In Which We Serve

In Which We Serve (1942)

You'll Never Forget... In Which We Serve

  • Genre: Drama, War
  • Release Date: 1942-09-17
  • User Rating: 6.8/10 from 81 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 55min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Two Cities Films
  • Production Country: United Kingdom
  • Directors: David Lean, Noël Coward.
star 6.8/10
From 81 Ratings


The story of the HMS Torrin, from its construction to its sinking in the Mediterranean during action in World War II. The ship's first and only commanding officer is Captain E.V. Kinross, who trains his men not only to be loyal to him and the country, but—most importantly—to themselves.

In Which We Serve Trailer

Is In Which We Serve on Netflix?

Is In Which We Serve on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie In Which We Serve is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when In Which We Serve becomes available on Netflix!

  • Noël Coward

    as Captain E. V. Kinross R.N. / Captain 'D'
  • John Mills

    as Ordinary Seaman Blake / Shorty Blake
  • Bernard Miles

    as Chief Petty Officer Hardy / Walter Hardy
  • Celia Johnson

    as Mrs. Kinross / Alix
  • Kay Walsh

    as Freda Lewis / Freda
  • Joyce Carey

    as Mrs. Hardy / Kath
  • Derek Elphinstone

    as No. 1
  • Michael Wilding

    as Flags
  • Robert Sansom

    as Guns
  • Philip Friend

    as Torps
  • Chimmo Branson

    as Midshipman
  • Ballard Berkeley

    as Engineer Commander
  • Hubert Gregg

    as Pilot
  • James Donald

    as Doc
  • Michael Whittaker

    as Sub
  • Kenneth Carten

    as Sub-Lieutenant R.N.V.R.
  • John Varley

    as Secco
  • Caven Watson

    as Brodie
  • Geoffrey Hibbert

    as Joey Mackeridge
  • Richard Attenborough

    as Young Stoker
  • Frederick Piper

    as Edgecombe
  • Lionel Grose

    as Reynolds
  • Leslie Dwyer

    as Parkinson
  • Charles Russell

    as Fisher
  • John Singer

    as Moran
  • Robert Moreton

    as Coombe
  • John Boxer

    as Hollett
  • Kenneth Evans

    as Posty
  • Johnnie Schofield

    as Coxswain
  • Franklyn Bennett

    as Commander Spencer
  • Charles Compton

    as № 1. "Tremoyne"
  • Walter Fitzgerald

    as Colonel Lumsden
  • Gerald Case

    as Jasper
  • Daniel Massey

    as Bobby Kinross
  • Ann Stephens

    as Lavinia Kinross
  • Kathleen Harrison

    as Mrs. Blake
  • Dora Gregory

    as Mrs. Lemmon
  • Penelope Dudley-Ward

    as Maureen
  • Barbara Waring

    as Mrs. Macadoo
  • Eileen Peel

    as Mrs. Farrell
  • Lesley Osmond

    as Nell Fosdick
  • Josie Welford

    as Emily
  • Kay Young

    as Barmaid
  • Trixie Scales

    as Mona Duke
  • George Carney

    as Mr. Blake
  • Wally Patch

    as Uncle Fred
  • Michael Anderson

    as Albert Fosdick
  • Jill Stephens

    as May Blake
  • Everley Gregg

    as Nurse
  • Roddy Hughes

    as Photographer
  • Norman Pierce

    as Mr. Satterthwaite
  • Juliet Mills

    as Freda's Baby
  • Leslie Howard

    as Narrator (voice) (uncredited)
Directing David Lean Director
Directing Noël Coward Director
Writing Noël Coward Writer
Sound Noël Coward Music
Editing Thelma Connell Editor
Production Noël Coward Producer
Production Herbert Smith Producer
Crew Douglas Woolsey Special Effects
Camera Ronald Neame Director of Photography
Camera Guy Green Camera Operator
Art David Rawnsley Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Tony Sforzini Makeup Artist
Directing Kenneth Horne First Assistant Director
Directing Norman Spencer Third Assistant Director
Directing Tom Payne Second Assistant Director
Editing Norah Walsh Assistant Editor
Camera B. Francke Camera Operator
Camera Max Rosher Still Photographer
Crew Alfred Roberts Scenic Artist
Camera Jim Body Clapper Loader
Sound C. C. Stevens Sound Recordist
Production Sydney Streeter Production Manager
Art G. E. Calthrop Other
Crew I. T. Clark Technical Advisor
Production Michael Anderson Unit Manager
Art William C. Andrews Assistant Art Director
Production Anthony Havelock-Allan Associate Producer
Sound Muir Mathieson Conductor
Art C.P. Norman Set Dresser
Crew T. W. J. Lawlor Technical Advisor
Crew C. R. E. Compton Technical Advisor
Camera Derick Williams Additional Camera