Moss Rose

Moss Rose (1947)

  • Genre: Mystery, Thriller
  • Release Date: 1947-05-30
  • User Rating: 6.4/10 from 16 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 22min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: 20th Century Fox
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Gregory Ratoff
star 6.4/10
From 16 Ratings


When a music-hall dancer is murdered, a moss rose marks the page of a Bible next to her body. Luckily, another chorus girl saw a gentleman leaving the lodgings. She approaches him directly, saying she'll go to the police if he doesn't meet her demands, but he brushes her off contemptuously. When he learns she's dead serious, he tries to buy her off with a thick wad of pound notes. But it's not money she's after; all she wants is two weeks at his country estate, living the life of a lady.

Moss Rose Trailer

Is Moss Rose on Netflix?

Is Moss Rose on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie Moss Rose is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when Moss Rose becomes available on Netflix!

  • Peggy Cummins

    as Belle Adair aka Rose Lynton
  • Victor Mature

    as Michael Drego
  • Ethel Barrymore

    as Lady Margaret Drego
  • Vincent Price

    as Police Inspector Clinner
  • Margo Woode

    as Daisy Arrow
  • George Zucco

    as Craxton
  • Patricia Medina

    as Audrey Ashton
  • Rhys Williams

    as Deputy Inspector Evans
  • Norman Ainsley

    as Deputy Coroner (uncredited)
  • Harry Allen

    as Threadbare Little Man (uncredited)
  • Frank Baker

    as Lodger (uncredited)
  • Billy Bevan

    as Harry, Cab Driver (uncredited)
  • Barbara Blaine

    as Dancer (uncredited)
  • Clifford Brooke

    as Chemist (uncredited)
  • Charlene Brooks

    as Dancer (uncredited)
  • Colin Campbell

    as Art Gallery Attendant (uncredited)
  • Leonard Carey

    as Coroner (uncredited)
  • Russ Clark

    as Constable (uncredited)
  • Michael Dyne

    as Asst. Hotel Manager (uncredited)
  • Paul England

    as Publican (uncredited)
  • Al Ferguson

    as Constable (uncredited)
  • Alex Frazer

    as Landlord (uncredited)
  • John Goldsworthy

    as Minister (uncredited)
  • Alec Harford

    as Bookseller (uncredited)
  • Sam Harris

    as Family Soliciter (uncredited)
  • Stuart Holmes

    as Pompous English Colonel (uncredited)
  • Colin Kenny

    as Cab Driver (uncredited)
  • Connie Leon

    as Seamstress (uncredited)
  • Lee MacGregor

    as Bellboy (uncredited)
  • Stanley Mann

    as Footman (uncredited)
  • Charles McNaughton

    as Alf (uncredited)
  • Tom Moore

    as Coroner's Foreman (uncredited)
  • Doreen Munroe

    as Lodger (uncredited)
  • Patrick O'Moore

    as George Gilby (uncredited)
  • Francis Pierlot

    as Train Conductor (uncredited)
  • Eileen Robinson

    as Dancer (uncredited)
  • Felippa Rock

    as Liza, Dancer (uncredited)
  • John Rogers

    as Fothergill (uncredited)
  • Carol Savage

    as Harriet (uncredited)
  • Dorothy Schoemer

    as Dancer (uncredited)
  • Wallace Scott

    as Cab Driver (uncredited)
  • Sally Shepherd

    as Maid (uncredited)
  • Gerald Oliver Smith

    as Hotel Clerk (uncredited)
  • Phil Sudano

    as Stevens (uncredited)
  • Basil Walker

    as Thompson (uncredited)
  • Jacqueline Warrington

    as Dancer (uncredited)
  • Gilbert Wilson

    as Footman (uncredited)
  • Victor Wood

    as Wilson (uncredited)
Directing Gregory Ratoff Director
Writing Niven Busch Adaptation
Writing Marjorie Bowen Novel
Production Gene Markey Producer
Sound David Buttolph Original Music Composer
Camera Joseph MacDonald Director of Photography
Editing James B. Clark Editor
Production Darryl F. Zanuck Executive Producer
Art Richard Day Art Direction
Art Mark-Lee Kirk Art Direction
Art Paul S. Fox Set Decoration
Art Thomas Little Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up René Hubert Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Ben Nye Makeup Artist
Sound Alfred Newman Music Director
Sound Maurice De Packh Orchestrator
Sound Edward B. Powell Orchestrator
Costume & Make-Up Charles LeMaire Wardrobe Master
Crew Fred Sersen Special Effects
Crew Harry Lloyd Morris Technical Advisor
Sound Roger Heman Sr. Sound
Sound George Leverett Sound
Writing Jules Furthman Screenplay
Writing Tom Reed Screenplay