The Hunt for Red October

The Hunt for Red October (1990)

Invisible. Silent. Stolen.

  • Genre: Action, Adventure, Thriller
  • Release Date: 1990-03-02
  • User Rating: 7.3/10 from 2859 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 15min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Paramount
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: John McTiernan
star 7.4/10
From 2,859 Ratings


A new technologically-superior Soviet nuclear sub, the Red October, is heading for the U.S. coast under the command of Captain Marko Ramius. The American government thinks Ramius is planning to attack. A lone CIA analyst has a different idea: he thinks Ramius is planning to defect, but he has only a few hours to find him and prove it - because the entire Russian naval and air commands are trying to find him, too. The hunt is on!

The Hunt for Red October Trailer

Is The Hunt for Red October on Netflix?

Is The Hunt for Red October on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie The Hunt for Red October is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Hunt for Red October becomes available on Netflix!

  • Sean Connery

    as Captain Marko Ramius
  • Alec Baldwin

    as Jack Ryan
  • Scott Glenn

    as Bart Mancuso
  • Sam Neill

    as Captain Vasily Borodin
  • James Earl Jones

    as Admiral James Greer
  • Joss Ackland

    as Andrei Lysenko
  • Richard Jordan

    as Jeffrey Pelt
  • Peter Firth

    as Ivan Putin
  • Tim Curry

    as Dr. Yevgeniy Petrov
  • Courtney B. Vance

    as Ronald Jones
  • Stellan Skarsgård

    as Captain Viktor Tupolev
  • Jeffrey Jones

    as Skip Tyler
  • Timothy Carhart

    as Bill Steiner
  • Larry Ferguson

    as Chief of the Boat
  • Fred Dalton Thompson

    as Admiral Painter
  • Daniel Davis

    as Captain Davenport
  • Ned Vaughn

    as Seaman Beaumont
  • Anthony Peck

    as Thompson
  • Mark Draxton

    as Seaman - USS Dallas
  • Tom Fisher

    as Seaman - USS Dallas
  • Pete Antico

    as Seaman - USS Dallas
  • Ronald Guttman

    as Lieutenant Melekhin
  • Tomas Arana

    as Loginov
  • Michael George Benko

    as Ivan - Red October
  • Anatoli Davydov

    as Officer #1 - Red October
  • Ivan G'Vera

    as Officer #2 - Red October
  • Artur Cybulski

    as Diving Officer - Red October
  • Sven-Ole Thorsen

    as Russian COB - Red October
  • Michael Welden

    as Kamarov - Red October
  • Boris Lee Krutonog

    as Slavin - Red October
  • Kenton Kovell

    as Seaman - Red October
  • Radu Gavor

    as Seaman - Red October
  • Ivan Ivanov

    as Seaman - Red October
  • Ping Wu

    as Seaman - Red October
  • Herman Sinitzyn

    as Seaman - Red October
  • Krzysztof Janczar

    as Andrei Bonovia - Konovalov
  • Vlado Benden

    as Seaman - Konovalov
  • George Saunders

    as Seaman - Konovalov
  • Don Oscar Smith

    as Helicopter Pilot
  • Rick Ducommun

    as Navigator C-2A
  • George H. Billy

    as DSRV Officer
  • Reed Popovich

    as Lt. Jim Curry
  • Andrew Divoff

    as Andrei Amalric
  • Peter Zinner

    as Admiral Padorin
  • Tony Veneto

    as Padorin's Orderly
  • Ben Hartigan

    as Admiral (Briefing)
  • Ray Reinhardt

    as Judge Moore (Briefing)
  • F.J. O'Neil

    as General (Briefing)
  • Robert Buckingham

    as Admiral #2 (Briefing)
  • A.C. Lyles

    as Advisor #1
  • John McTiernan Sr.

    as Advisor #2
  • David Sederholm

    as Sunglasses
  • John Shepherd

    as Foxtrot Pilot
  • William Bell Sullivan

    as Lt. Cmd. Mike Hewitt
  • Gates McFadden

    as Caroline Ryan
  • Louise Borras

    as Sally Ryan
  • Denise E. James

    as Stewardess
  • Shane Black

    as USS Reuben James Crewman
  • Peter Jason

    as USS Reuben James Commander
Art Ron Gress Painter
Writing Larry Ferguson Screenplay
Directing John McTiernan Director
Production Amanda Mackey Casting
Art Mickey S. Michaels Set Decoration
Camera Jan de Bont Director of Photography
Art Donald B. Woodruff Art Direction
Art Terence Marsh Production Design
Visual Effects Mark Yuricich Modeling
Production Mace Neufeld Producer
Art William Cruse Art Direction
Editing Dennis Virkler Editor
Production Beau Marks Unit Production Manager
Directing Beau Marks Second Unit Director
Sound Basil Poledouris Original Music Composer
Editing John Wright Editor
Camera Alexander Witt Second Unit Director of Photography
Sound John Benson Sound Editor
Art Dianne Wager Art Direction
Writing Tom Clancy Novel
Directing Steve Danton Second Assistant Director
Crew Steve Beck Visual Effects Art Director
Sound Jay Kamen ADR Editor
Writing Donald Stewart Screenplay
Visual Effects Steve 'Spaz' Williams CG Artist
Directing Todd Turner Second Unit Director
Production Larry DeWaay Executive Producer
Sound Juno J. Ellis Supervising ADR Editor
Editing Marcelo Sansevieri Assistant Editor
Writing David Shaber Screenplay
Crew Carl Ciarfalio Stunts
Sound Tom Villano Music Editor
Sound Richard Bryce Goodman Production Sound Mixer
Crew Monty Cox Stunts
Crew Gary Epper Stunts
Crew Ronnie Rondell Jr. Stunts
Editing Michael Ruscio Assistant Editor
Camera Bruce McBroom Still Photographer
Visual Effects Kathleen Beeler Rotoscoping Artist
Costume & Make-Up Wes Dawn Makeup Artist
Production Jerry Sherlock Executive Producer
Crew Steve Hulin Stunts
Sound Greig McRitchie Orchestrator
Crew Al Di Sarro Special Effects Coordinator
Sound David Lee Fein Foley Artist
Costume & Make-Up James W. Tyson Wardrobe Supervisor
Directing Luca Kouimelis Script Supervisor
Sound Richard Overton Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Ken Dufva Foley Artist
Crew Mike Fenster Transportation Captain
Sound Cecelia Hall Supervising Sound Editor
Sound George Watters II Supervising Sound Editor
Sound John P. Fasal Sound Effects
Art Dennis DeWaay Construction Coordinator
Sound Kevin F. Cleary Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Crew David Bartholomew Visual Effects Editor
Visual Effects John Knoll Visual Effects Supervisor
Art Tommy Tomlinson Property Master
Production Joel Marx Location Manager
Production Joel Marx Production Supervisor
Sound Greg Curda Foley Mixer
Lighting Ed Ayer Lighting Technician
Crew Myra Hill Transportation Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Jim Kail Makeup Artist
Sound Douglas Greenfield Dolby Consultant
Visual Effects Scott E. Anderson CG Artist
Sound Bruce Fortune Sound Editor
Sound Frank Howard Sound Editor
Crew Chuck Picerni Jr. Stunt Coordinator
Crew Mike Sasgen Carpenter
Art William F. Reinert Leadman
Crew Shane Dixon Stunts
Costume & Make-Up Darryl M. Athons Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Dino Ganziano Hairstylist
Sound F. Hudson Miller Sound Editor
Sound Anne Couk Assistant Sound Editor
Sound Victoria Martin Foley Editor
Camera Larry J. Aube First Company Grip
Visual Effects Tom Bertino Rotoscoping Artist
Visual Effects Michael Backauskas Visual Effects Lineup
Production Jimmy Jue Extras Casting
Camera Michael J. Coo Dolly Grip
Visual Effects Scott Squires Visual Effects Supervisor
Directing J. Tom Archuleta Second Unit First Assistant Director
Directing Jerry Ballew First Assistant Director
Crew James Camomile Special Effects Assistant
Art Joe A. Hawthorne Graphic Designer
Visual Effects Robert L. Clark CG Painter
Art Steve Fegley Construction Foreman
Editing John Haggar Assistant Editor
Production Stuart Neumann Location Manager
Sound Pamela Bentkowski Foley Supervisor
Sound Shelley Rae Hinton ADR Editor
Sound Donald Ortiz Assistant Sound Editor
Editing Tom Shaffer Color Timer
Crew Jan Aaris Special Effects Assistant
Sound Bob Baron ADR Mixer
Art Willard Livingston Property Master
Costume & Make-Up Gary Sampson Costumer
Crew Manuel S. Epstein Special Effects Assistant
Crew William Aldridge Special Effects Assistant
Crew Michael Forte Driver
Camera David Canestro Second Company Grip
Visual Effects Tim August Visual Effects Production Assistant
Camera Roger Gebhard Camera Operator
Art Isidoro Raponi Property Master
Crew Debbie Jo Grillo Cableman