Ghost (1990)

Before Sam was murdered, he told Molly he'd love and protect her forever.

  • Genre: Fantasy, Drama, Thriller, Mystery, Romance
  • Release Date: 1990-07-13
  • User Rating: 7.2/10 from 5160 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 7min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Paramount
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Jerry Zucker
star 7.2/10
From 5,160 Ratings


Sam Wheat is a banker, Molly Jensen is an artist, and the two are madly in love. However, when Sam is murdered by his friend and corrupt business partner Carl Bruner over a shady business deal, he is left to roam the earth as a powerless spirit. When he learns of Carl's betrayal, Sam must seek the help of psychic Oda Mae Brown to set things right and protect Molly from Carl and his goons.

Ghost Trailer

Is Ghost on Netflix?

Is Ghost on Netflix? Yes! The movie Ghost is now on Netflix in the countries listed below.

  • Patrick Swayze

    as Sam Wheat
  • Demi Moore

    as Molly Jensen
  • Whoopi Goldberg

    as Oda Mae Brown
  • Tony Goldwyn

    as Carl Bruner
  • Vincent Schiavelli

    as Subway Ghost
  • Rick Aviles

    as Willie Lopez
  • Martina Deignan

    as Rose
  • Rick Kleber

    as Mover
  • Phil Leeds

    as Emergency Room Ghost
  • Armelia McQueen

    as Oda Mae's Sister
  • Gail Boggs

    as Oda Mae's Sister
  • Stephen Root

    as Police Sgt.
  • Alma Beltran

    as Woman Ghost
  • Vivian Bonnell

    as Ortisha
  • Derek Thompson

    as Ortisha's Friend
  • Tom Finnegan

    as Bank Guard
  • Bruce Jarchow

    as Lyle Furgeson
  • Said Faraj

    as Cab Driver
  • Dorothy Love Coates

    as Performer
  • Christopher J. Keene

    as Elevator Man
  • Susan Breslau

    as Susan
  • Macka Foley

    as Mover
  • John Hugh

    as Surgeon
  • Sam Tsoutsouvas

    as Minister
  • Sharon Breslau

    as Cemetery Ghost
  • Angelina Estrada

    as Rosa Santiago
  • Thom Curley

    as Workman in Loft
  • Laura Drake

    as Policewoman
  • Augie Blunt

    as Orlando
  • J. Christopher Sullivan

    as Man Ghost
  • Charlotte Zucker

    as Bank Officer
  • Sondra Rubin

    as Nun
  • Faye Brenner

    as Nun
  • William Cort

    as Bank Co-Worker
  • Minnie Summers Lindsey

    as Apartment Woman
  • Mabel Lockridge

    as Apartment Woman
  • Arsenio Hall

    as Arsenio Hall (uncredited)
  • Stanley Lawrence

    as Elevator Man
Editing Walter Murch Editor
Sound Walter Murch Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Costume & Make-Up Ruth Morley Costume Design
Production Steven-Charles Jaffe Executive Producer
Directing Steven-Charles Jaffe Second Unit Director
Sound Maurice Jarre Original Music Composer
Camera Adam Greenberg Director of Photography
Production Janet Hirshenson Casting
Production Jane Jenkins Casting
Directing Jerry Zucker Director
Production Lisa Weinstein Producer
Production Howard W. Koch Producer
Production Howard W. Koch Executive Producer
Art Jane Musky Production Design
Sound Clayton Collins Sound Editor
Writing Bruce Joel Rubin Writer
Production Bruce Joel Rubin Associate Producer
Costume & Make-Up Marietta Carter-Narcisse Makeup Artist
Sound Lee Haxall Dialogue Editor
Crew Andy Duppin Stunts
Art Joe D. Mitchell Set Decoration
Art Mark W. Mansbridge Art Direction
Production Michael Tadross Unit Production Manager
Crew Allan Graf Stunt Coordinator
Sound Leslie Shatz Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Visual Effects Richard Edlund Visual Effects Supervisor
Crew Doug Chiang Visual Effects Art Director
Costume & Make-Up Ben Nye Jr. Makeup Artist
Directing George Parra Second Assistant Director
Visual Effects Anthony Stacchi Animation
Camera Mike Benson Camera Operator
Costume & Make-Up Dione Taylor Hairstylist
Crew Charlie Picerni Stunt Coordinator
Directing Charlie Picerni Second Unit Director
Crew Gary Davis Stunt Coordinator
Crew Gary McLarty Stunts
Crew Peter Hock Stunts
Sound Don Coufal Boom Operator
Sound Steve Maslow Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound David Lee Fein Foley Artist
Crew Jeff Ward Stunts
Costume & Make-Up Kyle Sweet Makeup Artist
Sound Michael Magill Dialogue Editor
Sound Ken Dufva Foley Artist
Art Stan Tropp Set Designer
Visual Effects Ned Gorman Visual Effects Producer
Camera Elizabeth Ziegler Steadicam Operator
Crew Harry Madsen Stunts
Visual Effects Bruce Nicholson Visual Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects John T. Van Vliet Visual Effects Supervisor
Crew Michael Gleason Visual Effects Editor
Sound Laura Graham Foley Editor
Camera Peter Sorel Still Photographer
Sound Greg Curda Foley Mixer
Sound Douglas Greenfield Dolby Consultant
Lighting Deven Chierighino Gaffer
Visual Effects Katherine Kean Visual Effects Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Julia L. Walker Hairstylist
Art Butch West Construction Coordinator
Art Horst Grandt Property Master
Art Gary Kudroff Leadman
Sound Gary Ritchie Sound Recordist
Sound Kathy McCart Sound Recordist
Visual Effects Jeff Howard Animation
Visual Effects Candace Lewis Animation
Visual Effects Martine Tomczyk Animation
Visual Effects Sean Turner Animation
Visual Effects Judith Weaver Animation Supervisor
Visual Effects Charlie Clavadetscher Animation Supervisor
Crew Howard Stein Visual Effects Editor
Camera Cary Fisher Second Unit Director of Photography
Costume & Make-Up Dawn J. Jackson Costume Supervisor
Crew Gene R. Johnson Transportation Coordinator
Directing Faye Brenner Script Supervisor
Production Eric Klosterman Location Manager
Crew Patti Hawn Unit Publicist
Crew Sandy Berumen Stunts
Crew Gene McLaughlin Stunts
Sound Jeff Wexler Sound Mixer
Crew Ramiro González Stunts
Crew Shane Dixon Stunts
Directing John Hockridge First Assistant Director
Editing John Watson First Assistant Editor
Production Dirk Petersmann Unit Production Manager
Sound Bob Baron ADR Mixer
Crew Kym Washington Longino Stunts
Directing Mark Radcliffe First Assistant Director
Directing Joseph Ray Second Assistant Director
Crew Bob K. Cummings Stunts