The Dead Zone

The Dead Zone (1983)

In his mind, he has the power to see the future. In his hands, he has the power to change it.

  • Genre: Thriller, Horror, Science Fiction
  • Release Date: 1983-10-21
  • User Rating: 7.0/10 from 1562 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 43min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Lorimar Film Entertainment
  • Production Country: Canada, United States of America
  • Director: David Cronenberg
star 7/10
From 1,562 Ratings


Johnny Smith is a schoolteacher with his whole life ahead of him but, after leaving his fiancee's home one night, is involved in a car crash which leaves him in a coma for 5 years. When he wakes, he discovers he has an ability to see into the past, present and future life of anyone with whom he comes into physical contact.

The Dead Zone Trailer

Is The Dead Zone on Netflix?

Is The Dead Zone on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie The Dead Zone is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Dead Zone becomes available on Netflix!

  • Christopher Walken

    as Johnny Smith
  • Brooke Adams

    as Sarah Bracknell
  • Tom Skerritt

    as Sheriff Bannerman
  • Herbert Lom

    as Dr. Sam Weizak
  • Anthony Zerbe

    as Roger Stuart
  • Colleen Dewhurst

    as Henrietta Dodd
  • Martin Sheen

    as Greg Stillson
  • Nicholas Campbell

    as Frank Dodd
  • Sean Sullivan

    as Herb Smith
  • Jackie Burroughs

    as Vera Smith
  • Géza Kovács

    as Sonny Elliman
  • Roberta Weiss

    as Alma Frechette
  • Simon Craig

    as Chris Stuart
  • Peter Dvorsky

    as Dardis
  • Julie-Ann Heathwood

    as Amy
  • Barry Flatman

    as Walt
  • Raffi Tchalikian

    as Denny #1
  • Ken Pogue

    as Vice President
  • Gordon Jocelyn

    as Five-Star General
  • Bill Copeland

    as Secretary of State
  • Jack Messinger

    as Therapist
  • Chapelle Jaffe

    as Nurse
  • Cindy Hinds

    as Natalie
  • Helene Udy

    as Weizak's Mother
  • Ramon Estevez

    as Teenage Boy with Camera
  • Joseph Domenchini

    as Young Weizak
  • Roger Dunn

    as Reporter
  • Vladimir Bondarenko

    as Reporter
  • Claude Rae

    as Reporter
  • John Koensgen

    as T.V. Anchorman
  • Leslie Carlson

    as Brenner
  • James Bearden

    as Deputy #1
  • Hardee T. Lineham

    as Deputy #2
  • William B. Davis

    as Ambulance Driver
  • Seirge LeBlanc

    as Denny #2
  • Vera Winiauski

    as Polish Peasant
  • Joe Kapnaiko

    as Polish Peasant
  • David Rigby

    as Truck Driver
Production Debra Hill Producer
Camera Mark Irwin Director of Photography
Production Dino De Laurentiis Executive Producer
Directing David Cronenberg Director
Sound Michael Kamen Original Music Composer
Writing Jeffrey Boam Screenplay
Writing Stephen King Novel
Editing Ronald Sanders Editor
Production Deirdre Bowen Casting
Production Jane Jenkins Casting
Art Carol Spier Production Design
Art Barbara Dunphy Art Direction
Production Jeffrey Chernov Associate Producer
Art Tom Coulter Set Decoration
Production Janet Hirshenson Casting
Costume & Make-Up Olga Dimitrovová Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Jenny Arbour Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Shonagh Jabour Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Maureen Mestan Hair Assistant
Production John M. Eckert Production Manager
Directing John Board First Assistant Director
Directing Otta Hanus Second Assistant Director
Directing Lydia Wazana Third Assistant Director
Crew Loren Janes Stunts
Crew Greg Walker Stunts
Crew Jérôme Tiberghien Stunts
Crew David Rigby Stunts
Crew Leslie Munro Stunts
Crew Dwayne McLean Stunts
Crew Rick Forsayeth Stunts
Crew Peter Cox Stunts
Crew Shane Cardwell Stunts
Crew Tom Bishop Sr. Stunts
Art Alfred Draughtsman
Art Jon Bankson Head Carpenter
Art Kirk Cheney Head Carpenter
Art Janet Cormack Painter
Art Jim Craig Storyboard Artist
Art Joe Curtin Construction Manager
Art Dan Davis Assistant Art Director
Art Greg Diachok Painter
Art Gary Jack Set Dresser
Art Nick Kosonic Painter
Art Jo-Ann Ladenheim Art Direction Intern
Art Peter Lauterman Property Master
Art Steve Meil Painter
Art Don Miloyevich Assistant Property Master
Art Harry Pavelson Painter
Art Tom Reid Set Dresser
Crew Myles Roth Carpenter
Crew Robert Wiens Carpenter
Art Gareth Wilson Set Dresser
Sound Bryan Day Sound Mixer
Sound Michael C. Gutierrez Sound Editor
Sound Duane Hartzell Sound Editor
Sound Michael LaCroix Boom Operator
Sound Gregg Landaker Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Steve Maslow Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound David E. Stone Sound Editor
Sound Kendrick Sweet Sound Editor
Sound Eric Tomlinson Sound Recordist
Sound Bill Varney Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Caryl Wickman Sound Editor
Sound David Lewis Yewdall Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Don White ADR Recordist
Visual Effects Calvin Joe Acord Special Effects Supervisor
Crew Jon G. Belyeu Special Effects Coordinator
Crew Derek Howard Special Effects
Crew Clark Johnson Special Effects
Crew Michael Kavanagh Special Effects
Crew Laird McMurray Special Effects
Crew Mark Molin Special Effects
Crew Michael Neumann Special Effects
Crew D. Harry Persad Special Effects
Crew Gianico Pretto Special Effects
Crew Sonan Sookad Special Effects
Crew David Zimmerman Special Effects
Visual Effects Michael Lennick Visual Effects
Crew Carey Loftin Stunt Coordinator
Crew Dick Warlock Stunt Coordinator
Camera Scotty Allan Best Boy Grip
Lighting Jock Brandis Gaffer
Lighting Ira Cohen Electrician
Camera Christopher Dean Grip
Lighting John Herzog Electrician
Camera David Hynes Grip
Camera Maris H. Jansons Key Grip
Camera Robin Miller First Assistant Camera
Camera Donna Mobbs Second Assistant Camera
Lighting Gary Phipps Genetator Operator
Camera Rick Porter Still Photographer
Camera Mark Silver Grip
Camera John Stoneman Underwater Camera
Camera David J. Woods Camera Trainee
Production Peter Lavender Extras Casting
Costume & Make-Up Denise Cronenberg Wardrobe Master
Costume & Make-Up Maureen Gurney Wardrobe Assistant
Costume & Make-Up Arthur Rowsell Wardrobe Master
Editing Elaine Foreman Assistant Editor
Editing Michael Rea Assistant Editor
Production David Coatsworth Location Manager
Sound Michael Kamen Music Arranger
Sound Michael Kamen Conductor
Sound Michael Kamen Music Producer
Sound Michael Kamen Orchestrator
Sound Skaila Kanga Musician
Directing Gillian Richardson Script Supervisor
Crew David Brown Driver
Crew David Chudnovsky Driver
Crew Alex Dawes Driver
Crew Allen Kosonic Transportation Captain
Crew Mike Curran Transportation Coordinator
Crew Jerome McCann Driver
Crew Izidore K. Musallam Driver
Crew Cactus Simser Driver
Production Andreas Blackwell Production Assistant
Production Randi Chernov Producer's Assistant
Crew Jesse Cohoon Craft Service
Crew Richard Cosgrave Animal Wrangler
Crew Dino De Laurentiis Presenter
Production Prudence Emery Publicist
Crew Tom Glass Animal Wrangler
Production Philippa King Production Coordinator
Production Lyn Lucibello Assistant Accountant
Production Heather McIntosh Production Accountant
Crew Carolyn McKenzie Production Office Assistant
Production Susan Starre McKibbin Assistant Accountant
Crew Andrea Poulis Production Office Assistant
Crew John Scott Animal Wrangler
Crew Richard Cornblum Weapons Wrangler
Art Wayne Fitzgerald Title Designer