Enright
  • Moroni Olsen

    as Chairman
  • Jerome Cowan

    as Alvah Scarret
  • Bob Alden

    as Newsboy (uncredited)
  • John Alvin

    as Young Intellectual (uncredited)
  • Morris Ankrum

    as Prosecutor (uncredited)
  • Lois Austin

    as Female Party Guest (uncredited)
  • Griff Barnett

    as Judge (uncredited)
  • Monte Blue

    as Gas Station Executive (uncredited)
  • Gail Bonney

    as Woman (uncredited)
  • Ralph Brooks

    as Courtroom Spectator (uncredited)
  • Glen Cavender

    as Pedestrian Onlooker (uncredited)
  • Dorothy Christy

    as Society Woman (uncredited)
  • Tris Coffin

    as Toohey's Secretary (uncredited)
  • Tom Coleman

    as Court Clerk (uncredited)
  • G. Pat Collins

    as Jury Foreman (uncredited)
  • James Conaty

    as Party Guest (uncredited)
  • Bill Dagwell

    as Banner Shipping Clerk (uncredited)
  • Ann Doran

    as Wynand's Secretary (uncredited)
  • Lester Dorr

    as Minor Role (uncredited)
  • John Doucette

    as Gus Webb (uncredited)
  • Jay Eaton

    as Party Guest (uncredited)
  • Estelle Etterre

    as Woman at Enright party (uncredited)
  • Charles Evans

    as Banner Board Member (uncredited)
  • Raoul Freeman

    as Juror (uncredited)
  • Roy Gordon

    as Vice-President (uncredited)
  • William Haade

    as Worker (uncredited)
  • Creighton Hale

    as Court Clerk (uncredited)
  • Jonathan Hale

    as Guy Francon (uncredited)
  • Thurston Hall

    as Businessman at Party (uncredited)
  • Sam Harris

    as Board Member / Courtroom Spectator (uncredited)
  • Paul Harvey

    as Opera Businessman (uncredited)
  • Henry Hebert

    as Juror (uncredited)
  • Russell Hicks

    as Banner Board Member (uncredited)
  • Bert Howard

    as Board Member (uncredited)
  • Selmer Jackson

    as Cortlandt Official (uncredited)
  • Fred Kelsey

    as Old Watchman (uncredited)
  • Douglas Kennedy

    as Reporter (uncredited)
  • Raymond Largay

    as Director (uncredited)
  • Philo McCullough

    as Bailiff (uncredited)
  • Harold Miller

    as Party Guest (uncredited)
  • Boyd 'Red' Morgan

    as Jury Member (uncredited)
  • Jack Mower

    as Construction Foreman (uncredited)
  • Paul Newlan

    as Policeman (uncredited)
  • Albert Petit

    as Board Member (uncredited)
  • Lee Phelps

    as Juror (uncredited)
  • Bob Reeves

    as Juror (uncredited)
  • Almira Sessions

    as Dominique's Housekeeper at Quarry (uncredited)
  • George Sherwood

    as Policeman (uncredited)
  • Paul Stanton

    as Dean Who Expels Roark (uncredited)
  • Larry Steers

    as Party Guest (uncredited)
  • Ruthelma Stevens

    as Roark's Secretary (uncredited)
  • Charles Trowbridge

    as Director (uncredited)
  • Tito Vuolo

    as Pasquale Orsini (uncredited)
  • Geraldine Wall

    as Woman (uncredited)
  • Harlan Warde

    as Young Man (uncredited)
  • Pierre Watkin

    as Cortlandt Official (uncredited)
  • Leo White

    as Pedestrian Onlooker (uncredited)
  • Josephine Whittell

    as Hostess (uncredited)
  • Frank Wilcox

    as Gordon Prescott (uncredited)
  • Isabel Withers

    as Secretary (uncredited)
  • Harry Woods

    as Quarry Superintendent (uncredited)
  • John Alban

    as Courtroom Spectator (uncredited)
  • George Blagoi

    as Rally Spectator (uncredited)
Directing King Vidor Director
Writing Ayn Rand Screenplay
Writing Ayn Rand Novel
Production Henry Blanke Producer
Sound Max Steiner Original Music Composer
Camera Robert Burks Director of Photography
Editing David Weisbart Editor
Costume & Make-Up John Wallace Makeup Artist
Art Edward Carrere Art Direction
Art William L. Kuehl Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Perc Westmore Makeup Artist
Sound Oliver S. Garretson Sound