A Shock to the System

A Shock to the System (1990)

Climbing the corporate ladder can be murder.

  • Genre: Crime, Comedy
  • Release Date: 1990-03-23
  • User Rating: 6.4/10 from 115 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 31min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Brigand Films
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Jan Egleson
star 6.4/10
From 115 Ratings


Madison Avenue executive Graham Marshall has paid his dues. A talented and devoted worker, he has suffered through mounting bills and a nagging wife with one thing to look forward to: a well-deserved promotion. But when the promotion is given to a loud-mouthed yuppie associate, Graham unleashes his rage on an overly aggressive panhandler, who he accidently kills by pushing him into the path of an oncoming subway train. He re-thinks his problems with an entirely new solution. First, he arranges an "accident" for his annoying wife. Then he creates another "mishap" for his boss. It seems like the world is once more Graham's oyster…but a missing cigarette lighter and a prying police detective may change all that.

A Shock to the System Trailer

Is A Shock to the System on Netflix?

Is A Shock to the System on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie A Shock to the System is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when A Shock to the System becomes available on Netflix!

  • Michael Caine

    as Graham Marshall
  • Elizabeth McGovern

    as Stella Anderson
  • Peter Riegert

    as Robert Benham
  • Swoosie Kurtz

    as Leslie Marshall
  • Will Patton

    as Lt. Laker
  • Jenny Wright

    as Melanie O'Conner
  • John McMartin

    as George Brewster
  • Barbara Baxley

    as Lillian
  • Haviland Morris

    as Tara Liston
  • Philip Moon

    as Henry Park
  • Kent Broadhurst

    as Executive #1
  • Zach Grenier

    as Executive #2
  • David Schramm

    as Executive #3
  • Sam Schacht

    as David Jones
  • Christopher Durang

    as Convention Speaker
  • Mia Dillon

    as Graham's Secretary
  • Alice Haining

    as Benham's Secretary
  • Patience Moore

    as Wanda Maas
  • Darrell Wilks

    as Joe
  • Scotty Bloch

    as Secretary #1
  • Kim Staunton

    as Secretary #2
  • Alicia Hoge

    as Secretary #3
  • Mike Cicchetti

    as Beggar #1
  • Rick Petrucelli

    as Beggar #2
  • Victor Truro

    as Bum
  • Rik Colitti

    as Bum #2
  • Mike Starr

    as Bum #3
  • Miguel Pérez

    as Transit Cop
  • John Finn

    as Motorman
  • Tyrone Jackson

    as Messenger
  • Marie Sylvia

    as Waitress
  • Samuel L. Jackson

    as Ulysses
  • Jonathan Freeman

    as Decorator in Bob's Office
  • Elizabeth Moran

    as Partygoer
  • Joe Zaloom

    as Hot Dog Vendor
  • Socorro Santiago

    as Rental Car Attendant / Additional Dialogue
  • Welker White

    as Kennel Driver
  • Frank Ferrara

    as Off Duty Cab Driver
  • Sheila Stainback

    as News Anchor Woman
  • Jim Dratfield

    as Additional Dialogue
  • Fred Ephraim

    as Additional Dialogue
  • Garry Goodrow

    as Additional Dialogue
  • David H. Kramer

    as Additional Dialogue
  • Angela Pietropinto

    as Additional Dialogue
  • Craig Sechler

    as Additional Dialogue
  • Louise Williams

    as Additional Dialogue
Directing Jan Egleson Director
Production Patrick McCormick Producer
Production David V. Picker Executive Producer
Camera Paul Goldsmith Director of Photography
Writing Andrew Klavan Screenplay
Writing Simon Brett Novel
Sound Gary Chang Original Music Composer
Production Mary Colquhoun Casting
Art Bob Shaw Art Direction
Art Robert J. Franco Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up John Dunn Costume Design
Editing William M. Anderson Editor
Editing Peter C. Frank Editor
Production Alice Arlen Associate Producer
Art Howard Cummings Production Design
Crew Ady Cohen Craft Service