The Silence of the Lambs

The Silence of the Lambs (1991)

To enter the mind of a killer she must challenge the mind of a madman.

  • Genre: Crime, Drama, Thriller
  • Release Date: 1991-02-14
  • User Rating: 8.3/10 from 14597 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 59min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Orion Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Jonathan Demme
star 8.3/10
From 14,597 Ratings


Clarice Starling is a top student at the FBI's training academy. Jack Crawford wants Clarice to interview Dr. Hannibal Lecter, a brilliant psychiatrist who is also a violent psychopath, serving life behind bars for various acts of murder and cannibalism. Crawford believes that Lecter may have insight into a case and that Starling, as an attractive young woman, may be just the bait to draw him out.

The Silence of the Lambs Trailer

Is The Silence of the Lambs on Netflix?

Is The Silence of the Lambs on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie The Silence of the Lambs is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Silence of the Lambs becomes available on Netflix!

  • Jodie Foster

    as Clarice M. Starling
  • Anthony Hopkins

    as Dr. Hannibal Lecter
  • Scott Glenn

    as Jack Crawford
  • Ted Levine

    as Jame 'Buffalo Bill' Gumb
  • Anthony Heald

    as Dr. Frederick Chilton
  • Brooke Smith

    as Catherine Martin
  • Diane Baker

    as Senator Ruth Martin
  • Kasi Lemmons

    as Ardelia Mapp
  • Frankie Faison

    as Barney Matthews
  • Tracey Walter

    as Lamar
  • Charles Napier

    as Lt. Boyle
  • Danny Darst

    as Sgt. Tate
  • Alex Coleman

    as Sgt. Jim Pembry
  • Dan Butler

    as Roden
  • Paul Lazar

    as Pilcher
  • Ron Vawter

    as Paul Krendler
  • Roger Corman

    as FBI Director Hayden Burke
  • Lawrence A. Bonney

    as FBI Instructor
  • Lawrence T. Wrentz

    as Agent Burroughs
  • Don Brockett

    as Friendly Psychopath
  • Frank Seals Jr.

    as Brooding Psychopath
  • Stuart Rudin

    as Miggs
  • Masha Skorobogatov

    as Young Clarice
  • Jeffrie Lane

    as Clarice's Father
  • Leib Lensky

    as Mr. Lang
  • George 'Red' Schwartz

    as Mr. Lang's Driver
  • Jim Roche

    as TV Evangelist
  • James B. Howard

    as Boxing Instructor
  • Bill Miller

    as Mr. Brigham
  • Chuck Aber

    as Agent Terry
  • Gene Borkan

    as Oscar
  • Pat McNamara

    as Sheriff Perkins
  • Kenneth Utt

    as Dr. Akin
  • Darla

    as "Precious" (as "Darla")
  • Adelle Lutz

    as TV Anchor Woman
  • Obba Babatundé

    as TV Anchor Man
  • George Michael

    as TV Sportscaster
  • Jim Dratfield

    as Sen. Martin's Aide
  • Stanton-Miranda

    as 1st Reporter
  • Rebecca Saxon

    as 2nd Reporter
  • Cynthia Ettinger

    as Officer Jacobs
  • Brent Hinkley

    as Officer Murray
  • Steve Wyatt

    as Airport Flirt
  • David Early

    as Spooked Memphis Cop
  • Andre B. Blake

    as Tall Memphis Cop
  • Bill Dalzell

    as Distraught Memphis Cop
  • Chris Isaak

    as SWAT Commander
  • Daniel von Bargen

    as SWAT Communicator
  • Tommy Lafitte

    as SWAT Shooter
  • Josh Broder

    as EMS Attendant
  • Buzz Kilman

    as EMS Driver
  • Harry Northup

    as Mr. Bimmel
  • Lauren Roselli

    as Stacy Hubka
  • Maria Skorobogatov

    as Young Clarice
  • Lamont Arnold

    as Flower Delivery Man
  • John Hall

    as State Trooper (uncredited)
  • Ted Monte

    as FBI Agent (uncredited)
  • George A. Romero

    as FBI Agent in Memphis (uncredited)
  • John W. Iwanonkiw

    as Orderly (uncredited)
  • Robert W. Castle

    as Priest on Chilton's Plane (uncredited)
  • Chris McGinn

    as Autopsy Victim (uncredited)
  • Gary Goetzman

    as Guido Paonessa (uncredited)
Sound Howard Shore Original Music Composer
Costume & Make-Up Colleen Atwood Costume Design
Production Howard Feuer Casting
Sound Chris Newman Production Sound Mixer
Directing Jonathan Demme Director
Production Ronald M. Bozman Producer
Directing Ronald M. Bozman Assistant Director
Production Edward Saxon Producer
Production Kenneth Utt Producer
Production Kenneth Utt Unit Production Manager
Camera Tak Fujimoto Director of Photography
Editing Craig McKay Editor
Sound David Boulton ADR Recordist
Art Karen O'Hara Set Decoration
Sound Skip Lievsay Sound Designer
Art Kristi Zea Production Design
Art Kalina Ivanov Storyboard Artist
Art Tim Galvin Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Neal Martz Makeup Effects Designer
Sound Sharon Boyle Music Supervisor
Writing Thomas Harris Novel
Camera Billy Miller Key Grip
Editing Lisa Bromwell Associate Editor
Production Jeffrey T. Barabe Production Assistant
Art Gary Kosko Assistant Art Director
Production Gary Goetzman Executive Producer
Costume & Make-Up Alan D'Angerio Hair Designer
Crew James Deeth Thanks
Camera Tony C. Jannelli Camera Operator
Writing Ted Tally Screenplay
Art Brian Hartman Location Scout
Sound Marko Costanzo Foley Artist
Sound Marissa Littlefield Dialogue Editor
Crew George P. Wilbur Stunts
Crew Marshall Persinger Post Production Supervisor
Crew Walter Robles Stunts
Crew Matthew Myers Production Intern
Camera John Donohue Dolly Grip
Sound Dana Sano Music Coordinator
Sound Fred Rosenberg Dialogue Editor
Sound John Fundus Sound Recordist
Crew John Robotham Stunt Coordinator
Sound Suzana Peric Music Editor
Crew John Leonidas Transportation Captain
Editing David Orr Color Timer
Sound Jeffrey Stern Dialogue Editor
Sound Brian Johnson Assistant Sound Editor
Camera Larry McConkey Steadicam Operator
Editing Colleen Sharp First Assistant Editor
Sound Frank Kern Foley Editor
Crew Todd Kleitsch Makeup Effects
Production Donna M. Belajac Additional Casting
Sound Philip Stockton Dialogue Editor
Costume & Make-Up Hartsell Taylor Costume Supervisor
Production Jonathan Sheinberg Head of Production
Crew Michael Cassidy Stunts
Crew Dwight Benjamin-Creel Special Effects
Crew Denny Caira Transportation Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Carl Fullerton Makeup Effects Designer
Camera Bruce MacCallum First Assistant Camera
Art Ann Miller Property Master
Lighting Russell Engels Gaffer
Sound Tom Fleischman Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Missy Cohen Apprentice Sound Editor
Sound Deborah Wallach ADR Editor
Art Kenneth Turek Set Dresser
Production John Crowder Location Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Allen Weisinger Makeup Artist
Directing Mary A. Kelly Continuity
Production Grace Blake Associate Producer
Camera Ken Regan Still Photographer
Sound Steven Visscher Foley Editor
Art Francine Byrne Art Department Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Kathleen Gerlach Assistant Costume Designer
Lighting Ken Connors Best Boy Electric
Costume & Make-Up Mark Burchard Wardrobe Supervisor
Camera Brian S. Osmond Camera Trainee
Art Chris Call Painter
Lighting Michael F. Burke Electrician
Camera Tom O'Halloran Second Assistant Camera
Sound Gail Showalter ADR Editor
Art S. Bruce Wineinger Construction Coordinator
Art C.A. Kelly Standby Painter
Camera Richard Aversa Grip
Camera Mark Streapy Aerial Camera
Costume & Make-Up Ed Lohrer III Set Dressing Artist
Crew Richard Fishwick Craft Service
Crew Trish Breganti Post Production Assistant
Crew Eileen Garrigan Scenic Artist
Crew Catherine Marie McDonald Set Production Assistant
Crew Dennis Radesky Transportation Co-Captain
Crew Judy Arthur Unit Publicist
Production Larry Jackson Executive In Charge Of Production
Production Neri Kyle Tannenbaum Location Manager
Sound Dennis Maitland II Boom Operator
Sound Homer Denison Orchestrator
Sound Robert F. Warren Dolby Consultant
Production Lisa Bradley Assistant Production Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Benjamin Wilson Wardrobe Assistant
Crew Ray Mendez Animal Wrangler
Directing Kyle McCarthy Second Assistant Director
Directing Gina Maria Leonetti Second Second Assistant Director
Sound Natasha Kinne Playback Singer
Crew Frederika Gray Key Scenic Artist
Crew Walt Oggier Police Consultant