The Right Stuff

The Right Stuff (1983)

How the future began.

  • Genre: Drama, History, Adventure
  • Release Date: 1983-10-20
  • User Rating: 7.4/10 from 769 ratings
  • Runtime: 3h 13min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: The Ladd Company
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Philip Kaufman
star 7.4/10
From 769 Ratings


A chronicle of the original Mercury astronauts in the formation of America's space program: Alan Shepherd, the first American in space; Gus Grissom, the benighted astronaut for whom nothing works out as planned; John Glenn, the straight-arrow 'boy scout' of the bunch who was the first American to orbit the earth; and the remaining pilots: Deke Slayton, Scott Carpenter, Wally Schirra, and Gordon Cooper.

The Right Stuff Trailer

Is The Right Stuff on Netflix?

Is The Right Stuff on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie The Right Stuff is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Right Stuff becomes available on Netflix!

  • Sam Shepard

    as Chuck Yeager
  • Scott Glenn

    as Alan Shepard
  • Ed Harris

    as John Glenn
  • Dennis Quaid

    as Gordon Cooper
  • Fred Ward

    as Gus Grissom
  • Barbara Hershey

    as Glennis Yeager
  • Kim Stanley

    as Pancho Barnes
  • Veronica Cartwright

    as Betty Grissom
  • Pamela Reed

    as Trudy Cooper
  • Scott Paulin

    as Deke Slayton
  • Charles Frank

    as Scott Carpenter
  • Lance Henriksen

    as Wally Schirra
  • Donald Moffat

    as Lyndon B. Johnson
  • Levon Helm

    as Jack Ridley / Narrator
  • Mary Jo Deschanel

    as Annie Glenn
  • Scott Wilson

    as Scott Crossfield
  • Kathy Baker

    as Louise Shepard
  • Mickey Crocker

    as Marge Slayton
  • Susan Kase

    as Rene Carpenter
  • Mittie Smith

    as Jo Schirra
  • Royal Dano

    as Minister
  • David Clennon

    as Liaison Man
  • Jim Haynie

    as Air Force Major
  • Jeff Goldblum

    as NASA Recruiter
  • Harry Shearer

    as NASA Recruiter
  • Scott Beach

    as Chief Scientist
  • Jane Dornacker

    as Nurse Murch
  • Anthony Munoz

    as Gonzales
  • John P. Ryan

    as Head of Program
  • Darryl Henriques

    as Life Reporter
  • Eric Sevareid

    as Himself
  • William Russ

    as Slick Goodlin
  • Drew Letchworth

    as The Permanent Press Corps
  • Christopher P. Beale

    as The Permanent Press Corps
  • Richard Dupell

    as The Permanent Press Corps
  • William Hall

    as The Permanent Press Corps
  • John X. Heart

    as The Permanent Press Corps
  • Ed Holmes

    as The Permanent Press Corps
  • Jack Bruno Tate

    as The Permanent Press Corps
  • Edward Anhalt

    as Grand Designer
  • Mary Apick

    as Woman Reporter
  • Robert Beer

    as Dwight D. Eisenhower
  • Erik Bergmann

    as Eddie Hodges
  • James Brady

    as Aide to Lyndon B. Johnson
  • Katherine Conklin

    as Woman TV Reporter
  • Maureen Coyne

    as Waitress
  • Tom Dahlgren

    as Bell Aircraft Executive
  • John Lion

    as Bell Aircraft Executive
  • Peggy Davis

    as Sally Rand
  • John Dehner

    as Henry Luce
  • Robert Elross

    as Review Board President
  • Drew Eshelman

    as Assistant Scientist
  • Robert J. Geary

    as Game Show M.C.
  • Royce Grones

    as 1st X-1 Pilot
  • David Gulpilil

    as Aborigine
  • Anthony Wallis

    as Australian Driver
  • Kaaren Lee

    as Young Widow
  • Sandy Kronemeyer

    as Cocoa Beach Girl
  • Frankie Di

    as Cocoa Beach Girl
  • Michael Pritchard

    as Texan
  • Ed Corbett

    as Texan
  • O-Lan Jones

    as Girl at Pancho's
  • Mark Todd

    as Astronaut Trainee
  • Allen Gebhardt

    as Astronaut Trainee
  • Chuck Yeager

    as Fred
  • Mimi Sarkisian

    as New Mexico Nurse in Lobby (uncredited)
Editing Lisa Fruchtman Editor
Art George R. Nelson Set Decoration
Writing Philip Kaufman Screenplay
Directing Philip Kaufman Director
Editing Tom Rolf Editor
Production Lynn Stalmaster Casting
Sound Mark Berger Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Production James D. Brubaker Executive Producer
Sound Pat Jackson Sound Effects Editor
Sound Richard Hymns Sound Effects Editor
Art W. Stewart Campbell Art Direction
Sound Tim Holland Sound Effects Editor
Crew Buddy Joe Hooker Stunt Coordinator
Camera Caleb Deschanel Director of Photography
Sound Bill Conti Original Music Composer
Production Irwin Winkler Producer
Costume & Make-Up Karen Bradley Makeup Artist
Production Robert Chartoff Producer
Sound John Benson Sound Effects Editor
Editing Glenn Farr Editor
Sound Randy Thom Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Visual Effects Ken Pepiot Special Effects Supervisor
Art Geoffrey Kirkland Production Design
Editing Stephen A. Rotter Editor
Writing Tom Wolfe Novel
Editing Douglas Stewart Editor
Camera Ted Churchill Steadicam Operator
Sound Todd Boekelheide Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Art Jim Poynter Set Decoration
Camera Harry Mathias Steadicam Operator
Art Richard Lawrence Art Direction
Sound Karen G. Wilson Sound Effects Editor
Costume & Make-Up Catherine Childers Hairstylist
Directing Alice Tompkins Script Supervisor
Art Peter R. Romero Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Pat Grover Hairstylist
Sound David MacMillan Production Sound Mixer
Sound Jay Boekelheide Supervising Sound Editor
Costume & Make-Up Yvonne Curry Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Bruce Geller Hairstylist
Sound Thomas Scott Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Andy Wiskes Sound Re-Recording Mixer