Glory (1989)

Their innocence. Their heritage. Their lives.

  • Genre: Drama, History, War
  • Release Date: 1989-12-15
  • User Rating: 7.4/10 from 1544 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 2min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Freddie Fields Productions
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Edward Zwick
star 7.5/10
From 1,544 Ratings


Robert Gould Shaw leads the US Civil War's first all-black volunteer company, fighting prejudices of both his own Union army and the Confederates.

Glory Trailer

Is Glory on Netflix?

Is Glory on Netflix? Yes! The movie Glory is now on Netflix in the countries listed below.

Watch on Netflix
  • Matthew Broderick

    as Col. Robert Gould Shaw
  • Denzel Washington

    as Pvt. Trip
  • Cary Elwes

    as Maj. Cabot Forbes
  • Morgan Freeman

    as Sgt. Maj. John Rawlins
  • Jihmi Kennedy

    as Pvt. Jupiter Sharts
  • Andre Braugher

    as Cpl. Thomas Searles
  • John Finn

    as Sgt. Maj. Mulcahy
  • Donovan Leitch

    as Capt. Charles Fessenden Morse
  • JD Cullum

    as Henry Sturgis Russell
  • Bob Gunton

    as Gen. Charles Garrison Harker
  • Cliff DeYoung

    as Col. James M. Montgomery
  • Christian Baskous

    as Edward L. Pierce
  • RonReaco Lee

    as Mute Drummer Boy
  • Jay O. Sanders

    as Gen. George Crockett Strong
  • Alan North

    as Gov. John Albion Andrew
  • Richard Riehle

    as Quartermaster
  • Peter Michael Goetz

    as Francis George Shaw
  • Mark Margolis

    as 10th Connecticut Soldier
  • Jane Alexander

    as Sarah Blake Sturgis Shaw
  • Paul Desmond

    as 10th Connecticut Soldier
  • Rodger Williamson

    as Union Cavalryman
  • Michael Wayne Thomas

    as Soldier
  • Raymond St. Jacques

    as Frederick Douglass
  • Ted Rupel

    as Soldier
  • Roger Ragland

    as Cavalry Officer
  • Alejandro de Quesada

    as Confederate / Union Soldier
  • Shane Pinson

    as Confederate Soldier
  • Larry Peterson

    as Union Officer
  • Bill Nunn

  • Matthew Murdzak

    as Captain
  • Barry J. Miller

    as Union / Confederate Soldier
  • William Mathis

    as Union Soldier
  • Rick Leisenring

    as Union Officer
  • Jay Lance

    as Union Soldier
  • Kevin Jarre

    as 10th Connecticut Soldier
  • Kevin R. Hershberger

    as Confederate Soldier
  • Rachel Lea Grundfast

    as Ellen Shaw
  • Gary O. Crane

    as Union Cavalry
  • Sheila Cochran

    as Home dweller
  • Bill Chemerka

    as Confederate Officer
  • Carla Brothers

    as Charlotte Forten
  • Frank Blair

    as Darian Farmer
  • Joseph Alex

    as Re-Enactor Core Group and Company A
  • Richard Wright

    as 10th Connecticut Soldier
  • Michael Fowler

    as 10th Connecticut Soldier
  • Tom Barrington

    as 10th Connecticut Soldier
  • Peter Grandfield

    as 10th Connecticut Soldier
  • Mark A. Jones

    as 54th Soldier
  • Saundra Dunson-Franks

    as Black Woman
  • Joan Riordan

    as White Woman
  • Bob Minor

    as Contraband Soldier
  • Raymond Godshall Jr.

    as Dr. Charles G. Thorpe
  • Marc Gowan

    as Dr. William B. Rogers
  • Dan Biggers

    as Minister
  • Keith Noble

    as Short Contraband
  • Afemo Omilami

    as Tall Contraband
  • Randell Haynes

    as Paymaster
  • Mark A. Levy

    as Bigoted Soldier
  • Ethan Phillips

    as Hospital Steward
  • Benji Wilhoite

    as Young Soldier
  • Pete Munro

    as Surgeon
  • Abdul Salaam El Razzac

    as 'A' Company Soldier
  • Michael Guess

    as 'A' Company Soldier
  • Daniel H. Jenkins

    as 'A' Company Officer
Directing Edward Zwick Director
Writing Kevin Jarre Screenplay
Production Freddie Fields Producer
Camera Freddie Francis Director of Photography
Editing Steven Rosenblum Editor
Art Norman Garwood Production Design
Art Dan Webster Art Direction
Art Garrett Lewis Set Decoration
Production Mary Colquhoun Casting
Costume & Make-Up Francine Jamison-Tanchuck Costume Design
Sound Laurel Doran Foley
Sound Dan O'Connell Foley
Costume & Make-Up Elle Elliott Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Linda Peterson Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Carl Fullerton Makeup Department Head
Costume & Make-Up Francisco X. Pérez Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Vera Yurtchuk Makeup Artist
Art Andrew Precht Assistant Art Director
Art Marvin Salsberg Construction Coordinator
Sound Alicia Stevenson Foley
Sound Lon Bender Sound Designer
Sound Donald O. Mitchell Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Gregg Rudloff Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Elliot Tyson Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Crew Phil Cory Special Effects Coordinator
Visual Effects Syd Dutton Visual Effects
Visual Effects Bill Taylor Visual Effects
Crew Bob Minor Stunt Coordinator
Camera Jeff Moore Camera Operator
Camera Merrick Morton Still Photographer
Lighting Steven R. Mathis Gaffer
Costume & Make-Up Frank Perry Rose Costume Supervisor
Sound Jim Henrikson Music Editor
Crew Bryce Guy Williams Transportation Coordinator
Directing Connie Papineau Script Supervisor
Production Patti Hawn Publicist
Crew Pat Newcomb Public Relations
Art Keith Pain Supervising Art Director
Sound James Horner Original Music Composer
Sound Joseph A. Mayer ADR Supervisor
Camera David Wagreich Second Unit Director of Photography
Art Guy Barnes Property Master
Sound Devon Heffley Curry ADR Editor
Production Pieter Jan Brugge Unit Production Manager
Directing Skip Cosper First Assistant Director
Directing Douglas Dean III Second Assistant Director
Directing Robert Rothbard Second Assistant Director
Crew Nick Dimitri Stunts
Crew Tony Brubaker Stunts
Crew Manny Perry Stunts
Lighting Nick Nelson Electrician
Lighting Carl Johnson Electrician
Crew Eric Chambers Stunts
Crew Conrad E. Palmisano Stunts
Crew Lane Leavitt Stunts
Crew Steve Kelso Stunts