Sphere (1998)

Terror can fill any space.

  • Genre: Science Fiction, Mystery, Thriller, Horror
  • Release Date: 1998-02-13
  • User Rating: 6.1/10 from 1576 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 14min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Warner Bros. Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Barry Levinson
star 6.1/10
From 1,576 Ratings


A spacecraft is discovered on the floor of the Pacific Ocean, presumed to be at least 300 years old and of alien origin. A crack team of scientists and experts is assembled and taken to the Habitat, a state-of-the-art underwater living environment, to investigate.

Sphere Trailer

Is Sphere on Netflix?

Is Sphere on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie Sphere is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when Sphere becomes available on Netflix!

  • Dustin Hoffman

    as Dr. Norman Goodman
  • Sharon Stone

    as Dr. Elizabeth 'Beth' Halperin
  • Samuel L. Jackson

    as Dr. Harry Adams
  • Peter Coyote

    as Captain Harold C. Barnes
  • Liev Schreiber

    as Dr. Ted Fielding
  • Queen Latifah

    as Alice 'Teeny' Fletcher
  • Marga Gómez

    as Jane Edmunds
  • Huey Lewis

    as Helicopter Pilot
  • Bernard Hocke

    as Seaman
  • James Pickens Jr.

    as O.S.S.A. Instructor
  • Michael Keys Hall

    as O.S.S.A. Official
  • Ralph Tabakin

    as O.S.S.A. Official
Writing Paul Attanasio Screenplay
Sound Elliot Goldenthal Original Music Composer
Writing Stephen Hauser Screenplay
Production Barry Levinson Producer
Camera Adam Greenberg Director of Photography
Production Michael Crichton Producer
Editing Stu Linder Editor
Directing Barry Levinson Director
Production Andrew Wald Producer
Costume & Make-Up Gloria Gresham Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up James W. Tyson Costume Supervisor
Art Jonathan McKinstry Art Direction
Art Norman Reynolds Production Design
Production Ellen Chenoweth Casting
Art Mark W. Mansbridge Art Direction
Art Anne Kuljian Set Decoration
Camera Allen D. Easton Camera Operator
Crew Jeff Lin CGI Supervisor
Editing Mo Henry Negative Cutter
Sound J.R. Grubbs Sound Effects Editor
Camera P. Scott Sakamoto Steadicam Operator
Crew Robert Bardy CGI Supervisor
Editing Mark Daily First Assistant Editor
Sound Gary Thomas Boom Operator
Sound Mary Helen Leasman Sound Effects Editor
Visual Effects Nicole Herr 3D Animator
Sound Lindakay Brown ADR Editor
Sound Tim Holland Supervising Sound Editor
Directing Heather Harris Script Supervisor
Camera Gary Capo Second Unit Director of Photography
Directing Julie Pitkanen Script Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Mark Boley Hair Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Robert Ryan Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Tricia Sawyer Makeup Artist
Sound Marian Wilde Sound Effects Editor
Sound Lora Hirschberg Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Camera Charles John Bukey Key Grip
Visual Effects Richard O. Helmer Special Effects Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Catherine Childers Key Hair Stylist
Costume & Make-Up Allan A. Apone Key Makeup Artist
Sound Richard Beggs Sound Designer
Sound Tom Johnson Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Costume & Make-Up June Westmore Makeup Artist
Lighting Brad Emmons Rigging Gaffer
Visual Effects Jeffrey A. Okun Visual Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Carlos Arguello Visual Effects Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Marietta Carter-Narcisse Makeup Artist
Lighting Steven C. McGee Chief Lighting Technician
Crew Walter F. Hyneman CG Supervisor
Crew Fernando Benítez CGI Supervisor
Lighting Ronald A. Miller Rigging Grip
Sound Jana Vance Foley
Camera Brian Hamill Still Photographer
Camera Ian Fox Underwater Camera
Visual Effects Tim Gibbons Roto Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Michael White Hairstylist
Crew Jason Wardle CGI Supervisor
Crew Rod Basham Visual Effects Editor
Visual Effects Aaron Dem Visual Effects Producer
Costume & Make-Up John Quaglia Hairstylist
Visual Effects Lydia Bottegoni Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Karen Klein Roto Supervisor
Sound Michael Silvers Supervising Dialogue Editor
Costume & Make-Up Adrienne Manhan Key Costumer
Crew Michael Kory CGI Supervisor
Sound Claire Sanfilippo ADR Editor
Production Patricia Churchill Associate Producer
Production Peter Giuliano Executive Producer
Art W. Steven Graham Assistant Art Director
Art Brett C. Smith Leadman
Crew Kurtis Bedford Carpenter
Crew Paul Borne Stunts
Crew Tommy Tancharoen Transportation Coordinator
Lighting Michael Meier Lighting Technician
Production Patricia Churchill Unit Production Manager
Crew Blair Daily Post Production Supervisor
Art Nori Honda Sculptor
Crew Rodney Hope Driver
Crew Aaron Hakeem Scenic Artist
Crew Peter Albiez Special Effects
Production Kristen D. Chidel Production Manager
Art Bill 'Kauhane' Hoyt Standby Painter
Costume & Make-Up Andrew Nelson Set Costumer
Crew Alex Daniels Stunt Coordinator
Art Marvin Salsberg Construction Coordinator
Crew Kent Sparling Mix Technician
Crew Billy R. Brashier Projection
Lighting R. Gern Trowbridge Best Boy Electric
Crew Mary Ellen Leonard Craft Service
Crew Richard O. Helmer Special Effects Coordinator
Lighting Eric Blum Electrician
Art Sean Mannion Property Master
Camera Kurt E. Soderling Aerial Camera
Sound John Moses Musician
Art William Beck Set Designer
Production Sean Taylor Production Coordinator
Production Michael John Meehan Location Manager
Production Michael Singer Publicist
Crew John Giuliano Propmaker
Crew Michael Greggans Stand In
Editing Blair Daily Additional Editor
Lighting Greg Banta Gaffer
Costume & Make-Up Edward J. Protiva Set Dressing Artist
Crew Louis Farah Set Medic
Production Mark Scoon Executive In Charge Of Production
Production Michael J. Malone Unit Manager
Camera James Conroy Grip
Directing Katterli Frauenfelder First Assistant Director
Editing Dale E. Grahn Color Timer
Sound Robert Elhai Orchestrator
Camera Alan Cohen First Assistant Camera
Production Denise Morgan McGrath Production Accountant
Sound Steve Cantamessa Production Sound Mixer
Crew Christine Dye Set Production Assistant
Crew Tom Fox Video Assist Operator
Art David Gabrielli Construction Foreman
Camera Joseph D. Urbanczyk Additional Camera
Crew John Charles Kohn Compositor
Crew Lee Garibaldi Transportation Captain
Sound Lindakay Brown Dialogue Editor
Sound Claire Sanfilippo Dialogue Editor
Camera Jeff Kunkle Dolly Grip
Camera Eric Amundsen Second Assistant Camera
Sound Dennie Thorpe Foley Artist
Production Gail Rose Assistant Accountant
Lighting Stanley L. Gonsales Assistant Chief Lighting Technician
Sound Jonathan Sheffer Conductor
Production Randy Starr Production Executive
Visual Effects Bonjin Byun Digital Compositor
Costume & Make-Up Barbara Hartman-Jenichen Costumer
Camera Wayne Baker Assistant Camera
Camera Bud Heller Best Boy Grip
Production Stacy De La Motte Production Assistant
Production Rose Hlaing Production Secretary
Crew Keith Tellez Stunt Double
Lighting Victor Abbene Chief Lighting Technician
Production David Krudis Payroll Accountant
Crew Jeff Miller Special Effects Technician
Visual Effects Roger Kupelian Matte Painter
Directing Jim Goldthwait Second Assistant Director
Directing David R. Ellis Second Unit Director
Directing Miles Perlman Second Second Assistant Director
Art Kurt Mattila Title Designer
Production Nina Henninger Location Casting
Production Brennan Dufresne Casting Assistant
Art Julie Witherington Assistant Property Master
Visual Effects Kurt E. Soderling Visual Effects Camera
Editing Jason Joseph Assistant Editor
Editing Trent Schultz Project Manager
Production Brian Dettor Location Assistant
Visual Effects Joe Colwell Effects Supervisor
Production Coleen Aiello Second Assistant Accountant
Visual Effects Lon R. Shor VFX Artist
Sound Curtis Roush Supervising Music Editor
Crew Danny Cangemi Special Effects Assistant
Crew Tory Belleci Carpenter
Art Jim Magdaleno Storyboard Artist
Crew Ronnie Rondell Jr. Stunt Coordinator
Visual Effects Daryl Tucker VFX Artist
Writing Michael Crichton Novel
Crew Tim Rigby Stunts
Crew Lisa McCullough Stunts
Writing Kurt Wimmer Adaptation