Shallow Grave

Shallow Grave (1994)

What's a little murder among friends?

  • Genre: Crime, Thriller
  • Release Date: 1994-12-22
  • User Rating: 6.9/10 from 952 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 33min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: The Glasgow Film Fund
  • Production Country: United Kingdom
  • Director: Danny Boyle
star 7/10
From 952 Ratings


When David, Juliet, and Alex are searching for a fourth roommate for their flat, they settle on the aloof Hugo. However, they soon find Hugo dead, with a large sum of cash being among his belongings. The three friends decide to keep the money, dismembering and burying Hugo's body. However, their newfound fortune begins to corrode their friendships, with each roommate resorting to manipulation tactics to scam the others out of the money.

Shallow Grave Trailer

Is Shallow Grave on Netflix?

Is Shallow Grave on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie Shallow Grave is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when Shallow Grave becomes available on Netflix!

  • Kerry Fox

    as Juliet Miller
  • Christopher Eccleston

    as David Stephens
  • Ewan McGregor

    as Alex Law
  • Ken Stott

    as Detective Inspector McCall
  • Keith Allen

    as Hugo
  • Colin McCredie

    as Cameron
  • Peter Mullan

    as Andy
  • Gary Lewis

    as Visitor
  • Frances Low

    as Doctor
  • Robert David MacDonald

    as Lumsden
  • Tony Curran

    as Travel Agent
  • John Hodge

    as DC Mitchell
  • Leonard O'Malley

    as Tim
  • Victoria Nairn

    as Visitor
  • Jean Marie Coffey

    as Goth
  • David Scoular

    as Cash Machine Victim
  • Grant Glendinning

    as Bath Victim
  • Victor Eadie

    as Freezer Victim
  • Bill Denistoun

    as Master of Ceremonies
  • John Bett

    as Brian McKinley
  • Elspeth Cameron

    as Elderly Woman
  • Billy Riddoch

    as Newspaper Editor
  • Kenneth Bryans

    as Police Officer
  • Paul Doonan

    as Newspaper Office Boy
  • John Carmichael

    as Bandleader
  • Gordon Cree

    as Danceband Pianist (uncredited)
Production Andrew Macdonald Producer
Writing John Hodge Screenplay
Editing Masahiro Hirakubo Editor
Directing Danny Boyle Director
Production Allan Scott Executive Producer
Camera Brian Tufano Director of Photography
Costume & Make-Up Graham Johnston Makeup Designer
Art Kave Quinn Production Design
Production Sara Barr Production Manager
Production Sarah Trevis Casting
Art Zoe MacLeod Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Kate Carin Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Carmel Jackson Makeup Artist
Art Karen Wakefield Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Grant Mason Special Effects Makeup Artist
Crew Stephen Barker Post Production Supervisor
Directing Stephen Docherty Third Assistant Director
Directing Alison Goring Second Assistant Director
Directing Ian Madden First Assistant Director
Art John Amabile Storyboard Artist
Crew Stuart Clarke Scenic Artist
Art Gordon Fitzgerald Property Master
Art Colin H. Fraser Construction Manager
Art Tracey Gallacher Assistant Art Director
Crew Richard Hassall Carpenter
Crew Peter Knotts Carpenter
Art Iain Macaulay Art Department Assistant
Crew John Watts Carpenter
Sound Paul Conway Sound Editor
Sound Tony Cook Boom Operator
Sound Nigel Galt Sound Editor
Sound Ray Merrin Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Colin Nicolson Sound Mixer
Sound Brian Saunders Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Iain Eyre Assistant Sound Editor
Crew Clive Curtis Stunt Coordinator
Camera Lewis Buchan Camera Loader
Lighting Willie Cadden Gaffer
Lighting Arthur Donnelly Electrician
Camera Paul Gavin Epk Camera Operator
Camera Ian Jackson Focus Puller
Lighting Derrick Ritchie Genetator Operator
Camera Nigel Robertson Still Photographer
Camera Egon Stephan Jr. First Assistant Camera
Camera Dominic Turner Still Photographer
Costume & Make-Up John Norster Wardrobe Supervisor
Editing Anuree De Silva First Assistant Editor
Production Fran Robertson Location Manager
Sound Gemma Dempsey Music Supervisor
Directing Anne Coulter Script Supervisor
Production Hilda Booth Production Accountant
Crew Niki Longmuir Floor Runner
Production Yvonne McParland Production Coordinator
Art Morag Myerscough Title Designer
Sound Simon Boswell Original Music Composer