9 Songs

9 Songs (2004)

2 lovers, one summer, and the 9 songs that defined them.

  • Genre: Drama, Music, Romance
  • Release Date: 2004-07-16
  • User Rating: 5.6/10 from 503 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 9min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Revolution Films
  • Production Country: United Kingdom
  • Director: Michael Winterbottom
star 5.6/10
From 503 Ratings


Matt, a young glaciologist, soars across the vast, silent, icebound immensities of the South Pole as he recalls his love affair with Lisa. They meet at a mobbed rock concert in a vast music hall - London's Brixton Academy. They are in bed at night's end. Together, over a period of several months, they pursue a mutual sexual passion whose inevitable stages unfold in counterpoint to nine live-concert songs.

9 Songs Trailer

Is 9 Songs on Netflix?

Is 9 Songs on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie 9 Songs is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when 9 Songs becomes available on Netflix!

  • Kieran O'Brien

    as Matt
  • Margo Stilley

    as Lisa
  • Courtney Taylor-Taylor

    as Himself - The Dandy Warhols (uncredited)
  • Alex Kapranos

    as Himself - Franz Ferdinand (uncredited)
  • Guy Garvey

    as Himself - Elbow (uncredited)
  • Robert Levon Been

    as Himself - Black Rebel Motorcycle Club (uncredited)
  • Peter Hayes

    as Himself - Black Rebel Motorcycle Club (uncredited)
  • Gruff Rhys

    as Himself - Super Furry Animals (uncredited)
  • Jason Stollsteimer

    as Himself - The Von Bondies (uncredited)
  • Marcie Bolen

    as Herself - The Von Bondies (uncredited)
  • Michael Nyman

    as Himself (uncredited)
  • Bobby Gillespie

    as Himself - Primal Scream (uncredited)
Camera Marcel Zyskind Director of Photography
Production Andrew Eaton Producer
Production Steve Daly Casting
Directing Michael Winterbottom Director
Production Michael Winterbottom Producer
Editing Mat Whitecross Editor
Production Julie Dunne Casting
Editing Michael Winterbottom Editor
Production Melissa Parmenter Associate Producer
Production Martyn Richmond Production Assistant
Sound Stuart Wilson Sound
Sound Joakim Sundström Sound Editor
Camera Mat Whitecross Additional Camera
Camera Annemarie Lean-Vercoe Additional Camera
Sound Richard Davey Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Rashad Omar Additional Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Alan Cridford Additional Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Tristan Anika Additional Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Production Fiona McGuire Head of Production
Production Molly Tudhope Production Assistant
Production Jethro Harris Post Producer
Production Helen Phelps Post Producer
Editing Ross Baker Colorist
Editing Cas Casey Online Editor
Crew Layla Evans Post Production Supervisor
Crew Reno Antoniades Legal Services
Crew Boyd Harvey Other
Crew Michel Houellebecq Thanks
Crew Michael Nyman Thanks
Writing Michael Winterbottom Writer