Dancer in the Dark

Dancer in the Dark (2000)

You don't need eyes to see.

  • Genre: Drama, Crime
  • Release Date: 2000-06-30
  • User Rating: 7.8/10 from 1568 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 21min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Lantia Cinema & Audiovisivi
  • Production Country: Argentina, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States of America
  • Director: Lars von Trier
star 7.9/10
From 1,568 Ratings


Selma, a Czech immigrant on the verge of blindness, struggles to make ends meet for herself and her son, who has inherited the same genetic disorder and will suffer the same fate without an expensive operation. When life gets too difficult, Selma learns to cope through her love of musicals, escaping life's troubles - even if just for a moment - by dreaming up little numbers to the rhythmic beats of her surroundings.

Dancer in the Dark Trailer

Is Dancer in the Dark on Netflix?

Is Dancer in the Dark on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie Dancer in the Dark is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when Dancer in the Dark becomes available on Netflix!

  • Björk

    as Selma Jezkova
  • Catherine Deneuve

    as Kathy
  • David Morse

    as Bill Houston
  • Peter Stormare

    as Jeff
  • Joel Grey

    as Oldrich Novy
  • Cara Seymour

    as Linda Houston
  • Vladica Kostic

    as Gene Jezkova
  • Jean-Marc Barr

    as Norman
  • Vincent Paterson

    as Samuel
  • Siobhan Fallon Hogan

    as Brenda
  • Zeljko Ivanek

    as District Attorney
  • Udo Kier

    as Dr. Porkorny
  • Jens Albinus

    as Morty
  • Reathel Bean

    as Judge
  • Mette Berggreen

    as Receptionist
  • Lars Michael Dinesen

    as Defense Attorney
  • Katrine Falkenberg

    as Suzan
  • Michael Flessas

    as Angry Man
  • John Randolph Jones

    as Detective
  • Stellan Skarsgård

    as Doctor
  • Paprika Steen

    as Woman on Night Shift
  • Noah Lazarus

    as Officer of the Court / Dancer
  • John Martinus

    as Chairman / Dancer
  • Luke Reilly

    as New Defense Council
  • Sean-Michael Smith

    as Person in Doorway
  • Al Agami

    as Dancer
  • Anna Norberg

    as Dancer
  • Troels Asmussen

    as Dancer (uncredited)
  • Caroline Sascha Cogez

    as Prison Guard - Serving Selma Jezkova's last meal (uncredited)
Directing Lars von Trier Director
Camera Lars von Trier Camera Operator
Writing Lars von Trier Writer
Production Vibeke Windeløv Producer
Crew Vincent Paterson Choreographer
Production Peter Aalbæk Jensen Executive Producer
Production Friðrik Þór Friðriksson Producer
Production Finn Gjerdrum Producer
Production Mogens Glad Producer
Production Anja Grafers Producer
Production Torleif Hauge Producer
Production Tero Kaukomaa Producer
Production Poul Erik Lindeborg Producer
Production Els Vandevorst Producer
Sound Björk Original Music Composer
Sound Björk Songs
Sound Björk Music Producer
Camera Robby Müller Director of Photography
Editing François Gédigier Editor
Editing Molly Malene Stensgaard Editor
Production Avy Kaufman Casting
Art Karl Júlíusson Production Design
Costume & Make-Up Manon Rasmussen Costume Design
Sound Kristian Eidnes Andersen Sound Designer
Art Peter Grant Art Direction
Crew Jonas Frederiksen Production Controller
Sound Per Streit Sound Designer
Directing Anders Refn Assistant Director
Camera Eric Kress Second Unit Director of Photography
Production Marianne Slot Co-Executive Producer
Production Lars Jönsson Co-Executive Producer
Sound Pétur Einarsson Dialogue Editor
Production Peter Garde Finance
Crew Stig Günther Stunts
Production Leo Pescarolo Producer
Writing Sjón Lyricist
Production James Wilson Production Accountant
Costume & Make-Up Cédric Gérard Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Louize Nissen Assistant Costume Designer
Sound Mark Kenna Dolby Consultant
Crew Carsten Sparwath Production Office Assistant
Crew Sean-Michael Smith Dialect Coach
Production Malini Ahlberg Production Coordinator
Directing Caroline Sascha Cogez Assistant Director
Sound Guy Sigsworth Sound
Sound Isobel Griffiths Sound
Sound Ad Stoop Boom Operator
Lighting Frank Berger Gaffer
Camera David Koskas Still Photographer
Production Malte Forssell Line Producer
Sound Fabio D'Amico ADR Recordist
Editing Peter Hjorth Additional Editing
Costume & Make-Up Michelle Crane Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up John Nollet Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Ursula Rödel Makeup Artist
Crew Liz Miller Unit Publicist
Production Anders Barlebo Unit Production Manager
Production Joakim Höglund Unit Production Manager
Crew Jesper Lorents Property Master
Lighting Morten Nybø Electrician
Lighting Harri Sipilä Electrician
Crew Christine Ekstrand Post Production Assistant
Editing Yvan Lucas Color Timer
Crew Andrea F. Cannistraci Legal Services
Sound Mark Bell Music Producer