Free Chol Soo Lee

Free Chol Soo Lee (2022)

  • Genre: Documentary
  • Release Date: 2022-08-12
  • User Rating: 7.3/10 from 9 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 23min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: XTR
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Directors: Eugene Yi, Julie Ha.
star 7.3/10
From 9 Ratings


On June 3, 1973, a man was murdered in a busy intersection of San Francisco’s Chinatown as part of an ongoing gang war. Chol Soo Lee, a 20-year-old Korean immigrant who had previous run-ins with the law, was arrested and convicted based on flimsy evidence and the eyewitness accounts of white tourists who couldn’t distinguish between Asian features. Sentenced to life in prison, Chol Soo Lee would spend years fighting to survive behind bars before journalist K.W. Lee took an interest in his case. The intrepid reporter’s investigation would galvanize a first-of-its-kind pan-Asian American grassroots movement to fight for Chol Soo Lee’s freedom, ultimately inspiring a new generation of social justice activists.

Free Chol Soo Lee Trailer

Is Free Chol Soo Lee on Netflix?

Is Free Chol Soo Lee on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie Free Chol Soo Lee is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when Free Chol Soo Lee becomes available on Netflix!

  • Chol Soo Lee

    as Self (archive footage)
  • Sebastian Yoon

    as Narrator (voice)
  • Ranko Yamada

    as Self - Friend; Defense Committee
  • K.W. Lee

    as Self - Investigative Reporter
  • Jeff Adachi

    as Self - Activist
  • David Kakishiba

    as Self - Activist
  • Jay Kun Yoo

    as Self - Chair, Defense Committee
  • Grace Kim

    as Self - Vice-chair, Defense Committee
  • Warren Furutani

    as Self - L.A. Defense Committee
  • Leonard Weinglass

    as Self - Defense Attorney (archive footage)
  • Josiah “Tink” Thompson

    as Self - Private Investigator
  • Gail Whang

    as Self - Bay Area Defense Committee
  • Jai Lee Wong

    as Self - L.A. Defense Committee
  • Mike Suzuki

    as Self - Bay Area Defense Committee
  • Me Yea Lee

    as Self - Mother of Chol Soo Lee (archive footage)
  • Leonard Tauman

    as Self - Defense Attorney (archive footage)
  • Tony Serra

    as Self - Defense Attorney
  • Stuart Hanlon

    as Self - Defense Attorney (archive footage)
  • Frank Falzon

    as Self - San Francisco Police Dept. (archive footage)
  • Sandra Gin

    as Self - Reporter (archive footage)
  • Sung Soo Yoo

    as Self - Defense Committee
  • Richard Kim

    as Self - Professor, UC Davis
Camera Michael Chin Camera Operator
Crew Jeff Adachi In Memory Of
Camera Jerry Henry Camera Operator
Production Sally Jo Fifer Executive Producer
Production Lois Vossen Executive Producer
Camera Joel Juárez Assistant Camera
Camera John Wakayama Carey Additional Camera
Editing Jean Tsien Editor
Production Jean Tsien Producer
Production Bryn Mooser Executive Producer
Production Stephen Gong Executive Producer
Camera Vanessa Carr Additional Camera
Camera Mike Shum Additional Camera
Directing Eugene Yi Director
Production Eugene Yi Producer
Camera Akira Boch Additional Camera
Editing Aldo Velasco Editor
Production Her Yoon-soo Associate Producer
Sound Gretchen Jude Original Music Composer
Production Kathryn Everett Executive Producer
Sound Stephen Thorpe Sound Recordist
Camera Adam Uyemura Assistant Camera
Camera Lou Nakasako Assistant Camera
Sound Jae-Hong Moon Foley Artist
Camera Abraham Chan Assistant Camera
Production Andy Hsieh Executive Producer
Production Tammy Chu Tolle Associate Producer
Sound Ko Eunha Sound Designer
Sound Ko Eunha Sound Supervisor
Directing Julie Ha Director
Production Julie Ha Producer
Sound Kim Juhyun Dialogue Editor
Camera Tijana Petrovic Additional Camera
Camera Colin Archdeacon Additional Camera
Production Quyên Nguyen-Le Associate Producer
Production Jo So-na Producer
Crew Jay Kun Yoo In Memory Of
Editing Anita H.M. Yu Co-Editor
Camera Courtney Quirin Additional Camera
Sound Bryan Baeta Sound Recordist
Sound Marc Stewart Sound Recordist
Visual Effects Mihye Choi Animation Director
Art Suki Oh Graphic Designer
Crew Mike Puretz Additional Music