The War of the Roses

The War of the Roses (1989)

Once in a lifetime comes a motion picture that makes you feel like falling in love all over again. This is not that movie.

  • Genre: Comedy, Drama
  • Release Date: 1989-12-08
  • User Rating: 6.8/10 from 1048 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 56min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: 20th Century Fox
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Danny DeVito
star 6.9/10
From 1,048 Ratings


The Roses, Barbara and Oliver, live happily as a married couple. Then she starts to wonder what life would be like without Oliver, and likes what she sees. Both want to stay in the house, and so they begin a campaign to force each other to leave. In the middle of the fighting is D'Amato, the divorce lawyer. He gets to see how far both will go to get rid of the other, and boy do they go far.

The War of the Roses Trailer

Is The War of the Roses on Netflix?

Is The War of the Roses on Netflix? Unfortunately the movie The War of the Roses is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The War of the Roses becomes available on Netflix!

  • Michael Douglas

    as Oliver Rose
  • Kathleen Turner

    as Barbara Rose
  • Danny DeVito

    as Gavin D'Amato
  • Marianne Sägebrecht

    as Susan
  • Sean Astin

    as Josh at 17
  • Heather Fairfield

    as Carolyn at 17
  • G. D. Spradlin

    as Harry Thurmont
  • Peter Donat

    as Jason Larrabee
  • Dan Castellaneta

    as Man in Chair
  • Gloria Cromwell

    as Mrs. Marshall
  • Harlan Arnold

    as Mr. Dell
  • Mary Fogarty

    as Mrs. Dell
  • Rika Hofmann

    as Elke
  • Patricia Allison

    as Maureen
  • Peter Brocco

    as Elderly Mourner
  • Philip Perlman

    as Bidder at Auction
  • Susan Isaacs

    as Auctioneer's Assistant
  • Trenton Teigen

    as Josh at 10
  • Bethany McKinney

    as Carolyn at 10
  • Shirley Mitchell

    as Mrs. Dewitt
  • Ellen Crawford

    as Nurse #1
  • Michael Adler

    as Dr. Hillerman
  • Lisa Howard

    as Nurse #2
  • Jeff Thomas

    as Orderly
  • Jacqueline Cassell

    as Gavin's Secretary
  • Vickilyn Reynolds

    as Nancy - Oliver's Secretary
  • Eunice Suarez

    as Latin Woman
  • Julia Elliott

    as Latin Assistant
  • Tony Crane

    as Teenage Boy
  • Ryan Wickers

    as Josh at 3
  • Shaun Wickers

    as Josh at 3
  • Catherine Donohue

    as Carolyn at 3
  • Mary Donohue

    as Carolyn at 3
  • Sue Palka

    as Anchorwoman
  • Morris Jones

    as Anchorman
  • Popeye

    as Benny
  • Roy Brocksmith

    as Mr. Fisk
  • Peter Hansen

    as Mr. Marshall
  • Robert Harper

    as Heath
  • Prince Hughes

    as Bleeding Man
  • Danitra Vance

    as Manicurist Trainee
  • David Wohl

    as Dr. Gordon
Production Debra Zane Casting Assistant
Production James L. Brooks Producer
Production Arnon Milchan Producer
Production Lisa Beach Casting Assistant
Directing Danny DeVito Director
Camera Stephen H. Burum Director of Photography
Production Doug Claybourne Executive Producer
Writing Michael J. Leeson Screenplay
Production Michael J. Leeson Co-Producer
Writing Warren Adler Novel
Sound David Newman Original Music Composer
Editing Lynzee Klingman Editor
Art Ida Random Production Design
Visual Effects John Frazier Special Effects Supervisor
Crew M. James Arnett Stunts
Production David Rubin Casting
Costume & Make-Up Gloria Gresham Costume Design
Art Anne D. McCulley Set Decoration
Production Robert Latham Brown Unit Production Manager
Art Mark W. Mansbridge Art Direction
Sound Leslie Shatz Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Leslie Shatz Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Production Polly Platt Executive Producer
Editing Nicholas C. Smith Additional Editing
Sound Chuck Michael Foley Editor
Production Richard Sakai Executive In Charge Of Production
Sound Tom Villano Music Editor
Crew Jon H. Epstein Stunts
Art Mark Fabus Set Designer
Sound Gary Gegan Foley Mixer
Crew Marcia Holley Stunts
Sound Don Coufal Boom Operator
Crew Tracy Keehn-Dashnaw Stunts
Lighting Alex Skvorzov Gaffer
Camera François Duhamel Still Photographer
Sound John Duvall Foley Editor
Sound Mary Ann Skweres Assistant Sound Editor
Costume & Make-Up John M. Elliott Jr. Makeup Artist
Sound Michael Magill Dialogue Editor
Sound Matthew Iadarola Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Editing John Ganem Assistant Editor
Directing Wilma Garscadden-Gahret Script Supervisor
Art Stan Tropp Set Designer
Sound Bill W. Benton Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Crew Skip Wilson Transportation Captain
Sound Michael J. Kohut Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Costume & Make-Up Kathryn Blondell Key Hair Stylist
Sound Laura Graham Assistant Sound Editor
Sound Elliott Koretz Dialogue Editor
Sound Marian Wilde Foley Supervisor
Sound Renée Tondelli Assistant Sound Editor
Sound Douglas Greenfield Dolby Consultant
Crew Chuck Picerni Jr. Stunts
Sound Jeff Wexler Sound Mixer
Crew Michael Runyard Stunt Coordinator
Camera Dustin Blauvelt Camera Operator
Crew Scott Wilder Stunts
Production Mary Courtney Production Coordinator
Production Errol Reichow Assistant Location Manager
Sound Sarah Goldsmith Dialogue Editor
Sound Jennifer L. Ware Assistant Sound Editor
Sound Tim Boyle Scoring Mixer
Crew Rocky Gehr Special Effects Technician
Crew Richard L. Hill Special Effects Technician
Camera Alan S. Blauvelt First Assistant Camera
Art Paul Rylander Assistant Property Master
Sound Valerie Davidson Assistant Sound Editor
Editing Gary Burritt Negative Cutter
Camera Clyde Hart Key Grip
Crew Janet Brady Stunts
Crew Ken Bellanca Transportation Co-Captain
Camera Bob Apger Second Assistant Camera
Crew James C. Taylor Transportation Coordinator
Art Chuck Eskridge Set Painter
Crew Richard Drown Stunts
Editing Reid Burns Color Timer
Directing Jeffrey M. Ellis Second Assistant Director
Crew Patricia M. Peters Stunts
Crew Francis Pennington Special Effects Technician
Directing Thomas Lofaro First Assistant Director
Sound Jeanine Schaack Apprentice Sound Editor
Sound Rachel Shaw First Assistant Sound Editor
Crew Sammy Thurman Stunts