The Secret of Kells

The Secret of Kells (2009)

Turn the darkness into light

  • Genre: Animation, Family, Fantasy
  • Release Date: 2009-02-09
  • User Rating: 7.4/10 from 583 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 15min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Cartoon Saloon
  • Production Country: Belgium, France, Ireland
  • Directors: Tomm Moore, Nora Twomey.
star 7.4/10
From 583 Ratings


Adventure awaits 12 year old Brendan who must fight Vikings and a serpent god to find a crystal and complete the legendary Book of Kells. In order to finish Brother Aiden's book, Brendan must overcome his deepest fears on a secret quest that will take him beyond the abbey walls and into the enchanted forest where dangerous mythical creatures hide. Will Brendan succeed in his quest?

The Secret of Kells Trailer

Is The Secret of Kells on Netflix?

Is The Secret of Kells on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie The Secret of Kells is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Secret of Kells becomes available on Netflix!

  • Evan McGuire

    as Brendan (voice)
  • Christen Mooney

    as Aisling (voice)
  • Brendan Gleeson

    as Abbot Cellach (voice)
  • Mick Lally

    as Aidan (voice)
  • Liam Hourican

    as Brother Tang / Leonardo (voice)
  • Paul Tylak

    as Brother Assoua (voice)
  • Michael McGrath

    as Adult Brendan (voice)
  • Paul Young

    as Brother Square (voice)
  • Nora Twomey

    as Additional Voices and Walla (voice)
  • Alli McCann

    as Additional Voices and Walla (voice)
  • Clair Funchion

    as Additional Voices and Walla (voice)
  • Conor O'Halloran

    as Additional Voices and Walla (voice)
  • Gaelle Hersent

    as Additional Voices and Walla (voice)
  • Marie Thorhauge

    as Additional Voices and Walla (voice)
  • Sean Lennon

    as Additional Voices and Walla (voice)
  • Jonas Hoffmann

    as Additional Voices and Walla (voice)
  • Fabian Erlinghäuser

    as Additional Voices and Walla (voice)
  • Kairen Waloch

    as Additional Voices and Walla (voice)
  • James William O'Halloran

    as Additional Voices and Walla (voice)
Sound Bruno Coulais Original Music Composer
Crew Brendan McCarthy Thanks
Production Didier Brunner Producer
Production Viviane Vanfleteren Producer
Crew Rod Stoneman Thanks
Directing Tomm Moore Director
Directing Nora Twomey Director
Writing Fabrice Ziolkowski Screenplay
Writing Fabrice Ziolkowski Writer
Sound Kila Music
Crew Pierre Héros Thanks
Production Eric Goossens Executive In Charge Of Production
Crew Fx Goby Thanks
Art Adi Merigeau Background Designer
Production James Flynn Executive Producer
Crew Jean-Luc Fromental Thanks
Sound Slim Pezin Music Supervisor
Sound Slim Pezin Musician
Sound Colm Ó'Snodaigh Musician
Camera Rémi Chayé Second Unit Director of Photography
Directing Rémi Chayé First Assistant Director
Crew David Max Freedman Thanks
Production Isabelle Truc Executive In Charge Of Production
Sound Alexandre Fleurant Sound Editor
Sound Sébastien Marquilly Sound Designer
Sound Sébastien Marquilly Sound Editor
Visual Effects Pascal Vermeersch Animation
Editing Fabienne Alvarez-Giro Editor
Crew Claire Paoletti Thanks
Visual Effects Darko Belevski Animation Supervisor
Production Camille Leganza Executive In Charge Of Production
Visual Effects Fabian Erlinghäuser Animation Supervisor
Visual Effects Lorraine Lordan Animation
Visual Effects Freek Quartier 3D Animator
Visual Effects Tom Caulfield Animation
Art Ross Stewart Art Direction
Visual Effects Pieter Vanluffelen Animation
Production Paul Young Producer
Production Armelle Glorennec Production Coordinator
Sound Lance Hogan Musician
Production Ross Murray Executive In Charge Of Production
Crew Emmanuel Delétang Executive Music Producer
Production Marcelo Fernandes De Moura Production Manager
Visual Effects Alessandra Sorrentino Animation
Visual Effects Alfredo Cassano Animation
Visual Effects Jeremy Purcell Animation
Crew Roxanne Burchartz Thanks
Crew Sarah Carmody Thanks
Crew Eleni Chandrinou Thanks
Crew Jean-Paul Commin Thanks
Crew Louise Curran Thanks
Crew Caroline Cor Thanks
Crew Siebe Dumon Thanks
Crew Hans Everaert Thanks
Crew Aidan Harte Thanks
Crew Stéphanie Hugé Thanks
Crew Jonas Kestemont Thanks
Crew Naomi Kestemont Thanks
Crew Nessa King Thanks
Crew Brendan McCaul Thanks
Crew Barry O'Donoghue Thanks
Crew Karla Puttemans Thanks
Crew Philippe Reynaert Thanks
Crew Danielle Raaphorst Thanks
Crew Patrick Schoeters Thanks
Crew Sjef Scholte Thanks
Crew Inge Verroken Thanks
Crew Sara Wikler Thanks
Crew Mark Woods Thanks
Production Ivan Rouvreure Executive Producer
Visual Effects Dominique Gantois 3D Animator
Visual Effects Samuel Brasseur 3D Animator
Visual Effects Pierre Cambier 3D Animator
Visual Effects Olivia Carpentier 3D Animator
Visual Effects Francis Combes 3D Animator
Visual Effects Tom Van Gestel 3D Animator
Production Lydie Tedesco Administration
Production Serge Colibert Administration
Production Jérôme Larivet Administration
Visual Effects Herle Maria Kühl Animation Supervisor
Visual Effects Marie-Laure Guisset Animation Supervisor
Visual Effects Benoît Féroumont Animation Supervisor
Visual Effects Jean Morel Animation
Visual Effects Lionel Marchand Animation
Visual Effects Caroline Piochon Animation
Visual Effects Barry Reynolds Animation
Visual Effects Jean-Baptiste Vendamme Animation
Visual Effects Andrzej Radka Animation
Visual Effects Dani Alcaraz Animation
Visual Effects David Bols Animation
Visual Effects Vanessa Crahay Animation
Visual Effects Michele De Feudis Animation
Visual Effects Joke Eycken Animation
Visual Effects Elie Klimis Animation
Visual Effects Corinne Kuyl Animation
Visual Effects Pascal Maoloni Animation
Visual Effects Rudi Mertens Animation
Visual Effects Hermien Verstraete Animation
Visual Effects Eve Guastella Key Animation
Art Aurélie Bernard Background Designer
Sound Jean-Philippe Audin Musician
Sound Rossa Ó'Snodaigh Musician
Sound Eoin Dillon Musician
Sound Dee Armstrong Musician
Production Eric Jacquot Production Coordinator
Production Anton Roebben Production Coordinator
Production Edit Sándor Production Manager
Sound Sébastien Cortequisse Sound Editor
Sound Maxime Lefevre Sound Engineer
Crew Marcos Alessandro da Col Systems Administrators & Support
Art Jonas Hoffmann Title Designer
Crew Paul Lavergne Executive Music Producer
Production Audrey O'Brien Production Coordinator
Sound Fabien Devillers Sound Re-Recording Mixer