The Nutty Professor

The Nutty Professor (1996)

Inside Sherman Klump, a party animal is about to break out.

  • Genre: Fantasy, Comedy, Romance, Science Fiction
  • Release Date: 1996-06-28
  • User Rating: 5.6/10 from 2624 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 35min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Universal Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Tom Shadyac
star 5.6/10
From 2,624 Ratings


Eddie Murphy stars as shy Dr. Sherman Klump, a kind, brilliant, 'calorifically challenged' genetic professor. When beautiful Carla Purty joins the university faculty, Sherman grows desperate to whittle his 400-pound frame down to size and win her heart. So, with one swig of his experimental fat-reducing serum, Sherman becomes 'Buddy Love', a fast-talking, pumped-up , plumped down Don Juan.

The Nutty Professor Trailer

Is The Nutty Professor on Netflix?

Is The Nutty Professor on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie The Nutty Professor is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Nutty Professor becomes available on Netflix!

  • Eddie Murphy

    as Sherman Klump / Buddy Love / Papa / Mama / Grandma / Ernie
  • Jada Pinkett Smith

    as Carla Purty
  • James Coburn

    as Harlan Hartley
  • Larry Miller

    as Dean Richmond
  • Dave Chappelle

    as Reggie Warrington
  • John Ales

    as Jason
  • Athena Massey

    as Sexy Girl
  • Lisa Boyle

    as Sexy Girl
  • Patricia Wilson

    as Dean's Secretary
  • Jamal Mixon

    as Ernie Klump Jr.
  • Nichole McAuley

    as Fit Woman
  • Hamilton von Watts

    as Health Instructor
  • Chi Chaoli

    as Asian Man
  • Tony Carlin

    as Host
  • Quinn Duffy

    as Bartender
  • Montell Jordan

    as Montell Jordan
  • Doug Williams

    as Band Leader
  • David Ramsey

    as Student
  • Chaz Lamar Shepherd

    as Student
  • Lisa Halpern

    as Sad Fat Firl
  • Arthur Tovey

    as Elderly Man in Alumni Receiving Line
Production Brian Grazer Producer
Art William A. Elliott Production Design
Sound David Newman Original Music Composer
Production Jerry Lewis Executive Producer
Crew Eugene Collier Stunts
Crew Tim Gilbert Stunts
Writing Steve Oedekerk Screenplay
Writing Tom Shadyac Screenplay
Directing Tom Shadyac Director
Production James D. Brubaker Co-Producer
Production Karen Kehela Sherwood Executive Producer
Art Kathryn Peters Set Decoration
Camera Julio Macat Director of Photography
Sound Jeff Carson Music Editor
Sound José Antonio García Sound Mixer
Sound Jonathan Fuh Boom Operator
Editing Jim Passon Color Timer
Crew Eddie Smith Stunts
Editing Don Zimmerman Editor
Sound J.J. George Music Editor
Costume & Make-Up Rick Baker Makeup Effects Designer
Art Greg Papalia Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Ha Nguyen Costume Design
Art Rick Young Property Master
Art Sally Thornton Assistant Art Director
Production Daryl Kass Unit Production Manager
Sound Michael Hilkene Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Michael Hilkene ADR Supervisor
Production Mark Lipsky Executive Producer
Lighting Mike Moyer Chief Lighting Technician
Writing David Sheffield Screenplay
Writing Barry W. Blaustein Screenplay
Directing David B. Householter First Assistant Director
Production Russell Simmons Producer
Production Arlene Kehela Location Manager
Production Aleta Chappelle Casting Director
Art Dawn Snyder Set Designer
Directing Daniel M. Stillman Second Assistant Director
Production Barbara Harris ADR Voice Casting
Crew Carlton Holder Stunts
Camera Bruce McBroom Still Photographer
Visual Effects Robert Stadd Visual Effects Producer
Sound Steve Maslow Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Crew Peter Horak Stunts
Crew Joe Finnegan Stunts
Sound Dan O'Connell Foley Artist
Sound Gregg Landaker Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Crew Lance Gilbert Stunts
Sound John T. Cucci Foley Artist
Camera David E. Diano "B" Camera Operator
Crew Stanton Barrett Stunts
Art Dennis DeWaay Construction Coordinator
Crew Mickey Gilbert Stunt Coordinator
Sound Ed Callahan Dialogue Editor
Crew Paul Murphey Video Assist Operator
Art James F. Claytor Sr. Set Designer
Art Bruce J. Gfeller Construction Coordinator
Sound Jeff Rosen Dialogue Editor
Sound Simon Coke Dialogue Editor
Camera Billy Clevenger First Assistant "B" Camera
Crew Marian Green Stunts
Costume & Make-Up Beth Miller Key Hair Stylist
Directing Kathryn Weygand Script Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Geri B. Oppenheim Key Makeup Artist
Crew Anthony G. Schmidt Stunts
Crew Chuck Hosack Stunts
Crew Deborah Simmrin Unit Publicist
Lighting Richard Hartley Assistant Chief Lighting Technician
Editing Don Thompson First Assistant Editor
Crew Lou Sumien Jr. Projection
Art Marisol Jiménez Art Department Coordinator
Sound James Ashwill Foley Mixer
Crew Jeff Erdmann Cableman
Sound John O. Wilde Foley Supervisor
Crew Bennie Moore Stunts
Crew Troy Gilbert Stunts
Crew Jack Carpenter Stunts
Production Tina Fortenberry Production Supervisor
Production Gretchen van Zeebroeck Production Coordinator
Directing Rebecca Strickland Second Assistant Director
Camera Gary Dagg Key Grip
Art John Maskovich Leadman
Art Yvonne Garnier-Hackl Set Designer
Crew Francine Morris Stunts
Sound Leslie Gaulin Foley Editor
Production Glen Richard First Assistant Accountant
Lighting Don Nygren Chief Lighting Technician
Editing Sandy Brundage Negative Cutter
Camera Mike Connors Dolly Grip
Lighting Ronald Kline Rigging Gaffer
Production Bob Hartman Payroll Accountant
Crew Jimmy Lewis Jr. Stunts
Lighting David Burnett Assistant Chief Lighting Technician
Production Maureen Stanton-Leveque Assistant Production Coordinator
Production Laurie Dodsworth Second Assistant Accountant