Duck Soup

Duck Soup (1933)

War is swell...when the Marx Brothers are in it. They'll be out of the trenches by Christmas...if the food doesn't improve!

  • Genre: Comedy, War
  • Release Date: 1933-11-12
  • User Rating: 7.3/10 from 711 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 9min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Paramount
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Leo McCarey
star 7.3/10
From 711 Ratings


Rufus T. Firefly is named president/dictator of bankrupt Freedonia and declares war on neighboring Sylvania over the love of wealthy Mrs. Teasdale.

Duck Soup Trailer

Is Duck Soup on Netflix?

Is Duck Soup on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie Duck Soup is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when Duck Soup becomes available on Netflix!

  • Groucho Marx

    as Rufus T. Firefly
  • Harpo Marx

    as Pinky
  • Chico Marx

    as Chicolini
  • Zeppo Marx

    as Bob Roland
  • Margaret Dumont

    as Gloria Teasdale
  • Raquel Torres

    as Vera Marcal
  • Louis Calhern

    as Ambassador Trentino
  • Edmund Breese

    as Zander
  • Leonid Kinskey

    as Sylvanian Agitator
  • Charles Middleton

    as Prosecutor
  • Edgar Kennedy

    as Street Vendor
  • Edward Arnold

    as Politician (uncredited)
  • Wade Boteler

    as Officer at Battle Headquarters (uncredited)
  • Sidney Bracey

    as Mrs. Teasdale's Butler (uncredited)
  • E.H. Calvert

    as Officer in Battle Sequence (uncredited)
  • Davison Clark

    as Minister of Finance #2 (uncredited)
  • Louise Closser Hale

    as Reception Guest (uncredited)
  • Carrie Daumery

    as Reception Guest (uncredited)
  • Maude Turner Gordon

    as Reception Guest (uncredited)
  • Florence Wix

    as Reception Guest (uncredited)
  • Joseph Crehan

    as Dignitary at Reception (uncredited)
  • Mario Dominici

    as Minister (uncredited)
  • Edmund Mortimer

    as Minister (uncredited)
  • Charles West

    as Minister (uncredited)
  • Verna Hillie

    as Trentino's Blonde Secretary (uncredited)
  • Edward LeSaint

    as Secretary of Labor (uncredited)
  • George MacQuarrie

    as First Judge (uncredited)
  • Frederick Sullivan

    as Second Judge (uncredited)
  • Eric Mayne

    as Third Judge (uncredited)
  • Edwin Maxwell

    as Freedonia's Secretary of War #1 (uncredited)
  • Dennis O'Keefe

    as Bridegroom at Firefly's Reception (uncredited)
  • Leo Sulky

    as Agitator (uncredited)
  • Dale Van Sickel

    as A Palace Guard (uncredited)
  • William Worthington

    as First Minister of Finance (uncredited)
Art Hans Dreier Art Direction
Sound Harry Lindgren Sound Engineer
Writing Harry Ruby Writer
Sound Harry Ruby Music
Writing Harry Ruby Story
Writing Harry Ruby Lyricist
Sound Arthur Johnston Music
Camera Henry Sharp Director of Photography
Directing Leo McCarey Director
Writing Bert Kalmar Writer
Sound Bert Kalmar Music
Writing Bert Kalmar Story
Writing Bert Kalmar Lyricist
Writing Arthur Sheekman Writer
Crew Arthur Sheekman Additional Dialogue
Writing Nat Perrin Writer
Crew Nat Perrin Additional Dialogue
Production Herman J. Mankiewicz Producer
Editing LeRoy Stone Editor
Sound John Leipold Original Music Composer
Editing Edward Dmytryk Assistant Editor
Art Wiard B. Ihnen Art Direction
Crew Dale Van Sickel Stunts
Camera Cliff Shirpser First Assistant Camera