Personal Best

Personal Best (1982)

When you run into yourself you run into feelings you never thought you had

  • Genre: Drama
  • Release Date: 1982-02-05
  • User Rating: 5.9/10 from 39 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 4min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Geffen Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Robert Towne
star 5.9/10
From 39 Ratings


Young sprinter Chris Cahill is having difficulty reaching her potential as an athlete, until she meets established track star Tory Skinner. As Tory and her coach help Chris with her training, the two women form friendship that evolves into a romantic relationship. Their intimacy, however, becomes complicated when Chris' improvement causes them to be competitors for the Olympic team.

Personal Best Trailer

Is Personal Best on Netflix?

Is Personal Best on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie Personal Best is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when Personal Best becomes available on Netflix!

  • Mariel Hemingway

    as Chris Cahill
  • Scott Glenn

    as Terry Tingloff
  • Patrice Donnelly

    as Tory Skinner
  • Kenny Moore

    as Denny Stites
  • Jim Moody

    as Roscoe Travis
  • Kari G. Peyton

    as Penny Brill
  • Jodi Anderson

    as Nadia "Pooch" Anderson
  • Maren Seidler

    as Tanya
  • Martha Watson

    as Sheila
  • Emily Dole

    as Maureen
  • Pam Spencer

    as Jan
  • Deby Laplante

    as Trish
  • Mitzi McMillin

    as Laura
  • Jan Glotzer

    as Karen
  • Jan Van Reenen

    as Yelovitch
  • Allan Feuerbach

    as Zenk
  • Jane Frederick

    as Fern Wadkins
  • Cindy Gilbert

    as Charlene Benveniste
  • Marlene Harmon

    as Pam Burnside
  • Linda Waltman

    as Debbie Floyd
  • Cindy Banks

    as Kim Stone
  • Milan Tiff

    as Willie Lee
  • Earl Bell

    as Randy Van Zile
  • Larry Pennell

    as Rick Cahill
  • Luana Anders

    as Rita Cahill
  • George De La Pena

    as Raoul
  • Robert Patten

    as Colin Sales
  • Margaret Ellison

    as Nellie Bowdeen
  • Charlie Jones

    as Television Announcer #1
  • Frank Shorter

    as Television Announcer #2
  • Jim Tracy

    as Duane
  • Janet Hake

    as Waitress
  • Sharon Brazell

    as Hostess
  • Susan Brownell

    as Women's Team Member
  • Desiree Gauthier

    as Women's Team Member
  • Sharon Hatfield

    as Women's Team Member
  • Linda Hightower

    as Women's Team Member
  • Joan Russell

    as Women's Team Member
  • Themis Zambrzycki

    as Women's Team Member
  • Clim Jackson

    as Men's Team Member
  • John Smith

    as Men's Team Member
  • Chuck DeBus

    as Coach
  • Gregory Clayton

    as Trainer
  • David Edington

    as Waiter
  • Robert Horn

    as Water Polo Coach
  • Wendell Ray

    as P.A. Announcer
  • Len Dawson

    as Football Announcer
  • Leroy R. Perry Jr.

    as Chiropractor
  • Richard Martini

    as Meet Manager
  • Andrew Traister

    as Olympic Official (uncredited)
  • Timothy M. Hill

    as Track Fan (uncredited)
  • Jim Vitti

    as Track Fan (uncredited)
  • Dave Wang

    as Track Fan (uncredited)
Directing Robert Towne Director
Production Robert Towne Producer
Writing Robert Towne Writer
Production Peter Peyton Associate Producer
Production David Geffen Executive Producer
Sound Jill Fraser Original Music Composer
Sound Jack Nitzsche Original Music Composer
Camera Michael Chapman Director of Photography
Art Ron Hobbs Production Design
Editing Jacqueline Cambas Editor
Editing Jere Huggins Editor
Editing Ned Humphreys Editor
Editing Walt Mulconery Editor
Editing Bud S. Smith Editor
Art Rick Simpson Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Ron Heilman Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Linda Henrikson Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Susan Germaine Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Karl Silvera Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Christina Smith Makeup Artist
Directing William S. Beasley Assistant Director
Directing Robert J. Doherty Second Assistant Director
Directing Regina Gordon Assistant Director Trainee
Directing Jerry Grandey Assistant Director
Directing Daniel J. Heffner Second Assistant Director
Directing Nikita Knatz Second Unit Director
Directing Michael Green Second Assistant Director
Art Barbara Adamski Assistant Property Master
Art Nikita Knatz Storyboard Artist
Art Howard McCormick Leadman
Art Keith McCormick Swing
Art Paul Rylander Assistant Property Master
Art Richard Valdez Swing
Art Steven Westlund Property Master
Crew Benjamin Resella Scenic Artist
Crew Dale Newkirk Special Effects
Crew Ken Speed Special Effects
Sound Gary Alexander Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Bruce Bisenz Sound Mixer
Sound Norval D. Crutcher Sound Editor
Sound Samuel C. Crutcher Sound Editor
Sound J. Paul Huntsman ADR Supervisor
Sound Chris Jenkins Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound John A. Larsen Sound Editor
Sound David Pettijohn Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Michael P. Redbourn Sound Editor
Sound Eric Shrader ADR Editor
Sound Jack Snyder Boom Operator
Sound Ben Sobin Utility Sound
Sound Larry Stensvold Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Douglas J. Schulman Other
Production Jeff Parguer Location Casting
Camera Eric D. Andersen Camera Operator
Camera John Boccaccio Assistant Camera
Lighting Doug Dale Best Boy Electric
Camera Don E. FauntLeRoy Assistant Camera
Camera Michael Genne Assistant Camera
Camera Alan Gornick Underwater Camera
Camera Cary Griffith Key Grip
Lighting Don Stott Gaffer
Camera Stephen Vaughan Still Photographer
Camera Johnny Walker Assistant Camera
Camera Lance Williams Camera Operator
Camera Bob Winger Grip
Camera Kenneth Zunder Assistant Camera
Camera Mike Chevalier Camera Operator
Camera Stephen V. Isbell Grip
Camera Robert Marta Camera Operator
Camera Michael E. Matteson Key Grip
Camera Randall Robinson First Assistant Camera
Editing Donah Bassett Negative Cutter
Editing Mike Dobie Assistant Editor
Editing Seth Flaum Assistant Editor
Editing Robert Lederman Assistant Editor
Editing Richard Ritchie Color Timer
Editing Bud S. Smith Supervising Editor
Editing Michael Tompane Assistant Editor
Sound Curt Sobel Music Editor
Production Philip Procter Assistant Location Manager
Directing Ray Quiroz Script Supervisor
Crew Alan Collis Transportation Coordinator
Crew Donald P. Desmond Transportation Captain
Crew Chuck DeBus Technical Advisor
Production Leah Brown Production Coordinator
Crew Patrice Donnelly Technical Advisor
Crew Jane Frederick Technical Advisor
Crew Jeff Freedman Unit Publicist
Crew Mitch Lewis Technical Advisor
Production Richard Martini Production Assistant
Crew Leroy R. Perry Jr. Technical Advisor
Production Ron Rapiel Production Consultant
Crew Kate Schmidt Technical Advisor
Crew B.J. Smith Set Medic
Crew Edward M. Taylor Other
Production Sheila A. Warner Production Coordinator