The Devils

The Devils (1971)

Hell holds no surprises for them.

  • Genre: Drama, History
  • Release Date: 1971-07-16
  • User Rating: 7.5/10 from 356 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 54min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Russo Productions
  • Production Country: United Kingdom
  • Director: Ken Russell
star 7.5/10
From 356 Ratings


In 17th-century France, Father Urbain Grandier seeks to protect the city of Loudun from the corrupt establishment of Cardinal Richelieu. Hysteria occurs within the city when he is accused of witchcraft by the sexually repressed Sister Jeanne.

The Devils Trailer

Is The Devils on Netflix?

Is The Devils on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie The Devils is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Devils becomes available on Netflix!

  • Vanessa Redgrave

    as Sister Jeanne des Anges
  • Oliver Reed

    as Father Urbain Grandier
  • Dudley Sutton

    as Baron de Laubardemont
  • Max Adrian

    as Ibert
  • Gemma Jones

    as Madeleine de Brou
  • Murray Melvin

    as Father-Canon Jean Mignon
  • Michael Gothard

    as Father Pierre Barre
  • Georgina Hale

    as Philippe Trincant
  • Brian Murphy

    as Adam
  • Christopher Logue

    as Cardinal Richelieu
  • Graham Armitage

    as King Louis XIII
  • John Woodvine

    as Louis Trincant
  • Andrew Faulds

    as Rangier
  • Kenneth Colley

    as Legrand
  • Judith Paris

    as Sister Agnes (miscredited as Sister Judith)
  • Catherine Willmer

    as Sister Catherine
  • Izabella Telezynska

    as Sister Iza
  • Niké Arrighi

    as Nun (uncredited)
  • Pat Ashton

    as Gossiping Woman (uncredited)
  • Peter Avella

    as Citizen (uncredited)
  • Imogen Claire

    as Nun (uncredited)
  • Barbie Denham

    as Vestal Virgin (uncredited)
  • Hugh Elton

    as Courtier (uncredited)
  • Harry Fielder

    as Soldier / Blackbird (uncredited)
  • Selina Gilbert

    as Nun (uncredited)
  • Cheryl Grunwald

    as Vestal Virgin (uncredited)
  • Charles Price

    as Soldier (uncredited)
  • Charles Rayford

    as Spectator (uncredited)
  • Jack Sharp

    as Spectator (uncredited)
  • Tina Simmons

    as Nun (uncredited)
  • Doremy Vernon

    as Nun (uncredited)
  • Twiggy

    as Pageboy (uncredited)
  • Donald Campbell

    as Spectator (uncredited)
  • Justin de Villeneuve

    as Courtier (uncredited)
  • Fred Peck

    as Spectator (uncredited)
  • Tony Allen

    as Spectator / Clerk of Court (uncredited)
Writing Ken Russell Screenplay
Directing Ken Russell Director
Camera David Watkin Director of Photography
Editing Michael Bradsell Editor
Writing Aldous Huxley Novel
Production Ken Russell Producer
Production Robert H. Solo Producer
Art Derek Jarman Production Design
Production Roy Baird Associate Producer
Sound John Hayward Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Art Robert Cartwright Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Ramon Gow Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Shirley Russell Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Charles E. Parker Makeup Artist
Sound Gordon K. McCallum Sound Mixer
Editing Stuart Baird Assistant Editor
Production Graham Ford Unit Manager
Production Neville C. Thompson Production Manager
Directing Ted Morley Assistant Director
Directing Nicolas Hippisley-Coxe Second Second Assistant Director
Art Alan Tomkins Assistant Art Director
Art Leslie Dilley Assistant Art Director
Costume & Make-Up Tiny Nicholls Wardrobe Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Ramon Gow Hair Supervisor
Art Terry Apsey Construction Manager
Art Ian Whittaker Set Dresser
Art Bryn Siddall Property Buyer
Crew Tony Strong Scenic Artist
Crew Harry Benn Production Controller
Costume & Make-Up Colin Arthur Assistant Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Ross Carver Assistant Hairdresser
Crew Peter Brayham Stunts
Crew Peter Diamond Stunts
Crew Harry Fielder Stunts
Camera Peter Ewens Assistant Camera
Crew Terry Gilbert Choreographer
Sound Rowland Fowles Boom Operator
Sound Terry Rawlings Sound Editor
Crew John Richardson Special Effects
Crew Tim Wake Carpenter
Lighting John Swan Electrician
Sound Peter Maxwell Davies Original Music Composer
Sound Peter Maxwell Davies Conductor
Sound David Munrow Music Arranger
Sound David Munrow Music Director
Art George Ball Property Master
Camera Ronnie Taylor Camera Operator
Directing Ann Skinner Continuity
Writing John Whiting Theatre Play
Sound Brian Simmons Sound Mixer
Camera Robin Browne Second Unit Director of Photography
Crew Geoff Freeman Unit Publicist