The King of Comedy

The King of Comedy (1982)

It's no laughing matter.

  • Genre: Drama, Comedy
  • Release Date: 1982-12-18
  • User Rating: 7.7/10 from 2186 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 49min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Embassy International Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Martin Scorsese
star 7.8/10
From 2,186 Ratings


Aspiring comic Rupert Pupkin attempts to achieve success in show business by stalking his idol, a late night talk-show host who craves his own privacy.

The King of Comedy Trailer

Is The King of Comedy on Netflix?

Is The King of Comedy on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie The King of Comedy is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The King of Comedy becomes available on Netflix!

  • Robert De Niro

    as Rupert Pupkin
  • Jerry Lewis

    as Jerry Langford
  • Sandra Bernhard

    as Masha
  • Diahnne Déa

    as Rita Keane
  • Shelley Hack

    as Cathy Long
  • Frederick de Cordova

    as Bert Thomas
  • Kim Chan

    as Jonno
  • Ed Herlihy

    as Himself
  • Lou Brown

    as Band Leader
  • Margo Winkler

    as Receptionist
  • Ralph Monaco

    as Raymond Wirtz
  • Catherine Scorsese

    as Rupert's Mom (voice)
  • Cathy Scorsese

    as Dolores
  • Loretta Tupper

    as Stage Door Fan
  • Peter Potulski

    as Stage Door Fan
  • Vinnie Gonzales

    as Stage Door Fan
  • Whitey Ryan

    as Stage Door Guard
  • Doc Lawless

    as Chauffeur
  • Marta Heflin

    as Young Girl
  • Chuck Low

    as Man in Chinese Restaurant
  • Katherine Wallach

    as Autograph Seeker
  • Charles Kaleina

    as Autograph Seeker
  • Richard Baratz

    as Caricaturist
  • Leslie Levinson

    as Roberta Posner
  • Alan Potashnick

    as Man at Telephone
  • Michael Kolba

    as Man at Telephone
  • Robert Colston

    as Man at Telephone
  • Ramon Rodriguez

    as Man at Telephone
  • Chuck Coop

    as Man at Telephone
  • Sel Vitella

    as Man at Telephone
  • Tony Boschetti

    as Mr. Gangemi
  • Tony Randall

    as Himself
  • Jay Julien

    as Langford's Lawyer
  • Joe Strummer

    as Street Scum
  • Paul Simonon

    as Street Scum
  • Kosmo Vinyl

    as Street Scum
  • Ellen Foley

    as Street Scum
  • Pearl Harbour

    as Street Scum
  • Gaby Salter

    as Street Scum
  • Jerry Baxter-Worman

    as Street Scum
  • Don Letts

    as Street Scum
  • Matt Russo

    as Cabbie
  • Thelma Lee

    as Woman in Telephone Booth
  • Joyce Brothers

    as Herself
  • Bill Minkin

    as McCabe
  • George Kapp

    as Mystery Guest
  • Victor Borge

    as Himself
  • Rob-Jamere Wess

    as Security Guard
  • Audrey Dummett

    as Cook
  • June Prud'Homme

    as Audrey
  • Edgar J. Scherick

    as Wilson Crockett
  • Thomas M. Tolan

    as Gerrity
  • Ray Dittrich

    as Giardello
  • Richard Dioguardi

    as Captain Burke
  • Harry J. Ufland

    as Langford's Agent
  • Scotty Bloch

    as Crockett's Secretary
  • Jim Lyness

    as Ticket Taker
  • Diane Rachell

    as McCabe's Wife
  • Dennis Mulligan

    as Plainclothesman
  • Tony Devon

    as Plainclothesman
  • Peter Fain

    as Plainclothesman
  • Michael F. Stodden

    as Plainclothesman
  • Gerard Murphy

    as Plainclothesman
  • Jimmy Raitt

    as Stage Manager
  • Martin Scorsese

    as TV Director
  • Charles Scorsese

    as First Man at Bar
  • Mardik Martin

    as Second Man at Bar
  • William Jorgensen

    as Newsman (voice)
  • Marvin Scott

    as Newsman (voice)
  • Chuck Stevens

    as Newsman (voice)
  • William Littauer

    as Newsman (voice)
  • Jeff David

    as Announcer (voice)
  • Mick Jones

    as Street Scum
  • Liza Minnelli

    as Liza Minnelli
Production Arnon Milchan Producer
Camera Fred Schuler Director of Photography
Editing Thelma Schoonmaker Editor
Production Cis Corman Casting
Art Boris Leven Production Design
Sound Robbie Robertson Original Music Composer
Costume & Make-Up Richard Bruno Costume Design
Art Edward Pisoni Art Direction
Art Lawrence Miller Art Direction
Production Robert F. Colesberry Associate Producer
Sound Robbie Robertson Music Producer
Production Thelma Schoonmaker Production Supervisor
Production Robert Greenhut Executive Producer
Writing Paul D. Zimmerman Writer
Production Robert F. Colesberry Production Manager
Directing Lewis Gould Second Assistant Director
Sound Frank E. Warner Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Tom Fleischman Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Art Dan Perri Title Designer
Sound Vito L. Ilardi Boom Operator
Editing Donah Bassett Negative Cutter
Lighting William Ward Gaffer
Lighting James Fitzpatrick Best Boy Electric
Crew Harold 'Whitey' McEvoy Transportation Captain
Sound Les Lazarowitz Sound Mixer
Crew Edward Garzero Scenic Artist
Art Jimmy Raitt Property Master
Camera Norman Buck Key Grip
Art George DeTitta Sr. Set Decoration
Art Daniel Robert Set Decoration
Directing Roberta Hodes Script Supervisor
Camera Dick Mingalone Camera Operator
Camera Sandy Brooke First Assistant Camera
Camera Ricki-Ellen Brooke Second Assistant Camera
Camera Lorey Sebastian Still Photographer
Camera Garrett Brown Steadicam Operator
Camera Ted Churchill Steadicam Operator
Crew Carlos Quiles Carpenter
Art Joe Williams Sr. Construction Grip
Costume & Make-Up Mary Ellen Winston Assistant Costume Designer
Costume & Make-Up William Loger Costume Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Philip Goldblat Makeup Artist
Editing Richard Candib First Assistant Editor
Sound Dick Vorisek Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Production Amy Sayres Location Coordinator
Crew Barbara De Fina Post Production Supervisor
Production Sylvia Fay Extras Casting
Editing Robert Raring Color Timer
Directing Martin Scorsese Director
Costume & Make-Up Lyndell Quiyou Hairstylist
Production Shelley Houis Production Office Coordinator
Directing Scott Maitland First Assistant Director