The Star Chamber

The Star Chamber (1983)

They meet. They judge. They execute.

  • Genre: Drama, Thriller
  • Release Date: 1983-08-05
  • User Rating: 6/10 from 134 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 45min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Frank Yablans Presentations
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Peter Hyams
star 6/10
From 134 Ratings


As violence escalates in Los Angeles and heinous murders are committed, Steven Hardin, a young judge of the California Supreme Court, must struggle with his tortured conscience and growing despair as he watches helplessly as the ruthless criminals brought before his court go free because clever lawyers find obscure loopholes in the law.

The Star Chamber Trailer

Is The Star Chamber on Netflix?

Is The Star Chamber on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie The Star Chamber is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Star Chamber becomes available on Netflix!

  • Michael Douglas

    as Steven Hardin
  • Hal Holbrook

    as Benjamin Caulfield
  • Yaphet Kotto

    as Detective Harry Lowes
  • Sharon Gless

    as Emily Hardin
  • James B. Sikking

    as Dr. Harold Lewin
  • Joe Regalbuto

    as Arthur Cooms
  • Don Calfa

    as Lawrence Monk
  • John DiSanti

    as Detective James Wickman
  • DeWayne Jessie

    as Stanley Flowers
  • Jack Kehoe

    as Hingle
  • Larry Hankin

    as Detective Kenneth Wiggan
  • Dick Anthony Williams

    as Detective Paul Mackey
  • Margie Impert

    as Louise Rachmil
  • Dana Gladstone

    as Martin Hyatt
  • David Proval

    as Officer Nelson
  • Robin Gammell

    as Judge Archer
  • Matthew Faison

    as Judge Stoner
  • Fred McCarren

    as Robert Karras
  • Michael Ensign

    as Judge Kirkland
  • Jason Bernard

    as Judge Bocho
  • Jerry Taft

    as Judge Fogelson
  • Michael Austin

    as Judge Lang
  • Sheldon Feldner

    as Judge Culhane
  • James Margolin

    as Albert Beamer
  • Hexin E. McPhee

    as Marvin Dawson
  • Diana Douglas

    as Adrian Caulfield
  • Keith Buckley

    as Assassin
  • Domingo Ambriz

    as Hector Andujar
  • Frances Bergen

    as Mrs. Cummins
  • Charlie Stavola

    as Detective Serkin
  • Robert Costanzo

    as Sgt. Spota
  • Paul Brennan

    as Garreth
  • Kate Zentall

    as Janet
  • George A. Cooper

    as State Senator Walden
  • Gary Rebstock

    as Newscaster
  • David Faustino

    as Tony Hardin
  • Jason Tomarken

    as Max Hardin
  • George Dickerson

    as George Tillis
  • Eddy C. Dyer

    as Garbage Man
  • John Garrett

    as Chuck Hurley
  • Danna Hyams

    as Caroline Stout
  • Alan Oliney

    as Ladd
  • Don Pulford

    as Bailiff
  • Ron Cummins

    as 1st Man
  • Jack Slate

    as 2nd Man
  • Charles Hallahan

    as Officer Pickett (uncredited)
  • Fritzi Burr

    as Judge Alice McCardle (uncredited)
  • David Armstrong

    as Party Guest
Art Rick Simpson Set Decoration
Art Bo Welch Art Direction
Production Annette Benson Casting Assistant
Camera Ralph Gerling Camera Operator
Costume & Make-Up Patricia Norris Costume Designer
Sound Michael Small Original Music Composer
Directing Duncan Henderson Second Assistant Director
Art Jack Johnson Production Illustrator
Art James Teegarden Set Designer
Sound Jerry Jost Sound Mixer
Costume & Make-Up Michael Westmore Makeup Artist
Crew Freddie Hice Stunts
Sound Theodore Soderberg Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Directing William S. Beasley First Assistant Director
Writing Roderick Taylor Screenplay
Writing Roderick Taylor Story
Writing Peter Hyams Screenplay
Directing Peter Hyams Director
Camera Don E. FauntLeRoy Assistant Camera
Crew Glenn R. Wilder Stunt Coordinator
Editing James Mitchell Editor
Editing Charles Tetoni Associate Editor
Production Frank Yablans Producer
Camera Richard Hannah Director of Photography
Costume & Make-Up G. Tony Scarano Costumer
Production Penny Perry Casting
Sound Ray Alba Sound Editor
Sound Bert Schoenfeld Sound Editor
Sound Paul Wells Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Production Jonathan A. Zimbert Associate Producer
Art Bill Malley Production Design
Sound Richard Overton Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Editing Joanna Cappuccilli Lovetti Assistant Editor
Art Marty Wunderlich Property Master
Lighting John Baron Gaffer
Directing John Franco Script Supervisor
Production Kurt Neumann Unit Production Manager
Production Kurt Neumann Associate Producer
Sound Armin Steiner Scoring Mixer
Costume & Make-Up Dorothea Long Hairstylist
Crew Henry Millar Jr. Special Effects
Camera Tom May Key Grip
Crew Cary Kelley Transportation Coordinator
Art George Eckert Set Designer
Costume & Make-Up Nancy Martinelli Costumer
Art Everett Olson Construction Coordinator
Sound Carolyn Colwell Assistant Sound Editor
Sound Jan Gershkoff Music Editor
Art Howard McCormick Leadman
Production Claire MacTague Production Coordinator
Camera Larry Barbier Still Photographer