The Whale

The Whale (2022)

  • Genre: Drama
  • Release Date: 2022-12-09
  • User Rating: 7.8/10 from 3590 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 57min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: A24
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Darren Aronofsky
star 7.9/10
From 3,590 Ratings


A reclusive English teacher suffering from severe obesity attempts to reconnect with his estranged teenage daughter for one last chance at redemption.

The Whale Trailer

Is The Whale on Netflix?

Is The Whale on Netflix? Yes! The movie The Whale is now on Netflix in the countries listed below.

Watch on Netflix
  • Brendan Fraser

    as Charlie
  • Sadie Sink

    as Ellie
  • Ty Simpkins

    as Thomas
  • Hong Chau

    as Liz
  • Samantha Morton

    as Mary
  • Sathya Sridharan

    as Dan the Pizza Man
  • Jacey Sink

    as Young Ellie
  • Allison Altman

    as Young Mary (uncredited)
  • Wilhelm Schalaudek

    as Liam (uncredited)
  • Lance Oppenheim

    as Julian (uncredited)
Directing Darren Aronofsky Director
Camera Matthew Libatique Director of Photography
Production Jeremy Dawson Producer
Writing Samuel D. Hunter Screenplay
Writing Samuel D. Hunter Theatre Play
Production Darren Aronofsky Producer
Production Ari Handel Producer
Production Tyson Bidner Executive Producer
Editing Andrew Weisblum Editor
Production Lindsay Graham Ahanonu Casting
Production Mary Vernieu Casting
Art Mark Friedberg Production Design
Art Robert Pyzocha Production Design
Art Jurasama Arunchai Art Direction
Art Lisa Scoppa Set Decoration
Production Tyson Bidner Unit Production Manager
Directing Alice Johnson Second Assistant Director
Sound Drew Kunin Sound Mixer
Production Brendan Naylor Associate Producer
Costume & Make-Up Judy Chin Makeup Department Head
Costume & Make-Up Adrien Morot Prosthetic Designer
Costume & Make-Up Shane Shisheboran Special Effects Makeup Artist
Crew Andrew Keogh Ruotolo Post Production Supervisor
Directing Duccio Fabbri First Assistant Director
Crew Lauren Doner Charge Scenic Artist
Production Danielle Guido Art Department Production Assistant
Art Jane Ji Props
Art Justin J. Jordan Graphic Designer
Art Matt Marks Property Master
Art Mike Drury On Set Props
Art Mariella Navarro Art Department Coordinator
Sound Steve Baine Foley Artist
Sound Smokey Cloud First Assistant Sound Editor
Sound Mark Goodermote Boom Operator
Sound Craig Henighan Supervising Sound Editor
Sound James Hyde ADR Mixer
Sound Jill Purdy Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Maaike Snoep Utility Sound
Visual Effects Nick Crist Compositing Supervisor
Visual Effects Matthew Fernandez Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Bilali Mack Visual Effects Supervisor
Crew Rowan Maher Visual Effects Editor
Visual Effects Sophie-Ann Price Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Tim Van Horn VFX Artist
Visual Effects Rebecca West Visual Effects Producer
Lighting Jimmy DeMarco Rigging Gaffer
Camera Jeff Flohr Digital Imaging Technician
Camera Dexter Kennedy Drone Pilot
Camera Jack Lillian Dolly Grip
Camera Mitchell Andrew Lillian Key Grip
Lighting Brooks Lockwood Best Boy Electric
Camera Brendan Lowry Dolly Grip
Crew Neicy McFadden Loader
Camera Greg Meola Grip
Camera Grgo Sevo Camera Operator
Camera Anthony Stracquadanio Grip
Camera Niko Tavernise Still Photographer
Lighting John G. Velez Gaffer
Production Hilary Greer Extras Casting
Production Benjamin Bermudez Casting Assistant
Production Bret Howe Casting Associate
Editing Patrick DeVine Color Assistant
Crew Nicholas Figueroa Editorial Staff
Production Zac Gobetz Finishing Producer
Editing Morgan Heller First Assistant Editor
Production Michael Maida Head of Production
Editing Jenna Roscoe Dailies Operator
Editing Zachary A. Schwartz First Assistant Editor
Editing Tim Stipan Digital Intermediate Colorist
Production Julia Ward Finishing Producer
Editing Reid Zarker Editorial Production Assistant
Art Jillian Fisher Location Scout
Production William Sturtevant Location Assistant
Sound Rob Simonsen Original Music Composer
Sound Hugh Brunt Conductor
Sound Hugh Brunt Orchestrator
Crew Fiona Cruickshank Score Engineer
Sound Clifton Harrison Musician
Sound Andrew Silver Music Editor
Directing Alexandra Torterotot Script Supervisor
Production Hans Augustave Key Production Assistant
Crew Michelle Bayreuther Set Medic
Crew Michelle Bayreuther Medical Consultant
Production Jenny Foster Production Coordinator
Production Rosa Garces Payroll Accountant
Production Margaret Horning Second Assistant Accountant
Production Chris Kocses Production Coordinator
Art Jeff Kryvicky Title Designer
Production Tessa Lee Production Assistant
Production David M. Night Maire Production Assistant
Production Paula Paternostro First Assistant Accountant
Production Allison Savoy Production Assistant
Crew Sarah Brady Stack Health and Safety
Production Julie Velez Production Accountant
Production Inman Young Head of Production
Costume & Make-Up Danny Glicker Costume Design
Production Scott Franklin Executive Producer
Production Dylan Golden Associate Producer
Costume & Make-Up Mandy Bisesti Key Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Rachaell Dama Costume Supervisor
Sound Coll Anderson Sound Effects Editor
Costume & Make-Up Annemarie Bradley Hair Department Head
Costume & Make-Up Donald Francis Key Hair Stylist
Visual Effects Fred Kraemer Special Effects Supervisor
Sound Chris Chae Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Skip Lievsay Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Art Phil D'Andria Set Dresser
Art Daniel Rodriguez Set Dresser